PDA

View Full Version : Has a lucky looser ever won a tournament?


Sammo
Jun 6th, 2010, 01:54 PM
It's something I've been wondering for a year

Petkorazzi
Jun 6th, 2010, 01:56 PM
Don't think it's happened on the WTA for the last few years, but I remember quite a few on the ITF circuit. :shrug:

I just know Melinda Czink and Ana Ivanovic played in both Q3 and Final of the same tourney in Australia one year, with Ana winning both matches. :lol:

Aaric
Jun 6th, 2010, 01:56 PM
I know a case in ATP. Dont know in WTA though

fouc
Jun 6th, 2010, 01:59 PM
Never happened on WTA tour.

Rui.
Jun 6th, 2010, 02:00 PM
Paola Suarez reached the Madrid Final in 1999 and that's as far as a LL has gonei think

Uranium
Jun 6th, 2010, 02:02 PM
Don't think it's happened on the WTA for the last few years, but I remember quite a few on the ITF circuit. :shrug:

I just know Melinda Czink and Ana Ivanovic played in both Q3 and Final of the same tourney in Australia one year, with Ana winning both matches. :lol:

Yeah 2005 Canberra.

Hurley
Jun 6th, 2010, 02:02 PM
No, because there is no such thing as a "lucky looser."

GeeTee
Jun 6th, 2010, 02:06 PM
http://www.tennisforum.com/showthread.php?t=372811

It's happened six times on the ATP tour

ptitnavet
Jun 6th, 2010, 02:12 PM
So never happened ? I remember a player who was ranked really "low" and won a tournament in Thailand or Indonesia I think, don't remember really well maybe she was a WC ...

Uranium
Jun 6th, 2010, 02:12 PM
http://www.tennisforum.com/showthread.php?t=372811

It's happened six times on the ATP tour

About the Kay discussion...
Mar 3-9 Atlanta GA Avon Futures of Atlanta (IN) 25K
FI Kay McDaniel d. Renee Richards 4-6 6-4 7-6
http://www.tennisforum.com/showpost.php?p=2571800&postcount=102

Corswandt
Jun 6th, 2010, 02:17 PM
Never happened on WTA tour.

Never indeed.

The WTA's media guide used to (still does?) claim that Kay McDaniel won the 1980 Atlanta WTA tournament as a LL, which is false as any of you can confirm since that tournament's draw is available at the ITF website (final was Mandlikova d. Turnbull).

http://www.itftennis.com/womens/tournaments/drawsheetbyround.asp?tournament=1020000231&event=

Kay McDaniel never won a WTA tournament.

The media guide just got the Atlanta WTA tournament mixed up with the Avon Futures event mentioned in the previous post.

Slutiana
Jun 6th, 2010, 02:19 PM
About the Kay discussion...

http://www.tennisforum.com/showpost.php?p=2571800&postcount=102
Wasn't Renee Richards that transsexual? :lol:

stangtennis
Jun 6th, 2010, 02:28 PM
Wasn't Renee Richards that transsexual? :lol:
Yes
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ren%C3%A9e_Richards
Renée Richards (born August 19, 1934) is an American ophthalmologist (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ophthalmologist), author and former professional tennis player (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tennis_player). In 1975, Richards underwent sex reassignment surgery (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sex_reassignment_surgery). She is known for initially being denied entry into the 1976 US Open (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/US_Open_(tennis)) by the United States Tennis Association (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_Tennis_Association), citing an unprecedented women-born-women (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Women-born-women) policy. She disputed the ban, and the New York Supreme Court (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_York_Supreme_Court) ruled in her favor in 1977. This was a landmark decision in favor of transsexual (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transsexual) rights.[citation needed (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Citation_needed)]

spiceboy
Jun 6th, 2010, 02:29 PM
So never happened ? I remember a player who was ranked really "low" and won a tournament in Thailand or Indonesia I think, don't remember really well maybe she was a WC ...

Widjaja was a WC in Bali that year

Meelis
Jun 6th, 2010, 02:45 PM
The WTA's media guide used to (still does?) claim that Kay McDaniel won the 1980 Atlanta WTA tournament as a LL, which is false

2010 version claims that Andrea Jaeger won the 1980 Las Vegas WTA tournament as a LL, which is false too.

Ballbasher
Jun 6th, 2010, 03:03 PM
If anyone will do it, it's Yakimova. I think she had some great runs as LL. :p