May 21st, 2012, 12:18 AM
Sharapova and Li Na produced 110+ UE combined officially. That seems overboard to me.
How to the stats people draw the line between an unforced error and a forced error ? And does it differ according to tournaments or is there some kind rules about this ? coz it seems to me that the UE stats are inflated in Rome. Federer had 42 UE in the 2 set match as he lost to Djokovic...:rolleyes:
May 21st, 2012, 12:43 AM
Sharapova and Li producing 110 UEs in a 3 hour claycourt match isn't even surprising IMO :lol: If they made 130 combined I still wouldn't be that surprised. But yeah the decision to call an error forced or unforced is subjective so stats will differ based on the tournament. Sometimes it's obvious whether or not an error's unforced, like someone shanking an easy puffball, but I think when a player is stretched on a shot and doesn't get it back then there might be a grey area. I remember at one of the grandslams (Wimbledon I think??) the stats were kind of strange in the W/UE department. In the end I guess there should be defined rules but really it's a subjective call on some shots.
May 21st, 2012, 02:19 AM
And does it differ according to tournaments
it differs greatly, in Rome if player somehow reached the ball and returned it into the net = UE , but it should be a winner for the opponent (or not taken into W/UE at all), because ball was unreachable in reality (maybe only reachable for Nadal, but he is not WTA so far)
the match Lisicki - NA (Miami) was 3-4 times worse and looked absolute mess in comparison with Rome's Final, but statistics (as it seems to me) might be close
May 21st, 2012, 02:25 AM
On European clay, if the ball touches your racquet and does not land in play, it's an unforced error.