PDA

View Full Version : Someone please confirm a question of mine...


Demska
Jan 11th, 2009, 09:33 PM
Who wins the point if the ball goes over the net, but somehow after it bounces, crosses back onto side the the player who hit the shot?

SvetaKuzzy
Jan 11th, 2009, 09:36 PM
the person who hit the ball.

venus hit a shot either in HK or at YEC where her racquet was over the net (a high drop-shot from her opponent), but she had to hit the ball to win the point (as long as you don't touch the net)

Demska
Jan 11th, 2009, 09:37 PM
if you hit a really high bouncing ball verry close to the net, like a really high dropshot, but the wind blows it back onto your side without the opponent reaching it

ArturoAce.
Jan 11th, 2009, 09:38 PM
the person who hit the ball would get the point.....

it happens if a play uses a lot of spin causing the ball to bounce backward..

AndreConrad
Jan 11th, 2009, 09:39 PM
Who wins the point if the ball goes over the net, but somehow after it bounces, crosses back onto side the the player who hit the shot?

I am not an authority on it, but I think since the ball returned it is equal to a situation as if the oponent hit it... it is possible with heavy spin. I believe I saw it

SvetaKuzzy
Jan 11th, 2009, 09:39 PM
actually, this is one of Mansour Bahrami's trick shots he plays in exhibitions on the "pensioners" tour

Farina Elia Fan
Jan 11th, 2009, 09:41 PM
if you hit a really high bouncing ball verry close to the net, like a really high dropshot, but the wind blows it back onto your side without the opponent reaching it

the person who hit the ball - Greg Rusedski did it at Wimbledon once

arbalest
Jan 11th, 2009, 10:02 PM
Nalbandian does this. Especially now that all the men use polyester strings, when they do a backspin volley it can come back over the net.

Also, the other player is allowed to put their racket over the net and tap it down, so long as their body or racket doesn't touch the net. This happend with Canas and Hewitt at Wimbledon, but I haven't seen it yet in a WTA match.

Pureracket
Jan 11th, 2009, 10:23 PM
Serena Williams wins it!

A'DAM
Jan 11th, 2009, 10:24 PM
I hit such ball once!!! It was a drop shot with a lot of spin, it bounced on my opponent side and than got back to mine!!!

I checked the rules to know who won the point and it turned out that: AS LONG AS THE BALL WAS NOT TOUCHED BY THE OTHER PLAYER, EVEN IF THE 2ND BOUNCE WAS ON MY SIDE OF COURT, IT IS SEEN AS 2ND BOUNCE AND THOUGH THE POINT WAS MINE!

champion88
Jan 11th, 2009, 10:27 PM
Yeh I have done it twice before but not for a few years now and by complete fluke :lol:

Definitely the person who hit the backsin shot's point

Brett.
Jan 11th, 2009, 10:38 PM
wow, someone's a cheater! poor opponent! :haha:

Shvedbarilescu
Jan 11th, 2009, 10:45 PM
Yeah, the point definately goes to the person who hit it. And deservedly so. Hitting a dropshot with that much spin that it goes back to the other side of the net ain't easy. I can recall seeing it only very rarely. I do like a previous poster recall Nalbandian doing it. I have also seen Fabrice Santoro do it three or four times. :bowdown:

sammy01
Jan 11th, 2009, 10:50 PM
Nalbandian does this. Especially now that all the men use polyester strings, when they do a backspin volley it can come back over the net.

Also, the other player is allowed to put their racket over the net and tap it down, so long as their body or racket doesn't touch the net. This happend with Canas and Hewitt at Wimbledon, but I haven't seen it yet in a WTA match.

exactly, in a normal rally a players racket or any part of them should not cross the net as its deemed 'invading' the opponents space, but if a ball bounces on one side of the court and spins back over to the other the player whom the ball bounced on is allowed to lean over the net but not touch the net. just to complicate things futher, the person who is allowed to lean over the net because the ball has bounced on their side and spun back onto their opponents side, is allowed to hit the ball into their opponents net and let it dribble to the floor and win the point, as this is no different to a ball hitting the net and dribbling over in a normal rally. the ball will roll down the net and hit his opponents side of the court, which is the game of tennis. frew mcmillan has done this in a doubles match against mcenroe and it didn't half piss him off.

Slutiana
Jan 11th, 2009, 10:58 PM
It would be so funny if that happened and then the opponent had to lean over the net and hit the ball back on to their side of the court and then the other person leant over and hit it on to their side of the court and then they kept on doing it. :lol:

Watching
Jan 11th, 2009, 11:02 PM
My coach once told me that the absolute official guidelines say that if a player does hit a dropshot (or any shot) that comes back to his/her 'side' of the court the opposition has to lean over the net (without touching) and hit it back into the net back at themselves as it were (not hitting the ground)...

Problem is it's so rare for anyone to even make this happen that it's rarer still for someone to be able to reach it so I have no idea what if this official rule as my coach says has ever happened.

sammy01
Jan 11th, 2009, 11:05 PM
My coach once told me that the absolute official guidelines say that if a player does hit a dropshot (or any shot) that comes back to his/her 'side' of the court the opposition has to lean over the net (without touching) and hit it back into the net back at themselves as it were (not hitting the ground)...

Problem is it's so rare for anyone to even make this happen that it's rarer still for someone to be able to reach it so I have no idea what if this official rule as my coach says has ever happened.

frew mcmillans done it in doubles at wimbledon, its a bit of a famous shot, nopt sure if its on youtube.

Ryan
Jan 12th, 2009, 01:26 AM
I've read too the player can run onto their opponent's court, without touching the lines, to get the ball (lets say its a really high lob).

TheBoiledEgg
Jan 12th, 2009, 02:12 AM
frew mcmillans done it in doubles at wimbledon, its a bit of a famous shot, nopt sure if its on youtube.

he's talked about this for years on Eurosport :lol:

sammy01
Jan 12th, 2009, 02:13 AM
he's talked about this for years on Eurosport :lol:

i know, i've heard other commentators mention it as well whenever a ball spins back on their side, so i assume it must be pretty rare lol