PDA

View Full Version : Was I Seeing Things?


BigTennisFan
Jun 2nd, 2003, 06:11 PM
I don't have time to read all of the threads so maybe this has been discussed. If not maybe someone can help me out.

I was watching the tape of Serena an Ai and on match point it seemed to me that the ball Ai hit to Serena bounced twice before Serena put it away to end the match.

Did anyone else see that?

Can the ball bounce twice on match point before it's played? Or was I just hallucinating?

Of course I doubt that the outcome would have been different but it jus seems strange.

Pureracket
Jun 2nd, 2003, 06:24 PM
Your eyes are not deceiving you, my friend. On match point, they give the higher seed two bounces. They don't usually take advantage of it, though. I guess Serena used her "two bounce pass" because she knows the tough road she has in front of her.

BigTennisFan
Jun 2nd, 2003, 06:25 PM
And why aren't my smilies posting?

Hawk
Jun 2nd, 2003, 06:28 PM
I thought it was just me.. I definately saw that too! When she won the point I was like what the hell?! :eek:

Cariaoke
Jun 2nd, 2003, 06:29 PM
LOL! it made her drop volley winner even that much cooler. :)

BK4ever
Jun 2nd, 2003, 06:48 PM
The ball definitely bounced twice...I'm glad others saw it and I was seeing things...

Caz
Jun 2nd, 2003, 06:54 PM
Really? I didn't see the match.

Where's Sandra "double bounce" de Jenkin when you need her?!?! Right Bea?!? ;)

GoDominique
Jun 2nd, 2003, 06:58 PM
I didn't see that either. Could you explain the situation a bit more ? Was Serena chasing a drop-shot or what ?

Cariaoke
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:14 PM
yes it was a drop shot and Serena ran up to the net and it bounced once before she got there and bounced again before she hit it dtl and Ai got that ball and hit it crosscourt and Serena ran and got it and hit the drop volley to win it.

jbone_0307
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:17 PM
OMG i just saw a recap and i saw the same thing. What are the rules for the 2 bounce ball???

Bella
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:21 PM
Isn't that amazing? I saw it. I wondered if I imagined it. I dismissed it without thinking about it anymore because it couldn't have happened. Sometimes, we can't retain what we can't believe. Seeing is not necessarily believing.

Thanks for bringing that up.

TonyP
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:24 PM
I saw the same thing, but thought I must be mistaken. I thought perhaps it was an optical illusion caused by the ball bouncing off the net. But I can't imagine Ai didn't see it, so something is wrong.

Dirty Sanchez
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:24 PM
I didn't see the match but that's not very good umpiring if it's true.

Sure, it didn't effect this match much but if it was 12-11 in the woman's final in the 3rd set with advantage somebody it would've made a difference!!

Rtael
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:25 PM
TBE wanna give us a ruling? He is all-knowing!

SJW
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:26 PM
LOL damn Eurosport for showing Henin and damn bbc for not showing the whole match :mad:

sounds pretty cool :D

GoDominique
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:30 PM
OMG i just saw a recap and i saw the same thing. What are the rules for the 2 bounce ball???
Well ... if the ball bounces twice, the point is over. :o

Dirty Sanchez
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:32 PM
I wish I'd seen it! :( :fiery:

Gallofa
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:35 PM
Sandra would had spotted that right away! even before it happened! even if it didn't happen! ;)

Can you say "double bounce, double bounce"?! :D ;)

E. Blackadder
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:38 PM
Can Ai sue the umpire for this?

GoDominique
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:44 PM
LOL- I saw that also and thought i was seeing things but then i saw the match again and it was the same...Pureracket- is that for real?? I never heard of that rule :confused:
LOL you are kidding, right ? At least I hope so. :o

Venus Forever
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:44 PM
OMG, I thought the sae thing happened as well. :eek: :eek: :eek:

I thought I was mistaken, and thoguht maybe it hit the net, so it looked like another bounce. But, that was weird. I wonder if it really did take two bounces.

Caz
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:46 PM
Sandra must be devastated she wasn't umpiring this match!!! ;) She just luuuuuuurves the double bounce rule!!! ;)

GoDominique
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:52 PM
OK ;) I didn't see it, so if it really was that bad, maybe I would have believed in that rule too LOL. :o

What's up with de Jenken? Does she always call "double bounce" when there is none?

LeonHart
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:54 PM
omg...i saw it too!! I thought the ball hit the net first, then bounced into the court, but wth! there shouldn't be a dumb rule like that!:(

Rtael
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:55 PM
anyone got a videoclip of this? I don't believe that rule actually exists....

SJW
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:55 PM
OMG Serena should give the match to Ai :o

Cariaoke
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:56 PM
Well, I guess they should replay the point then.
















ROFL!!!!!!!!!! :p

Pureracket
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:57 PM
Bajangurl,
:wavey:

GoDominique
Jun 2nd, 2003, 07:58 PM
It seems to me that you can post total nonsense here and everyone will believe you if you just leave out the ;).

Caz
Jun 2nd, 2003, 08:00 PM
What's up with de Jenken? Does she always call "double bounce" when there is none?

Last year in Zurich Vivi and Paola were playing a doubles match against Davenport and Rubin and at a very crucial point in the match Sandra just called "double bounce" out of nowhere, when there obivously wasn't one and not one of the players had thought there had been one. Vivi and Paola argued, but she wasn't going to give in to them and they lost the set because of that call. Therefore we now have a long running joke about Sandra's bad umpiring and 'double bounces'. ;) She was also involved in some dodgy umpiring at Fed Cup this year.

SJW
Jun 2nd, 2003, 08:00 PM
Well, I guess they should replay the point then.
















ROFL!!!!!!!!!! :p

LMFAO!! :p

GoDominique
Jun 2nd, 2003, 08:05 PM
Thanks Caz. ;)

Caz
Jun 2nd, 2003, 08:06 PM
Thanks Caz. ;)

No probs!! :D

MartinaI
Jun 2nd, 2003, 08:16 PM
Yeah I noticed this and was a bit stunned, very strange!

BigTennisFan
Jun 2nd, 2003, 08:17 PM
Well, the reason I asked was because I replayed that point 4 times just to be sure.
I'm glad to know that I was not the only one who saw it.

But it is an interesting psychological phenomenon that so many of us dismissed it as being impossible. I actually noticed it when it happened but since no one including the announcers said anything, I just assumed that I was wrong.

But I was right. So THERE!

And my stupid smilies still are not posting. What gives?

BigTennisFan
Jun 2nd, 2003, 10:18 PM
At least my smilies are working again. :D :) :worship: :hearts: :wavey: :) :devil: :lick: :bounce: :fiery: :angel: :( :eek: :confused: :drool: :p

tyk101
Jun 2nd, 2003, 10:28 PM
i saw it tooooo... we need to complain and get a rematch!

tyk101
Jun 2nd, 2003, 10:32 PM
sorry.. i've rewatched it.. it clipped the net and bounced upwards then down onto the court and serena hit a winner from it

treufreund
Jun 2nd, 2003, 10:42 PM
Weird!

Venus Forever
Jun 2nd, 2003, 10:43 PM
Sure looked like a bounce. :rolleyes:

Greenout
Jun 3rd, 2003, 12:50 AM
It did bounce twice. Just goes to show you
that when a bigger star, higher seed plays
the umpire doesn't question or judge their
errors as much as the opponents.

BigTennisFan
Jun 4th, 2003, 04:24 PM
sorry.. i've rewatched it.. it clipped the net and bounced upwards then down onto the court and serena hit a winner from it

After rewatching it and rewatching it and re-rewatching it, I have to say that I finally saw it as a net ball. However to say that it "clipped" the net is a bit misleading. The ball seemed to me to hit the top of the net and then bounce as opposed to clipping the net and rolling over. Of course this may be semantics.

But the bottom line is that I now see that it was not a double bounce. (sorry Sandra). At least I can now put it out of my mind (not that it was taking over my life, but still.)

So folks, we didn't see what we thought we saw.
Do you still believe in the reliability of eye witness testimony?