PDA

View Full Version : Weird Serve Question


Spring Pools
Jan 25th, 2011, 12:22 AM
I know that in a shot, if you are hit by the ball you lose the point. What if you are standing in the baseline and your opponent hits you with his/her serve before the ball bounces?

Uranium
Jan 25th, 2011, 12:23 AM
The receiver loses the point. Same thing in doubles if the server hits the player at net with the serve. The ball can not touch you before the first bounce, the ball needs to bounce for an official out call.

Pops Maellard
Jan 25th, 2011, 12:24 AM
It would be a fault.

There's no way a ball could hit the receiver before bouncing if the serve had landed in.

Lin Lin
Jan 25th, 2011, 12:25 AM
what a question:eek::speakles:

Papillon.
Jan 25th, 2011, 12:26 AM
It would be a fault.

There's no way a ball could hit the receiver before bouncing if the serve had landed in.

Doesn't matter. If it hits the receiver before bouncing, the receiver loses the point.

Pops Maellard
Jan 25th, 2011, 12:27 AM
Doesn't matter. If it hits the receiver before bouncing, the receiver loses the point.

Oh OK.

Tennisation
Jan 25th, 2011, 12:29 AM
So if a server is struggling like 99% of WTA, shouldn't they just be aiming for the receiver :lol:

Papillon.
Jan 25th, 2011, 12:29 AM
what a question:eek::speakles:

Do any of your posts serve any purpose? It seems to me you just post to get your post count up. What you said serves absolutely no purpose within this thread. One-smiley responses to result threads (which I am guilty of at times) I can understand, but really? What's the point? Stop spamming.

Smitten
Jan 25th, 2011, 12:36 AM
It would be a fault.

There's no way a ball could hit the receiver before bouncing if the serve had landed in.

You don't even know what you're talking about.

sarddenso
Jan 25th, 2011, 12:37 AM
This is from the ITF tennis rule book.
http://www.itftennis.com/shared/medialibrary/pdf/original/IO_54581_original.PDF


Case 7: A ball that has just been served hits the receiver or in doubles the receiver’s partner before it touches the ground. Which player wins the point? Decision: The server wins the point, unless it is a service let.


Seems silly to me if you are standing out of court and get hit by a serve on the full.
But those are the rules.
Otherwise anyone being hit before the ball has bounced in general play, someone will have to deem whether or not the player was in court when the ball hit them.

Spring Pools
Jan 25th, 2011, 12:39 AM
Thanks for the answers. I wonder whether Dementieva could have done better if she'd started to aim for her opponents... Although she's much too classy for that.

miffedmax
Jan 25th, 2011, 12:41 AM
The receiver loses the point. Same thing in doubles if the server hits the player at net with the serve. The ball can not touch you before the first bounce, the ball needs to bounce for an official out call.

This. ITF Rules of Tennis, #24, Player Loses Point, Case 7:

The ball that has just been served hits the receiver or in the doubles the receiver's partner before it touches the ground. Which player wins the point?

Decision: The server wins the point, unless it is a service let.

Believe it or not, I actually had to make this call in a junior match once.:)

Pops Maellard
Jan 25th, 2011, 12:42 AM
You don't even know what you're talking about.

Please don't trip.

edificio
Jan 25th, 2011, 12:45 AM
This has happened in the last two or three years. I'm trying to remember who the ball hit, but it was either at New Haven or USO in 2009 or maybe Indian Wells. Anyway, it has happened in doubles. I recall in WTT someone getting in a tiff with Paes and intentionally hitting Paes/his partner and winning the point. (Of course, that is WTT, but I thought it was funny since Paes was being a bully and yet he lost the point due to his opponent's childish response.)