PDA

View Full Version : Controversy in Szavay sisters doubles match


IanRadi
Jul 8th, 2009, 05:23 PM
Koryttseva hit a crosscourt backhand and Agnes tried to volley it but let it pass (although she slightly touched it but nobody noticed except of Olaru who stopped the point a few seconds later) Then Olaru complained to the umpire because he hadn't stopped the point and he said "I didn't hear her touching the ball". After that he asked Agnes whether she had touched it or not and if she wanted to give Koryttseva/Olaru the point. Then Agnes said "All I can say is that I touched the ball" and the chair umpire insisted on asking her if she wanted to give them the point or not. Blanka was laughing like "WTF?" Finally Agnes decided to give Mariya and Ioana the point (when she didn't have to as it's the umpire's decision) :smash:

It's quite ridiculous that an umpire can't decide or even doesn't know what to do in that case. How could he even ask Agnes if she WANTED to give her opponents the point or not? :help: I mean is it possible to ASK the player if she accepts she'd touched the ball or not? If the umpire hadn't heard/seen Szavay hitting the ball, then the point should've been replayed, right?

hellas719
Jul 8th, 2009, 05:25 PM
Agi is such a great sport:worship:

*Jool*
Jul 8th, 2009, 05:26 PM
wow that sucks :tape: but if she touched it , the point should have been given to the opponents as he probably knew, maybe he just wanted to test her ethics of the sport :devil:

BournemouthBoy
Jul 8th, 2009, 05:26 PM
Umpire said play a let and all 4 players laughed :-)

BournemouthBoy
Jul 8th, 2009, 05:27 PM
Agnes played on even though she touched it, not sure thats a great sport

InsideOut.
Jul 8th, 2009, 05:37 PM
That was kinda unsportsmanlike of Agnes to not stop immediately IMO.

Julian
Jul 8th, 2009, 06:38 PM
This reminds me of a Jennifer Capriati match years back where I saw one of the most incompetent umpires who ever covered a professional tennis match. During a RALLY, Jennifer's ball hits the top of the net, goes over, and her opponent couldn't get to it. Of course you would think the point would be rewarded to Jennifer, but no, the umpire calls LET when the ball went over (let me say this again, DURING a rally), and said for the point to be replayed.
Everyone was like wtf?? Of course Jennifer was pissed about that ;)

starin
Jul 8th, 2009, 06:45 PM
goood of Anges to admit it and own up to it unlike a certain other spanish player who lies blatantly

Temperenka
Jul 8th, 2009, 07:05 PM
Good sportsmanship by Agnes. :)

sharapovarulz1
Jul 8th, 2009, 07:57 PM
Nice of Aga :)

In The Zone
Jul 8th, 2009, 10:40 PM
That was kinda unsportsmanlike of Agnes to not stop immediately IMO.

I was thinking the same. If Agi were such a great sport, she should have stopped right away and given the point. Not say, "All I can say is I touched it."

DutchieGirl
Jul 9th, 2009, 08:03 AM
Nice of Aga :)
Aga didn't play - Agi did. ;)

And for everyone bitching about Agi being a bad sport, she said she touched the ball - therefore the point must go to the opponants, so I don;t think she did anything wrong - the umpire shouldn't ask her to give the point to the opponants. Agi said she touched the ball, so she(they) lose the point. Agi could have said she didn't touch the ball - now THAt would have been bad sportsmanship.

Alicia Rocks
Jul 9th, 2009, 08:19 AM
Aga didn't play - Agi did. ;)

And for everyone bitching about Agi being a bad sport, she said she touched the ball - therefore the point must go to the opponants, so I don;t think she did anything wrong - the umpire shouldn't ask her to give the point to the opponants. Agi said she touched the ball, so she(they) lose the point. Agi could have said she didn't touch the ball - now THAt would have been bad sportsmanship.

Voskoboeva much? :p

DutchieGirl
Jul 9th, 2009, 09:03 AM
Voskoboeva much? :p
French Open? :lol: I forget.

fouc
Jul 9th, 2009, 10:14 AM
French Open? :lol: I forget.

what was that, could you elaborate more? :)

DutchieGirl
Jul 9th, 2009, 10:23 AM
what was that, could you elaborate more? :)
I was tryingto rember myself, but i think i kn now. It was at the French Open this year, a doubles match between Uhlirova/Safarova-Bitchianova/Voskoboeva, and during a point, Voskoboeva touched a ball clearly with her racquet, but the umpire didn't call it and I think they kept on playing and won the point (in any case I'm sure they won the point, I just don;t remember if they played out the point or Vladka and Lucie stopped playing and lost the point because of that). :(

fouc
Jul 9th, 2009, 10:27 AM
I was tryingto rember myself, but i think i kn now. It was at the French Open this year, a doubles match between Uhlirova/Safarova-Bitchianova/Voskoboeva, and during a point, Voskoboeva touched a ball clearly with her racquet, but the umpire didn't call it and I think they kept on playing and won the point (in any case I'm sure they won the point, I just don;t remember if they played out the point or Vladka and Lucie stopped playing and lost the point because of that). :(

thx! Galya, you naughty girl :sad:

iGOAT
Jul 9th, 2009, 05:10 PM
I was thinking the same. If Agi were such a great sport, she should have stopped right away and given the point. Not say, "All I can say is I touched it."
:rolleyes: she's better than a certain Belgian and a certain Spanish. Of course you keep playing when that happens, and it was really nice of her to admit it. Fernando Gonzalez did the opposite at the olympics against Blake last year and she decided to give them the point.

In The Zone
Jul 10th, 2009, 07:17 AM
:rolleyes: she's better than a certain Belgian and a certain Spanish. Of course you keep playing when that happens, and it was really nice of her to admit it. Fernando Gonzalez did the opposite at the olympics against Blake last year and she decided to give them the point.

Agnes didn't decide anything. Yes, Agnes could have been worse but did she act the best she could? No.

Who cares what other players did? :confused:

iGOAT
Jul 10th, 2009, 11:50 AM
Agnes didn't decide anything. Yes, Agnes could have been worse but did she act the best she could? No.

Who cares what other players did? :confused:
Well I see where your coming from, but willingly giving away a point does not sound like bad sportsmanship at all to me :shrug:.

Slutiana
Jul 10th, 2009, 01:48 PM
Well I see where your coming from, but willingly giving away a point does not sound like bad sportsmanship at all to me :shrug:.
Well it hit her and played on which is bad sportsmanship.

iGOAT
Jul 10th, 2009, 03:21 PM
Well it hit her and played on which is bad sportsmanship.
Ági must be playing well, she's gained a hater :hearts: whatever as I already said she gave the point away.

Alicia Rocks
Jul 13th, 2009, 03:18 PM
I was tryingto rember myself, but i think i kn now. It was at the French Open this year, a doubles match between Uhlirova/Safarova-Bitchianova/Voskoboeva, and during a point, Voskoboeva touched a ball clearly with her racquet, but the umpire didn't call it and I think they kept on playing and won the point (in any case I'm sure they won the point, I just don;t remember if they played out the point or Vladka and Lucie stopped playing and lost the point because of that). :(

It was Wimby ;)

Slutiana
Jul 13th, 2009, 04:44 PM
Ági must be playing well, she's gained a hater :hearts: whatever as I already said she gave the point away.
A hater, because I said that it's bad sportsmanship. Come back here when you've grown up (atleast when you finally become a teenager) and you realise that just because someone doesn't suck the shit out of your fave, doesn't make them a hater. She gave the point away at the end which is fine, maybe you don't play tennis, but if you touch it, you're meant to stop straight away, period.

DutchieGirl
Jul 13th, 2009, 08:26 PM
It was Wimby ;)
:lol: Whatever - I have seen that much tennis lately, everything runs into one. :lol: When the hell are you ever on msn? :ras: