PDA

View Full Version : OMG, Chaky served when Anne should have been...


alwayshingis
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:44 AM
To start the third set, Chakvetadze held, but it was Anne who should have been serving.

They are just going with it and playing on...

:o

kittyking
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:45 AM
You sure its not just the IBM Slamtracker playing up?

Marionated
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:45 AM
The scoreboard is a mess.

Mynarco
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:45 AM
Weird scoreboard.

alwayshingis
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:46 AM
No, I'm watching the match. The chair told the players after the game...

Anne: "Did you not realize that?"

Andreas
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:46 AM
Oh my. Cheater Chakvetadze! :eek:

Just Do It
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:46 AM
:haha:

Nicolas
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:47 AM
Anna :sobbing:

ArturoAce.
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:47 AM
:lol:

V-MAC
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:48 AM
Awful mistake. David Mercer (British Eurosport commentator) was having a fit over it.

égalité
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:48 AM
Cheatvetadze :smash:

Anne got an atrocious call at 0-1, 00-00 too. :o

kittyking
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:50 AM
No, I'm watching the match. The chair told the players after the game...

Anne: "Did you not realize that?"

Just a matter of time til she throws a pint at the chair umpire (she joked about it in Auckland remember :lol:)

Pasta-Na
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:50 AM
oh god, poor anne :hug:

Groenefelder25
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:51 AM
awww its no ones fault except that stupid umpre, shouldn't be umpiring club matches, let alone grand slams

Nikkiri
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:51 AM
:haha:

iGOAT
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:53 AM
Oh Lord...

I wondered why I was so confused :lol:

Andreas
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:54 AM
Chakvetadze should be banned from tennis!

alwayshingis
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:55 AM
awww its no ones fault except that stupid umpre, shouldn't be umpiring club matches, let alone grand slams

Yeah. Plus there have been plenty of horrible calls, she won't overrule, and she says "deu" instead of "deuce". No business working real matches...

itzhak
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:55 AM
It is also Anne fault, she sould have know that she is to serve....

Serenita
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:59 AM
cheating bitch!
but funny tho...

~Cherry*Blossom~
Jan 19th, 2009, 08:03 AM
Anne :sad:

Groenefelder25
Jan 19th, 2009, 08:04 AM
no one here is accusing anna of cheating so i dont know why people are joking about it? its not anna's fault, its not anne's fault. They shouldnt have to worry about screw ups like this

do your jump properly umpire! its what your paid for.

MaBaker
Jan 19th, 2009, 08:20 AM
Umpire :o :weirdo:

mauresmofan
Jan 19th, 2009, 08:24 AM
This is a Grand Slam right? Is the umpire any relation to the Sprem Venus umpire from Wimbledon all those years ago?

peanuts
Jan 19th, 2009, 08:28 AM
I don't know why but I find this a bit funny. Seriously, a horrible mistake by the umpire. That's why an umpire is there. Players are too focus on playing a Grand Slam match. It's hard to expect them to do the umpiring themselves.

Slutiana
Jan 19th, 2009, 08:32 AM
David Mercers reaction was HILARIOUS. I hope someone recorded that match simply for when he had that fit. :haha: :rolls:

sammy01
Jan 19th, 2009, 08:35 AM
really its down to anne and the umpire to do something about it neither of them did, i think chakvetadze was totaly oblivous to the fact that she served 1st when anne should have, and i bet if you ask her now she would like oh really. they were both zoned in, so the umpires should be concentrating on umpiring for them.

sammy01
Jan 19th, 2009, 08:36 AM
David Mercers reaction was HILARIOUS. I hope someone recorded that match simply for when he had that fit. :haha: :rolls:

he was totaly overreacting lol, he was just way too biased all the way through, he even dared bring up chanda rubins 0-5 comeback in the final set like he was clutching at straws lol.

Jeff
Jan 19th, 2009, 09:25 AM
Uh, why did she ask the players if they realized...? The real question is why didn't the umpire realize? Once she realized the mistake she should have had Anne begin serving immediately, no matter how far along in the game she discovered the error.

TheBoiledEgg
Jan 19th, 2009, 09:28 AM
Awful mistake. David Mercer (British Eurosport commentator) was having a fit over it.

well he would as he was a Gold Badge Umpire

-Sonic-
Jan 19th, 2009, 11:52 AM
what was the umpire's name?

Mercer made it sound like he would make sure she never stepped on court again hehe, i'd like to keep an eye out....

Brena
Jan 19th, 2009, 11:56 AM
It's not Chaky's fault, that umpire must have been completely insane.
They'll be playing with two balls and without the net next...

mckyle.
Jan 19th, 2009, 12:02 PM
So was that game counted? :o And who served the next game?

SOA_MC
Jan 19th, 2009, 01:05 PM
Isn't it some guys job on ground level to organise the ball boy/girls? :scratch:

Dawson.
Jan 19th, 2009, 01:16 PM
So were the balls at the wrong end of the court too? I don't understand how this would have happened. I can understand the plyers forgetiing if they were both in their own bubble, but for this to happen at a grand slam is just shameful. I can just imagine David Mercer now :lol:

miffedmax
Jan 19th, 2009, 01:20 PM
Yes, the game counts.

The umpire should have caught the mistake, and corrected it immediately. I'd give Chaky the benefit of the doubt as Anne didn't say anything--it's quite possible both of them were confused.

In a tournament this big, glitches will happen. With all the cable/internet coverage, you can't hide on the outer courts any more.

I just did my official's recertification class yesterday and it was pretty much a "Worst officiating Blunders of the '90s" tape with examples of exactly these kind of mistakes from majors, Davis and Fed Cup competition. So it really does happen all the time.

Not that this excuses the official's error.

Ellery
Jan 19th, 2009, 01:22 PM
Anna :hug:

Ouch.

Londoner
Jan 19th, 2009, 01:51 PM
What a trio of plonkers.

-Sonic-
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:45 PM
Umpire was Gabriela Zagola from Poland.

:p

frenchie
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:47 PM
If I remember correctly, the same happened during the Dementieva/Fernandez 4th round match at RG 2002

Monica_Rules
Jan 19th, 2009, 07:52 PM
This means the match is invalid and Anne should go through :lol:

Clutching at straws here.

tenn_ace
Jan 19th, 2009, 08:08 PM
any idea who was the umpire?

tenn_ace
Jan 19th, 2009, 08:12 PM
by the way, where were the line umpires? were they asleep too?

Europe rocks
Jan 19th, 2009, 08:37 PM
Nice to see the umpire doing the job she gets paid for :o Well, I guess Anna needs all the luck she can get right now ;) The umpire should have noticed it straight away, but that's tennis I guess

kris719
Jan 19th, 2009, 08:40 PM
wow.... and nobody noticed lol

rrfnpump
Jan 19th, 2009, 08:41 PM
Why was it luck that Anna served first? I'd rather think it would be a disadvantage with her serve. :o

zhangxian22
Jan 19th, 2009, 09:21 PM
it's ridiculous that nobody calls out...
I mean with the crowds and ball kids or whoever was there...

Nickk
Jan 19th, 2009, 10:01 PM
So scandalous:zzz:

drake3781
Jan 19th, 2009, 10:07 PM
So were the balls at the wrong end of the court too? I don't understand how this would have happened. I can understand the plyers forgetiing if they were both in their own bubble, but for this to happen at a grand slam is just shameful. I can just imagine David Mercer now :lol:

it's ridiculous that nobody calls out...
I mean with the crowds and ball kids or whoever was there...



My thoughts too. And the players didn't realize? I can imagine maybe one of them zoning out, but both? And the umpire? And the ball kids - did they put the balls in the wrong place? Not to mention linespeople. And the crowd?

Aaron.
Jan 19th, 2009, 10:29 PM
Bad mistake but did it effect Anne that much I mean it was a 6-1 final set

Ciarán
Jan 19th, 2009, 10:38 PM
Anne said she didnt care, it wasnt why she lost :weirdo:

Uranus
Jan 20th, 2009, 12:15 AM
I suggest they replay the match tonight :lol: (Go Anne!)

Freakan
Jan 20th, 2009, 12:15 AM
Umpire was Gabriela Zagola from Poland.

:p

Zaloga!

"Za gola" means "too naked" :lol: