Mar 2nd, 2003, 11:30 PM
I read somewhere that a few years ago, a final between Hingis and Davenport was rained out and they both split the prize money. But what about the trophy, do they make a replica so both players have their own copy? And what about things like quality pointy points and h2h records, how are those reconciled? Any ideas?
Mar 3rd, 2003, 12:03 AM
They both got round points, no quality points...but I dunno about the trophy.
Mar 4th, 2003, 02:27 AM
This is straight from the WTA rule book.
If the Singles or Doubles event of a Tournament is canceled due to poor weather and there has been no play, first-round Prize Money will be paid out to the players. If play has commenced and been terminated before the Tournament is concluded, players will be paid loserís Prize Money for the individual round reached. Additionally, if the first round has been completed, all players/teams will receive their Round and Quality Points earned through the last completed round only and the Tournament will count as a Tournament played. If a Tournament is officially terminated and the finals have not been completed, the finalists will each receive finalistís Prize Money and Ranking Points. The difference between the winner and finalist Prize Money will revert back to the Tournament.
The finalists do not split the winner's prize money. They both get finalist prize money and finalist round points and quality points (earned up to that point).
No trophy is handed out because there is no winner.
The match does not count towards their H2H record because there is no match played at all.
Mar 4th, 2003, 03:17 AM
So... if say in Scottsdale, it rained all week after the 1st round... all the players would only get 1st round points, and it would count as a tournament? That would really hurt the higher ranked players.
Mar 4th, 2003, 04:43 AM
You are correct, except they get 2nd round points, not 1st round points. Plus they would get the quality points from whoever they beat in the 1st round.