PDA

View Full Version : Serena was NOT disqualified


manu
Sep 13th, 2009, 03:30 PM
I have noticed that some people on the forums still think that Serena got defaulted after her outburst to the lineswoman. Some commentators and newspaper articles have stated this as well.

The ONLY thing that happened though, was that she received a point penalty. Which unfortunately happened on match point and thus cost Serena the match. If the point penalty had been given a point earlier, they would have continued to play.

Brian Earley, the tournament referee who came onto the court right after the incident to talk to Serena, the chair umpire and the lineswoman, confirmed this: (source: http://sports.yahoo.com/ten/news;_ylt=ApX3l.PKXzX_sS5.48LFR6A4v7YF?slug=ap-usopen&prov=ap&type=lgns)


Williams already had been give a code violation warning when she broke her racket after losing the first set. So the chair umpire now awarded a penalty point to Clijsters, ending the match.

“She was called for a foot fault, and a point later, she said something to a line umpire, and it was reported to the chair, and that resulted in a point penalty,” Earley explained. “And it just happened that point penalty was match point. It was a code violation for unsportsmanlike conduct.”


I would just like to point this out because there is still a difference between losing 1 point and not being allowed to defend your chances to reach a Slam final. Even if the outcome is the same, I feel that the match was not handed to Kim, but there was just an extremely unfortunate timing of the point penalty.

joćo.
Sep 13th, 2009, 03:32 PM
Duh.

KournikovaFan91
Sep 13th, 2009, 03:42 PM
I know Serena wasn't DSQd but wasn't Spriela(sp.) just DSQd for swearing?????

TheAllan
Sep 13th, 2009, 04:07 PM
I know Serena wasn't DSQd but wasn't Spriela(sp.) just DSQd for swearing?????
Wozniacki was defaulted in the US Open junior tournament in 2006 in the first round against Panova (she was a set up) for cursing at an official. She allegedly said "F*** y**!" to a linesman. Or maybe just "F***!". She said the swearing wasn't directed at him, but admitted she had also told him to take off his sunglasses.

Noctis
Sep 13th, 2009, 04:10 PM
Thanks for nothing really.
Another pointless thread to get attention.

matty
Sep 13th, 2009, 04:13 PM
Sharapova dropped the f-bomb at a chair umpire--did she get a point penalty?--just wondering?

Serena was probably robbed on that foot fault call, maybe she could have even taken the set or the match, but she really needs to control her emotions a bit.

manu
Sep 13th, 2009, 04:15 PM
Thanks for nothing really.
Another pointless thread to get attention.

With all the controversy and numerous discussions going on I think it's important that people know the true and right information. And yes, I do think that it's important for people to know that this is about 1 point and NOT about an entire match being thrown away. Huge difference. THAT's what I wanted to get the attention on, not on myself. Or maybe I shouldn't pay too much attention to your way more pointless post? BTW, if you find the thread so pointless, why read it and reply to it to bump it even more up? No logic at all. Besides, another poster just opened a thread to make clear that Serena wasn't defaulted, so it seems like other people do care too.

goldenlox
Sep 13th, 2009, 04:28 PM
I think they said today they would have defaulted Serena.
And now they are deciding if they default her from the doubles.

TheAllan
Sep 13th, 2009, 04:41 PM
I think they said today they would have defaulted Serena.
It's incredible she wasn't defaulted. Just look at the Wozniacki case for comparison. Spirlea was defaulted for swearing at an official as well - although it's a while back. Rodionova for hitting a ball in the direction of some fans (without hitting them).

LeonHart
Sep 13th, 2009, 04:44 PM
The USTA said they are reviewing the footfault, however due to offensive language and pointing the racket in a threatening way towards a USTA official she would have been defaulted anyways. They are now deciding whether she would be defaulted from her doubles match.