PDA

View Full Version : Red Group: possibilities


GoDominique
Nov 7th, 2003, 02:40 PM
1. Kim def. Amelie, Chanda def. Elena

1 Kim 3 wins
2 Chanda 2 wins
3 Amelie 1 win
4 Elena 0 wins

2. Kim def. Amelie, Elena def. Chanda in 2 sets

1 Kim 3 wins
2 Amelie 1 win, 3:4 or 4:4 sets
3 Elena 1 win, 2:4 sets
4 Chanda 1 win, 2:5 sets

3. Kim def. Amelie, Elena def. Chanda in 3 sets

1 Kim 3 wins
2 Amelie 1 win, 3:4 or 4:4 sets
3 Chanda 1 win, 3:5 sets
4 Elena 1 win, 2:5 sets

Updated. :)

TheBoiledEgg
Nov 7th, 2003, 06:07 PM
Judio........ if 3 players are LEVEL on same wins
then they cant be decided by H2H as its a 3 way battle and all have 1 WIN and 1 LOSS

so it has to be decided by SETS won/lost

kim&lleyton
Nov 7th, 2003, 06:23 PM
I go for number 1!

TheBoiledEgg
Nov 7th, 2003, 06:51 PM
The final standings of each group shall be determined by the first of the following
methods that apply:

a. Greatest number of wins
b. Greatest number of matches played
c. Head-to-head results from the Round Robin if only two (2) Players are tied, or if
three (3) players are tied, then:
i) If three (3) Players have one win, a Player having played fewer than all
three (3) matches is automatically eliminated and the Player advancing to
the Single elimination competition is the winner of the match-up of the two
(2) players tied with 1-2 records; or
ii) Highest percentage of sets won; or
iii) Highest percentage of games won.

VeNuS#1LoVa
Nov 7th, 2003, 06:55 PM
If Kim beats Amelie, but Chanda loses to Elena, can Chanda still make the semis?

TheBoiledEgg
Nov 7th, 2003, 06:56 PM
thats from the Tournament Rules pdf file i have.

they dont go into if 3 players have same W/L record :rolleyes:

TheBoiledEgg
Nov 7th, 2003, 06:59 PM
If Kim beats Amelie, but Chanda loses to Elena, can Chanda still make the semis?

if that happens Chanda is out.

pReUrBrIyN
Nov 7th, 2003, 07:32 PM
Kim will beat Amelie.

Chanda will beat Elena.

Trust me it will happen. ;)

Hurley
Nov 7th, 2003, 08:52 PM
Bump, great thread :D

heavyaction
Nov 7th, 2003, 08:56 PM
Unless Kim wants Amelie to be in the semis. She will allow Amelie to beat her in straights.

DEETHELICK
Nov 7th, 2003, 09:23 PM
Elena needs a straight set win for her motivation levels. She has come very under-prepared and has suffered losses that she has only herself to blame.

At least a win over Chanda would get her the 3rd spot, so good luck Elena and focus!

nitsansh
Nov 8th, 2003, 05:20 AM
According to my calculation, in any case of a 3-way-tie involving Mauresmo and Rubin, Mauresmo has the edge and will go to the semifinal.
She currently has 2 sets advantage over Rubin, so no matter if they both win or both lose, Mauresmo will be ahead.
Dementieva has no chance to qualify, as she can't overtake Mauresmo. Even if she win in 2 sets and Mauresmo lose in 2 (which is not possible any more since she won a set against Kim), Mauresmo's 3-4 sets record beat 2-4.
For the same reason, Rubin couldn't overtake Klijsters.
So, the only possibility that Rubin qualifies is if Mauresmo lose to Klijsters and she beats Dementieva.
The only case in which Kim will be 2nd rather than first is if she lose to Mauresmo and Rubin lose to Dementieva, because the set she just won against Mauresmo ensures she would be at the top in a 3-way-tie situation.

TheBoiledEgg
Nov 8th, 2003, 09:07 AM
its simple

Chanda wins she is into SF

Chanda lose in 3 sets she comes 3rd
Elena wins in 2 she is 3rd

saki
Nov 8th, 2003, 10:53 AM
I've seen one or two articles that imply that head-to-head is counted before numbers of sets, and on that basis, Mauresmo would already be out. Does anyone know for sure?

TheBoiledEgg
Nov 8th, 2003, 11:02 AM
saki........ thats only if there are two players on same record.

if 3 have same record then it goes down to sets won/lost.

if Elena wins anyhow, then Amelie qualifies.

Steff_forever
Nov 8th, 2003, 11:31 AM
a question on standings in the BLACK GROUP:

why is Jennifer currently on second place in front of Nastya though she has a W/L-record of 2-2 sets and Nastya 3-2 (according to the official pop-up window) ???? Both won and lost one match :confused:
explanation please ...

nitsansh
Nov 8th, 2003, 03:44 PM
a question on standings in the BLACK GROUP:

why is Jennifer currently on second place in front of Nastya though she has a W/L-record of 2-2 sets and Nastya 3-2 (according to the official pop-up window) ???? Both won and lost one match :confused:
explanation please ...
The table is wrong... however the sets count is meaningless in this group as there's no possibility of 3-way-tie...

saki
Nov 8th, 2003, 04:20 PM
Ok, thanks, TBE!

Steff_forever
Nov 8th, 2003, 06:50 PM
thanks nitsansh, same conclusion ! ;)

nitsansh
Nov 8th, 2003, 10:50 PM
Red group final table:
1. Clijsters 3 wins 6:1 sets
2. Mauresmo 1 win 4:4 sets
3. Rubin 1 win 3:5 sets
4. Dementieva 1 win 2:5 sets

Mauresmo qualify by better sets ratio.

Anyone who watch Eurosport - ignore what the commentators said, their math need improving...