View Full Version : Mauresmo Qualifies for WTA Tour Championships presented by Porsche

Oct 25th, 2003, 11:40 AM
ST. PETERSBURG, FL – World No. 7 Amelie Mauresmo has qualified for the season-ending Bank of America WTA Tour Championships presented by Porsche, November 5-10, the WTA Tour announced today.

Mauresmo of France is the fourth qualifier for the prestigious season-ending tournament at STAPLES Center, joining World No. 1 Justine Henin-Hardenne, World No. 2 Kim Clijsters and World No. 5 Jennifer Capriati in the eight-player round robin singles field. Serena Williams and Lindsay Davenport, who have also qualified, have withdrawn due to injuries.

In doubles, Cara Black and Elena Likhovtseva have qualified for the four-team field, joining Virginia Ruano Pascual/Paola Suarez, Clijsters/Ai Sugiyama and Martina Navratilova/Svetlana Kuznetsova (Davenport/Lisa Raymond qualified but will not compete because of Davenport’s injury).

Mauresmo, 24, is currently sixth in the Porsche Race to the Championships standings with 2,440 points. She has had a strong year since returning in February from a right knee injury. She won the J&S Cup in Warsaw in early May, reached three finals (Paris Indoors, Rome and Moscow) and was a quarterfinalist at the French Open and the U.S. Open.

With less than two weeks remaining in the Porsche Race to the Championships, the fight for the final four singles spots could come down to the wire. There are seven players – Elena Dementieva, Venus Williams, Anastasia Myskina, Chanda Rubin, Ai Sugiyama, Vera Zvonareva and Nadia Petrova – wrestling for one of those last four spots, with less than 700 points separating them.

This year’s WTA Tour Championships features a new format that involves eight players competing in a round-robin singles format that pays the winner a record-tying $1 million, equaling the largest winner’s check in women’s sports.

The Bank of America WTA Tour Championships presented by Porsche is the largest and most lucrative women-only sporting event in the world and dates back to 1972. It was held in New York’s Madison Square Garden 22 consecutive years from 1979-2000, before moving to Munich in 2001, then to STAPLES Center, Los Angeles in 2002. The top eight singles players and top four doubles teams in the Porsche Race to the Championships standings on Monday, November 3 will qualify for the season-ending tournament