PDA

View Full Version : Laptops


Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 4th, 2003, 10:35 PM
yes, it's me again - asking you for help and advice! :angel:

Ok, uni is about to start again, and i want to buy a laptop. My current computer is old as a dinosaur and slow as a snail, and it freezes every 5 minutes. Not good for school work (and surfing..... :devil: ).

i've seen a Toshiba for a nice price ($1000)

TOSHIBA SATA10S103

Mobile Intel Celeron prosessor på 2GHz, 256 Mb DDR minne og 14,1" TFT skjerm

erm yeah it's in norwegian, i wont translate it coz i have no idea what the english terms would be :o

any ideas??
i don't need a very fancy laptop, but since i'll be buying while i might as well get a machine with good quality. DVD player and CD burner are plusses though...... :angel:

Bacardi
Aug 4th, 2003, 10:49 PM
I have a Dell laptop, and it rules :D
My friend has one of the Sony Vaio's and it's even better, try checking on those two as well as the Toshiba and see which stacks out to be the better deal.

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 4th, 2003, 10:52 PM
yeah, i've heard that Dell laptops are great, it's just that they cost so much.. *needs more money*
my best friend has a HP, and it's so good, but erm that one cost around $2000 *sigh*
i'll take a look, thanks! :)

wuneyej
Aug 4th, 2003, 11:10 PM
Marri... :smooch: :hearts: Toshibas actually have a great rep as far as laptops go. IBM and Dell is good too. I would suggest, however that you get the Pentium IV instead of the Celeron.

Do stay away from HP though. They got printers down, but their computers are crap (unless you get the very high-end models), and God forbid you ever need to download any drivers from the website; you'll be lucky to find any available.

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 4th, 2003, 11:22 PM
wun :hug: :kiss:

I've looked more into Toshibas and Fujitsu-Siemens, and i am clueless lol. So many terms and blah blah... I checked a couple of sites about laptops, and i got a pricelist - Toshiba has the lowest prices out of 15-20 laptops.

I'll look at some more. thanks hun :smooch:

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 4th, 2003, 11:37 PM
ok, i found this Toshiba laptop... good price ($1200)

Toshiba-SAT-A15 (http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/tais/pc/pc_cf_prodChassis.jsp?BV_SessionID=@@@@0029531553. 1060035935@@@@&BV_EngineID=cccgadcimkmlljicgfkceghdgngdglk.0&comm=ST&plin=Portables&pfam=Satellite&pmod=A15)

3 year warranty in norway..

Martian Willow
Aug 5th, 2003, 12:03 AM
You only need to worry about the processor if you're going to be doing something that needs a lot of CPU, and if it's for university you probably won't. If you don't want to pay for a P4 look at a laptop with an AMD Athlon CPU, they are often the best value. I think you'd be better off worrying about RAM, HD size, you really want a CDR/W for backing up, and whether it has USB2.0 (as opposed to USB1.1, which some cheaper ones still have) or FireWire ports. Also, check whether the laptop has a dedicated graphics card - some cheaper ones don't, so they use the system RAM for graphics, which can affect the performance a lot.

I looked at the specs for the Toshiba SAT-A15 and it looks quite good for the money, except for the integrated graphics. :)

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 12:09 AM
ok, that sounds resonable. *checks*

2.2 GHz, 30GB harddrive, graphic Intel 852GM (?), combined DVD/CDRW - speed 10x8x (?), 1024x768 screen resolution, 2 USB, USB 2.0.

and i have no idea about what i just listed... lol god i need help....

wuneyej
Aug 5th, 2003, 12:10 AM
Yeah that looks like a good enough choice. One thing I noticed though is that it doesn't come with Office, which means you won't have Word, Excel, PowerPoint, or Access. Microsoft Works is a watered down version, and I'm not sure if it includes a substitued for PowerPoint. I used Word, Excel, and PowerPoint all the time when I was in school, so it's something you should think about. Unless you know a pal that can lend you the installation disk. :)

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 12:14 AM
lol yeah, i was thinking about that Wun... hm :scratch:

i'm sure my brother has something i could use... he's an IT guy, but he's too busy help his poor lil sister with picking out a laptop. he just says "just buy it, it's a good price" :rolleyes:

*runs to wun* :kiss:

Martian Willow
Aug 5th, 2003, 12:16 AM
Or you could try OpenOffice from www.openoffice.org which is free anyway...

...the only thing about that Toshiba is to check it has 512Mb, which is what it said in the specs, until I looked further down it said 256 :confused: so make sure! Also the spec I saw said 40Gb HD, not 30, so check that too.

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 12:18 AM
the one from a norwegian site says 256MB.... which means? :o *kicks computers*

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 12:19 AM
i seriously need to buy a computer dicy..... *sigh*
thanks for the link btw :)

the cat
Aug 5th, 2003, 12:26 AM
Gateway is the way, Marri! ;) Good luck with your new laptop. :)

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 12:31 AM
thanks cat :)

after this people will probably ask me how the hell i actually managed to get online :o or even use Word...

the cat
Aug 5th, 2003, 12:49 AM
No way Marri. You are as bright as the Scandinavian sunlight! :kiss:

What is Word? :confused: ;)

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 12:52 AM
eheheh *high five* ;)

well, i'm off now! night cat :kiss:

the cat
Aug 5th, 2003, 12:53 AM
High five Marri! :wavey:

Good night M! :kiss:

Richie77
Aug 5th, 2003, 03:42 AM
Marri :kiss: I know zilch about computer terms, too. In general, the higher the number, the better :)

decemberlove
Aug 5th, 2003, 04:00 AM
god no stay far far away from gateway

www.alienware.com is the best way to go, but i think its out of your price range. those things are just so fucking sweet thou. yum

wuneyej
Aug 5th, 2003, 04:29 AM
No offense, Cat, but I have to agree with Holly (based on personal experience) that Gateway is for the birds. I'm happy you've had good luck, though. ;)

Ted of Teds Tennis
Aug 5th, 2003, 05:11 AM
the one from a norwegian site says 256MB.... which means? :o *kicks computers*

The 256MB figure is how much RAM there is. That's the memory used by the computer in actually running programs, doing computation, and stuff like that; not the memory on your hard drive used to store the files.

The more RAM (random access memory) you have, the more things you can have running at the same time (and the more intense stuff you can do). I don't know if you'll really need more than 256MB, although it depends on what operating system you'll be running.

I've got a Windows 98SE PC (non-laptop) with only 128MB of RAM, and am able to run Opera with several windows open, my email ***** server, my Usenet newsreader, Excel, and my word processor at the same time.

For college use, assuming you aren't planning on gaming or video editing, I'd guess 256MB is enough. Especially if support your fellow Norwegians by browsing with Opera, since it's designed to run on systems with less memory. :)

Martian Willow
Aug 5th, 2003, 09:21 AM
Yes but if you've got 256Mb and integrated graphics, you've really only got 224MB, which isn't much for Windows XP. I used to have that, and I found sometimes if I had two or three programs running at the same time Opera would just close itself, especially if I opened a page or thread with lots of pictures in it.

Like I said, it's better to go for a decent amount of RAM and hard disk space, with an average processor, than to compromise on RAM and HD for the sake of the CPU. :)

skanky~skanketta
Aug 5th, 2003, 09:42 AM
wish i had a laptop.

per4ever
Aug 5th, 2003, 10:32 AM
you'd better drop the Celeron, it doesn't have a good reputation. Get a Pentium IV. It will be a lil more expensive, but at least you will have a good new processor which can last for several years.

You need at least 512 MB RAM too.

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 10:38 AM
you give me the money, ya K? :p *weeps*

per4ever
Aug 5th, 2003, 10:41 AM
hey you work!! you're rich :p

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 10:43 AM
lol i work yes, but the money is used on other stuff as well.... :p

K - do i really need Pentium IV and a 512 MB RAM?? you know me.... i'll just use the boring programs like Word, Excel blah blah... and erm surf..... and er make cd's lol

Martian Willow
Aug 5th, 2003, 01:41 PM
K - do i really need Pentium IV and a 512 MB RAM?? you know me.... i'll just use the boring programs like Word, Excel blah blah... and erm surf..... and er make cd's lol

I think it's more important to decide how much you want to spend, and try to get the best spec for that. The difference between a Celeron and a P4 doesn't really have much effect on the things you want to do, but like I said, look out for an AMD Athlon model cos they tend to have P4 performance for Celeron money. An Athlon 2000+ will be cheaper than a 2.0Ghz P4, for example. I think you do want 512Mb, but if you go for that Toshiba it shouldn't be too difficult or expensive to upgrade it. :)


wish i had a laptop.

Yeah well, the grass is always greener...I wish I had a desktop...the thing with laptops is they don't have as good cooling, so when they get hot they slow down, which is v. irritating. :(

Kanji
Aug 5th, 2003, 02:57 PM
I second Willow on her/his (sorry, I am not sure about that yet ;)) comments. I recommend Toshiba among the laptops, there reputation is really great, especially for the screen which is pretty important.

Also, about the processor, I don't think you need a Pentium either for the kind of work you will actually be doing. The RAM is however pretty important when running XP. I upgraded to 512 recently and it is a great advantage.

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 05:00 PM
thank you very much willow and kanji!! I'll talk about getting a 512 mb on that laptop... shouldn't be too much trouble, right?

controlfreak
Aug 5th, 2003, 05:05 PM
Why not make like Eve and give in to Temptation: http://www.digitool.com/img/small-apple-logo.gif

Once you go Mac, you'll never go back! :kiss:

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 05:09 PM
ughh.. i don't like mac's :o

per4ever
Aug 5th, 2003, 05:48 PM
I agree with Willow...AMD is much cheaper and tends to be faster then Pentium. I have a AMD processor and it's faster then several Intel processors with higher clockspeed.

You definitly need 512 MB RAM.

Mac is fine enough for normal programs, but not all programs support mac. If you use special software (I do) you can get into trouble

Kanji
Aug 5th, 2003, 05:54 PM
AMD is indeed cheaper and just as good as Intel (I have an Athlon on my PC too). However, if I am right, most laptops comes with Intel processors...

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 05:57 PM
yeah, the toshiba one comes with Intel something.... i just asked a friend of mine, and getting a 512 mb wont be a problem. yay then :D :bounce:

carot
Aug 5th, 2003, 06:01 PM
my AMD really heats up in this weather :o where do you put the cooler in a laptop? :D

and you better take 512 ram babe, it's all about the ram

per4ever
Aug 5th, 2003, 06:21 PM
my AMD really heats up in this weather :o where do you put the cooler in a laptop? :D

and you better take 512 ram babe, it's all about the ram
lol laptops have special designed processors ;)

btw Intel's will heat up too lmao. Temperature is still normal here.

carot
Aug 5th, 2003, 06:39 PM
my case is small so i don't have good airflow :sad: and i only have one outtake fan, and i wanna put an intake fan but that would only be useful if i make holes in my frontpanel, which i prefer not to do

this combined with amd system => very hot processor ;)

Kanji
Aug 5th, 2003, 06:52 PM
Carot is right, AMD processor are reputed to be a bit warmer than Intels. However, it is also true that all the processor of the last generation are pretty hot. Fan has to be more powerful and sadly, often more noisy...

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 07:21 PM
one of the good things about this toshiba is taht it's not so noisy. definetly a pluss so i can sit at the library or something and not get evil stares @ me... :D

ok ok carot hun, it's all about the ram! :worship:

Ted of Teds Tennis
Aug 5th, 2003, 08:31 PM
Willow:

How was I supposed to know Windows XP is so memory intensive? It's not like it's that much better than the previous Windows OS's :)

98SE does everything I want, and with much less memory, too. Of course, I've only got 4.7GB of my 30GB hard drive occupied.... :D

Martian Willow
Aug 5th, 2003, 08:36 PM
98 is very memory intensive compared to 3.1! And anyway, most laptops come with XP preinstalled now, so there's not much choice. I know people who have very stable 98SE and can't see the point of upgrading: if it aint broke, don't fix it. :)

Bacardi
Aug 5th, 2003, 09:30 PM
Elephant try:
www.dell.com
www.gateway.com

Gateway has a laptop they are advertising for $799.

Also if I were you, I'd install 98 on it, instead of XP. XP is a pain in the ass, they've still not gotten all the bugs out.

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 11:00 PM
thanks bacardi! i went to that dell site, and then looked at the Inspiron 1100... after adding in the stuff i wanted the price got a lil bit high, but after some thinking, i guess i should really invest in a good machine. since i already will spend the money, why not spend a lil bit more :lol: i'm just so cheap coz this is the first time i'm paying for my computer and i had no idea that it would be this complicated!!! so thanks to you all again!
a friend of mine will check tomorrow with his company on whether they have a deal with Dell or not, if they have a deal, then i'll be able to get it for a lil bit cheaper.... :)

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 11:02 PM
oh and my friend said that he'll intall win 2000 for me if XP is shit...... :bounce:

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 11:39 PM
ok ok, hopefully this will be my new laptop:

Dell Inspiron 1100 C2200GT (11001IA)

Intel® 845-GL chipset, 533 MHz
Sound Blaster Pro kompatibel 3D Lyd
Smart Lithium Ion Batteri
2 USB 2.0, 1 PCMCIA, S-Video (TV-out), VGA
Intel® 845GL Integrated Graphics, D.V.M. Technology (up to 64MB)

Intel Celeron 2.2 GHz (yeah, this one didn't come with a pentium IV)

15" TFT XGA LCD screen

512mb DDR RAM/266MHz (2x256mb)

CD-RW 24x internal

30GB hard drive

USB memory key 128 mb

*hopes* the toshiba one is still a choice, we will compare tomorrow.

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 5th, 2003, 11:40 PM
oh and the price would be around $1750

Giuliano
Aug 19th, 2003, 04:09 PM
Ok, this time, I'm the one who needs help on laptops. I found this one. Could any specialist tell me what he thinks about it?

TOSHIBA A 10-S203
-Processor: Pentium IV 2.2 GHz
-Ram: 512 Mo
-Hd: 40 Gb
-Video card: Intel 812 GM with shared memory (:confused: )
-Video memory (not sure it is the right translation): 64mb
-Dvd/Cd burner
-Screen: 15"

Price: 999€ (about the same in dollars)

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 19th, 2003, 04:12 PM
julien, € is more worth than the US$. 999€ would be around $1100.

Giuliano
Aug 19th, 2003, 04:16 PM
Make me look like a lazy ass who can't be bothered to convert € into $, why don't you? :p

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 19th, 2003, 04:31 PM
coz there is a difference :p

tsssss... ppl nag coz i'm lazy, and now that i'm not lazy, ppl still nag...... :rolleyes: :p

Martian Willow
Aug 19th, 2003, 04:37 PM
64Mb is a lot to lose to graphics. I'd really recommend looking for one with a dedicated graphics card. And the size of the screen is less important than the resolution ie is it 1024x768 or 1400x1050? If it's $1000 that's a pretty good price though.

Giuliano
Aug 19th, 2003, 04:40 PM
It's 1024x768.
Could you explain me a little bit more this "a lot to lose to graphics"? :angel:

Martian Willow
Aug 19th, 2003, 05:03 PM
Most computers have a seperate graphics card, with it's own processor and memory. Lower end (ie cheaper) computers have 'integrated' graphics, which means they use system memory and processing. So if you have 512Mb you've only got 448MB really. That's not a big deal on desktops cos you can get a PCI card for next to nothing, but you can't do that with a laptop. But then, if E1000 (I can't get the euro symbol to work :confused: ) is about £750, then that's still very good for the money, and you'd probably have to pay a bit more for one with dedicated graphics.

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 19th, 2003, 05:05 PM
what would we have done without you willow :D
thanks! :kiss:

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 19th, 2003, 05:07 PM
it says: nVidia GeForce 4 420 Go on the graphic card of the toshiba i'm looking at. and 32 mb graphic memory. what does that mean.... i'm so clueless :o

Giuliano
Aug 19th, 2003, 07:00 PM
Thank you :). I just checked and 1000€ is 701£ exactly.
I guess I'll just go with this one. I will mainly use it for my job and what I have to do at uni.

salima
Aug 19th, 2003, 08:00 PM
???--USB memory key 128 mb??? Do they make memorey keys in Usbekistan? :confused:
I must have forgotn

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 20th, 2003, 11:12 AM
hahhaha salima.... ;) :p

hvordan går det forresten?

Colin B
Aug 20th, 2003, 01:54 PM
I can't get the euro symbol to work :confused:
I've just worked out how to use mine. On my keyboard, the '€' symbol is on the same key as '4' and '$'. Theres another key down near the space bar with 'Alt Gr' on it. Press that and '4' at the same time any you get '€'.

Martian Willow
Aug 20th, 2003, 02:03 PM
I know that, but if I do that it comes out as a euro symbol when I'm typing the post, but when I submit it it appears as a ? like this ?1000. :confused:

Colin B
Aug 20th, 2003, 02:15 PM
I know that, but if I do that it comes out as a euro symbol when I'm typing the post, but when I submit it it appears as a ? like this ?1000. :confused:

Oh, I see what you mean. Sorry - I can't help you then!

Giuliano
Aug 20th, 2003, 06:40 PM
Ugh, it's not on the site anymore. :sad:

Does anyone know if Acer is reliable or not?

Giuliano
Aug 20th, 2003, 07:22 PM
Oh and also, could someone tell me the difference between 512Mb Ram (2x256) and 512Mb? I don't know how to phrase this question but I have to choose between these two options on a site.

salima
Aug 20th, 2003, 08:15 PM
hahhaha salima.... ;) :p

hvordan går det forresten?

det går bra, men jeg er opptett nesten hele døgnet. sist søndag var jeg på dine domener, på Bekkestua
:wavey:

Martian Willow
Aug 20th, 2003, 08:26 PM
Oh and also, could someone tell me the difference between 512Mb Ram (2x256) and 512Mb? I don't know how to phrase this question but I have to choose between these two options on a site.

I couldn't find anything like that on the British site (didn't look very long though) but I assume it's just whether you have a memory slot free to upgrade. If it only has two slots, and you go for 2x256Mb (two 256Mb chips) both are used, so if you want to upgrade the memory you'd have to take one (or both) out. So 512Mb is just one 512Mb chip, leaving the other slot empty. I'd go for 512Mb, unless you have to pay extra for it.

Giuliano
Aug 20th, 2003, 08:38 PM
Thanks a lot. I have to pay extra for it, though...
Grr, why didn't I get the other one yesterday? :(

And does the brand of the computer is really really important? I found a Gericom but someone told me I would have a lot of problems with it... Does anyone know this brand?

Big Fat Pink Elephant
Aug 20th, 2003, 08:39 PM
julien - my brother bought an Acer laptop not too long ago.. and he's in the IT business, so i guess it can't be a too bad machine? ;)

SAlimaaaaa! ah, bekkestua! blir veldig fint der når du er ferdige med å bygge og restaurere alt mulig rart.
Er opptatt jeg og... Begynte på UiO forrige uke, også jobber jeg med STUDiO (studentfestival), noe som okkuperer tiden min.
æsj... jeg tror høsten er på vei..... :(

Martian Willow
Aug 20th, 2003, 08:43 PM
I've never heard of Gericom. I've heard of Acer but I don't know much about them. They sound OK. The brand isn't really as important as the components they use ie the chipset, motherboard etc. But the bigger brands do tend to use better components, which is why they cost more for what seems like a similar spec.

How much more is 512 than 2x256Mb?

Giuliano
Aug 20th, 2003, 09:06 PM
Wait, I misread it. I can double the ram for free.

Sooo, so far, I saw the Dell Inspiron 5100
Pentium IV 2.4 Ghz
512 Mb DDR SDRAM
HD: 30 Gb
USB memory key (is it called like this in English?)
DVD/CD RW
and a case
For: 1343€ (942£ damn :()

or a Gericom that I can pay in up to 24 times:
Intel Pentium® 4 CPU 2,53 GHz
512 MB DDR SDRAM
60 GB HD
15,1" TFT XGA
Combo-Drive (not sure what they mean by that though)
Floppy
64 MB DDR GeForce4 Go
16 Bit Sound
56K Modem
2x USB 2.0/ Firewire/ LAN/ Fast-IR/ PCMCIA/ TV-Out
For: 1500€ (1052£ damn²)

Giuliano
Aug 20th, 2003, 09:08 PM
The Acer:

Mobile Intel Centrino™ Technologie Pentium® M CPU 1,4 GHz
512 MB DDR SDRAM
40 GB HD
15" SXGA+ TFT
Combo-Drive
shared 64 MB 3D Grafik
56K V.92 Modem
WLAN/ Firewire/ 4x USB 2.0/ FIR/ LAN/ SmartCard/ PCMCIA/ TV-Out
Windows XP Home
-----------
1500€ *weeps*

Martian Willow
Aug 20th, 2003, 09:59 PM
I don't know anything about Gericom. It looks very good for the money but I don't know how reliable it would be. The big difference between the Dell and the Acer is the processor. It depends how much you're going to run it off the battery. I move mine around but it's nearly always plugged in to the mains when I use it. If you do that go for the Dell. The Acer will have a longer battery life but I don't know how it will compare speed wise with the Dell.

A combo drive just means combined DVD/CD-RW.