View Full Version : Serena nominated for Laureus Award

Mar 25th, 2003, 08:45 PM
Navratilova announces nominations for Laureus World Sports Awards
March 25, 2003

Miami, FL - Serena Williams and Pete Sampras head a roster of major American sports stars who have been nominated for the 2003 Laureus World Sports Awards.

Laureus World Sports Academy member and tennis legend Martina Navratilova announced the nominations - which feature more U.S. stars than any other nationality - at the Nasdaq 100 Open tennis championships in Key Biscayne, Fla.

Serena Williams, who currently holds all four grand slam tennis titles, is one of the five nominees for Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year along with U.S. sprint queen Marion Jones, while Pete Sampras is nominated for the Laureus World Comeback of the Year award following his victory in September in the U.S. Open.

Golf No.1 Tiger Woods, who won the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year award in 2000 and 2001, has been nominated for the fourth year running after his two major victories in the Masters and the U.S. Open. He joins cycling star Lance Armstrong, who won the Tour de France for the fourth straight year.

Dean Potter, the speed climber, who crowned a spectacular year by becoming the first person to free-climb Half Dome and El Capitan in Yosemite in less than 24 hours; and snowboard star Kelly Clark, aged 19, from Newport, R.I., have been nominated for the Laureus World Alternative Sportsperson of the Year award.

Paul Schulte, star of the U.S. wheelchair basketball team, has been nominated for the Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability.

And although Chinese, Americans will be delighted to see 7' 5' basketball star Yao Ming, the Houston Rockets rookie, nominated for Laureus World Newcomer of the Year after his brilliant first season in basketball.

Martina Navratilova, who won her 57th tennis grand slam title at the Australian Open in January, 29 years after winning her first, said: 'It's always great to have your own sport strongly represented and there is no doubt Serena and Pete have had a brilliant 12 months. Serena started 2002 with an ankle injury so it makes her achievement even more impressive.

'I'm not sure what Pete Sampras will think about being nominated for World Comeback of the Year. It had only been two years since he won a major,' she joked. 'But Michael Jordan was nominated for this award last year, so I'm sure Pete will be delighted. And Goran Ivanisevic won it last year so it's good for tennis to have a chance to win this award again.'

Tiger Woods and Lance Armstrong will be up against last year's winner, Formula One world champion Michael Schumacher, who has been nominated along with Brazilian soccer World Cup hero Ronaldo and Norway's biathlon Olympic gold medallist Ole Einar Bjorndalen.

Along with Serena Williams and Marion Jones, Sweden's Annika Sorenstam, who plays most of her golf on the LPGA Tour, Britain's Paula Radcliffe, following her world record breaking victory in the Chicago Marathon, and Croatian skier Janica Kostelic, who won three gold and one silver in the Salt Lake City Winter Olympic Games, have been nominated.

The only area where it is a blank for the U.S. is the Laureus World Team of the Year award where the Brazil World Cup winning soccer team have been nominated along with the European Ryder Cup team, the Ferrari Formula One team, the Canadian Ice Hockey team and Spanish soccer club Real Madrid.

Along with Paul Schulte, Finland's Tanja Kari (nordic skiing), Australia's Michael Milton (alpine skiing), Canada's Chantal Petitclerc (athletics) and Germany's Michael Teuber (cycling) have been nominated for the Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability award.

France's Anne-Caroline Chausson (mountain biking), Pierre-Luc Gagnon from Canada (skateboarding) and Slovenia's Martin Strel (ultramarathon swimming) will be challenging Kelly Clark and Dean Potter for the Laureus Alternative Sportsperson of the Year award.

The Nominations have been voted on by 400 journalists from more than 70 countries. Now the Laureus World Sports Academy, which is made up of 41 of the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of all time, will decide who should receive these prestigious awards which will be presented in Monaco on May 20. In addition two special awards will be presented - the Laureus Lifetime Achievement and the Laureus Sport for Good award.

In line with the global focus of the Laureus World Sports Awards, Nominations Announcements have taken place today simultaneously in seven cities around the world - in Berlin, Johannesburg, London, Madrid, Miami, Milan and Paris. And will be held in an eighth, Shanghai, on March 28.

The Nominations were announced by some of the world's greatest sports legends who are members of the Laureus World Sports Academy - including Giacomo Agostini, Franz Beckenbauer, Boris Becker, Ian Botham, Nadia Comaneci, Kapil Dev, Morné du Plessis, Nawal El Moutawakel, Emerson Fittipaldi, Miguel Indurain, Michael Johnson, Kip Keino, Edwin Moses, Ilie Nastase, Martina Navratilova, Hugo Porta, Daley Thompson and Alberto Tomba.

Rae Q.
Mar 27th, 2003, 04:27 PM
Thanks Cari! :) It sounds great and I hope Serena wins!