PDA

View Full Version : How should we treat retirements? [WINNER: Do Not Count]


In The Zone
Dec 26th, 2009, 08:28 PM
Once and for all! How should we treat retirements?

1) Do not count them.

2) Count them in all scenarios.

3) Count them only if the first set has been completed.

In The Zone
Dec 26th, 2009, 08:35 PM
I voted for not counting them. ;)

Adrian.
Dec 26th, 2009, 08:38 PM
Not counting them.

matthias
Dec 26th, 2009, 08:41 PM
count them
if a player advance to the next round it is a win

Sexysova
Dec 26th, 2009, 08:51 PM
do not count them

HenryMag.
Dec 26th, 2009, 08:54 PM
count them if the player who won the match had a 1 set lead.

option C can count a 06 05 ret. win, so i wont vote for that one

MH0861
Dec 26th, 2009, 10:59 PM
Keep this one as is and don't count them.

Mynarco
Dec 26th, 2009, 11:30 PM
not counting them.

Petkorazzi
Dec 27th, 2009, 12:30 PM
I really think there should be the option of

i) the 1st set must be over
ii) the player advancing must have won it. In case of a third set, the player must have a lead.

We often see Lexy or Morita retiring when they are clearly going to lose which would mess things up for some. If this option isnt added though, then I vote for not counting them at all.

tennismaster8820
Dec 27th, 2009, 12:32 PM
We often see Lexy or Morita retiring when they are clearly going to lose which would mess things up for some. If this option isnt added though, then I vote for not counting them at all.

Yeah Morita certainly screwed me couple of times like that! :fiery:

Jarl_02
Dec 27th, 2009, 05:05 PM
Count them when first set has been played.

SVK
Dec 27th, 2009, 05:32 PM
Itīs little bid stupid if player like Schaul retired when she is down 2:6, 2:5 0:15 or sth. like this and it affect your match...so I think the retirements should be counted

sdtoot
Dec 27th, 2009, 08:43 PM
Can it be inferred that players who voted for Option 2 would also agree to accept Option 3?

If you vote for 'Count them' it means count them after one point had been played, so it can be presumed that you would also be happy to accept them to be counted after one set had been played. I voted for Option 2 but would be happy to accept Option 3 if necessary. :shrug:

Broseghini
Dec 27th, 2009, 09:10 PM
What is the current system? :lol:

Chris 84
Dec 27th, 2009, 09:15 PM
Can it be inferred that players who voted for Option 2 would also agree to accept Option 3?

If you vote for 'Count them' it means count them after one point had been played, so it can be presumed that you would also be happy to accept them to be counted after one set had been played. I voted for Option 2 but would be happy to accept Option 3 if necessary. :shrug:

yes, i think so, but not vice versa. in any event, if option1 wins, but doesn't get 50% of the vote, then perhaps another poll could be made between option1 and the more popular of the other 2 options.

What is the current system? :lol:

in matches where a player retires, the match is NOT counted for tt

In The Zone
Dec 27th, 2009, 09:48 PM
Can it be inferred that players who voted for Option 2 would also agree to accept Option 3?

If you vote for 'Count them' it means count them after one point had been played, so it can be presumed that you would also be happy to accept them to be counted after one set had been played. I voted for Option 2 but would be happy to accept Option 3 if necessary. :shrug:

;) We thought of that. If Option 1 wins by plurality, we'll repoll with the counting options.

sdtoot
Dec 31st, 2009, 10:35 AM
Bump! Last chance for those who haven't yet voted.

AdeyC
Dec 31st, 2009, 12:49 PM
Itīs little bid stupid if player like Schaul retired when she is down 2:6, 2:5 0:15 or sth. like this and it affect your match...so I think the retirements should be counted

Yes, I voted the one set option

vevenyin
Dec 31st, 2009, 01:49 PM
Count them only if the first set has been completed

Uranus
Dec 31st, 2009, 02:53 PM
Rah, please. I think it would be one of the worst decisions possible if retirements ended up being counted.

In The Zone
Dec 31st, 2009, 08:31 PM
Poll closed. Margin of 19-18, we will continue NOT to count retirements. We can visit this at a later time.

gumoll
Aug 31st, 2010, 11:28 PM
same should be made after this season :p

SVK
Sep 1st, 2010, 01:42 AM
I once voted for "count them" and always will...we are picking right winners, and if someone wins by retirement then heīs also a winner...and itīs absolutely unfair when someone lost because Cibulkova retired at 4:5 0:40 in third or I remember also Schaul she was set down and 2:5 in second..

adner
Sep 1st, 2010, 03:36 PM
I think it would be fine to have such a rule, but only in case a player is down a set and is already down a break in 2nd / 3rd.

simonsaystennis
Sep 4th, 2010, 06:16 AM
Agreed. I feel this should be revisited. I think we've all been screwed out of wins thanks to a player who is trailing down a set and a few games.

Rui.
Sep 4th, 2010, 07:42 AM
I once voted for "count them" and always will...we are picking right winners, and if someone wins by retirement then heīs also a winner...and itīs absolutely unfair when someone lost because Cibulkova retired at 4:5 0:40 in third or I remember also Schaul she was set down and 2:5 in second..

I guess it's fair if someone you need retires when winning 6-1 5-0 40-0....

SVK
Sep 4th, 2010, 11:19 AM
Wozniacki :spit:

But...We are picking right winners and if someone retires when leading 6:1, 5:0 40:0, the winner is still the other player..

Andreas
Sep 4th, 2010, 11:25 AM
Wozniacki :spit:

But...We are picking right winners and if someone retires when leading 6:1, 5:0 40:0, the winner is still the other player..

Well, I honestly don't think anyone would pick Kremer over Wozniacki :p Not even you.

Kylger
Sep 9th, 2010, 04:36 PM
I think it would be fine to have such a rule, but only in case a player is down a set and is already down a break in 2nd / 3rd.
I agree with adner on this.

Retirements should count after the first set. There are quite a few retirements happening, and when in TT we have only 4 matches and 3 retire on the tour then sry but it's not really great way to solve a tie.

If a set and a break down player retires match should count!

sdtoot
Sep 11th, 2010, 09:05 AM
The retirement rule in MTF TT is that the match counts after one point has been played and I don't ever recall any player complaining about the rule, yet here on TF this issue seems to regularly crop up. In PAW we voted to only count matches when one set had been completed and although we do get the occassional complaint, most players seem to have accepted the one set rule as the best all-round solution.

I have to be honest here though. Since I started playing TT at the start of last year, I can honestly say that I have benefitted from the current rule just as many times than when I have lost out, so I have generally come to accept the rule as it stands.