PDA

View Full Version : Challenge system breaks. Umpire calls a let?!


Pengwin
Sep 26th, 2008, 06:35 AM
Zheng hit a volley which was called in, and Ivanovic challenge, but the machine didn't work. The umpire proceeded to ask them to play a let. Is this the official rule?

Renalicious
Sep 26th, 2008, 06:36 AM
omg is there any livestream?

Pengwin
Sep 26th, 2008, 06:37 AM
OK they fixed the hawkeye and found out the volley was out so it's Advantage Ivanovic now after 5 minutes of arguing.

Pengwin
Sep 26th, 2008, 06:38 AM
And Zheng hit a wild ball about 6 foot wide on the next point.

oleada
Sep 26th, 2008, 06:43 AM
Zheng was up 40-0 in that game :help:
Anyway, the ball was originally called in, but Ivanovic challenged. The challenge system was down, but the umpire overruled the call, so 40-AD Ana (BP). Zheng got pissed, argued with the umpire forever. The challenge system started working again and the ball was out, so AD Ivanovic again.

rockstar
Sep 26th, 2008, 06:45 AM
i thought the official rule was that the original call stands? i can see why zheng got real pissed..

Renalicious
Sep 26th, 2008, 07:00 AM
ohwell she took the 1st set anyway...

Balltossovic
Sep 26th, 2008, 07:35 AM
omg is there any livestream?

http://tennisliveonline.blogspot.com/

^bibi^
Sep 26th, 2008, 07:43 AM
i thought the official rule was that the original call stands? i can see why zheng got real pissed..

I thought this was the rule too :shrug:

sammy01
Sep 26th, 2008, 07:48 AM
yep the umpire messed up twice, if hawkeye dosen't work the original call stands and also overrules must be instant, so to overrule after 2 mins waiting for hawkeye is against the rules.

faboozadoo15
Sep 26th, 2008, 08:50 AM
Weird... Good thing it didn't alter the result.

Oswald56
Sep 26th, 2008, 10:45 AM
Poor Zheng has to battle the Umpire and the Hawkeye system as well as a former number 1 – even if it’s just a pretender with a sore thumb like Ivanovic.

incognito
Sep 26th, 2008, 11:32 AM
Poor Zheng has to battle the Umpire and the Hawkeye system as well as a former number 1 – even if it’s just a pretender with a sore thumb like Ivanovic.
Poor Ana, had to battle bad calls by the linesmen without a working Hawkeye system ;)

SOA_MC
Sep 26th, 2008, 11:50 AM
Poor Zheng has to battle the Umpire and the Hawkeye system as well as a former number 1 – even if it’s just a pretender with a sore thumb like Ivanovic.

No she didn't it was Ana who challenge the in call got told hawkeye was down and to replay the point. After 5 minutes hawkeye came back and Ana was right the ball was out.

Ana's the one who almost got screwed

Cankarlo
Sep 26th, 2008, 02:35 PM
Ana won that point. They didn't replay that point. Ana was right and she won the game there. The ball was clearly wide.

sammy01
Sep 26th, 2008, 02:40 PM
No she didn't it was Ana who challenge the in call got told hawkeye was down and to replay the point. After 5 minutes hawkeye came back and Ana was right the ball was out.

Ana's the one who almost got screwed

no, no and no. ana challenged, the hawkeye system wasn't working, the rules clearly state the original call should stand. the replay we saw 5 mins after was only on t.v not in the stadium. so the umpire overruled the call 3 to 4 minutes after the original call, which again is against the rules as an umpire is supposed to overrule instantly or you will have players arguing/pleading with the umpire after calls trying to change their minds. jie was screwed over twice as the original call should stand and umpires shouldn't overrule after 3-4 minutes.

SOA_MC
Sep 26th, 2008, 02:50 PM
no, no and no. ana challenged, the hawkeye system wasn't working, the rules clearly state the original call should stand. the replay we saw 5 mins after was only on t.v not in the stadium. so the umpire overruled the call 3 to 4 minutes after the original call, which again is against the rules as an umpire is supposed to overrule instantly or you will have players arguing/pleading with the umpire after calls trying to change their minds. jie was screwed over twice as the original call should stand and umpires shouldn't overrule after 3-4 minutes.

Wait Jie hits a volley it goes out the linesperson calls it in Ana challenges the call gets told hawkeye is down and to replay the point replays later show Ana was right the ball was out and you say Jie got screwed:confused:

croat123
Sep 26th, 2008, 02:58 PM
if hawkeye is down they have to go with the line judges' decisions, not play a let

sammy01
Sep 26th, 2008, 03:10 PM
Wait Jie hits a volley it goes out the linesperson calls it in Ana challenges the call gets told hawkeye is down and to replay the point replays later show Ana was right the ball was out and you say Jie got screwed:confused:

the point was awarded to ivanovic after the umpire overruled it after hawkeye didn't work, the point was never replayed. imagine you're jie, she hits a volley it's called in, ana challenges, hawkeye dosen't work the rules state the call should stand, the umpire decides to overrule minutes later, therefore breaking 2 rules. players get bad calls all the time but for the umpire to ignore the rules is not right.

FFS
Sep 26th, 2008, 03:35 PM
the point was awarded to ivanovic after the umpire overruled it after hawkeye didn't work, the point was never replayed. imagine you're jie, she hits a volley it's called in, ana challenges, hawkeye dosen't work the rules state the call should stand, the umpire decides to overrule minutes later, therefore breaking 2 rules. players get bad calls all the time but for the umpire to ignore the rules is not right.

Are you sure the hawkeye didn't work? Maybe it was only the big screen on court that didn't work.
Maybe the umpire talked with the umpire in the hawkeye boot and he said the ball was out.

anyone has the video of this point ?

incognito
Sep 26th, 2008, 04:25 PM
the point was awarded to ivanovic after the umpire overruled it after hawkeye didn't work, the point was never replayed. imagine you're jie, she hits a volley it's called in, ana challenges, hawkeye dosen't work the rules state the call should stand, the umpire decides to overrule minutes later, therefore breaking 2 rules. players get bad calls all the time but for the umpire to ignore the rules is not right.
If the bad call didn't stand because the umpire overruled it, then that's according to the rules, the umpire can overrule any call he considers incorrect and this time he was obviously completely right in his judgement. If play was stopped immediately after the bad call, then technically the overrule wasn't late because the match did not progress in between the bad call and the umpire's overrule...

sammy01
Sep 26th, 2008, 04:43 PM
If the bad call didn't stand because the umpire overruled it, then that's according to the rules, the umpire can overrule any call he considers incorrect and this time he was obviously completely right in his judgement. If play was stopped immediately after the bad call, then technically the overrule wasn't late because the match did not progress in between the bad call and the umpire's overrule...

umpires have to overrule instantly because otherwise you will get what happens in football where players crowed the referee. im sure the rules state any overrule must be done instantly. if the umpire was going to overrule it should have been done before using (or not as this case may be) the hawkeye system.

incognito
Sep 26th, 2008, 04:54 PM
umpires have to overrule instantly because otherwise you will get what happens in football where players crowed the referee. im sure the rules state any overrule must be done instantly. if the umpire was going to overrule it should have been done before using (or not as this case may be) the hawkeye system.
The umpire used his judgement in an unexpected situation and prevented a player from getting robbed off a point, like I said play did not progress in between the bad call and his overrule, as for what happens in football that's irrelevant for tennis...

Ciarán
Sep 26th, 2008, 04:58 PM
Jie won! XD

sammy01
Sep 26th, 2008, 05:04 PM
The umpire used his judgement in an unexpected situation and prevented a player from getting robbed off a point, like I said play did not progress in between the bad call and his overrule, as for what happens in football that's irrelevant for tennis...

no because its not unexpected, there is a rule that says if hawkeye is not working for any reason the original call stands. there is also a rule that umpires should overrule instantly. if the umpire precieved that ivanovic was 'robbed' of a point then she should have overruled instantly, if a umpire sees a clear mistake he/she should overrule instantly, so if the umpire did see a clear mistake (which judging by the fact that she overrled eventualy she must have done) then shes not doing her job by overruling clear mistakes. jie was robbed, like i said bad calls happen all the time, mistakes umpiring the rules by the umpire shouldn't.

-Sonic-
Sep 26th, 2008, 05:05 PM
I wonder if umpires get told off after the match if they mess up...

Anyone know about this?

sammy01
Sep 26th, 2008, 05:08 PM
I wonder if umpires get told off after the match if they mess up...

Anyone know about this?

well there banded aren't they, like gold umpires that do slam finals big matches ect, silver umpires do tour matches ect. im not realy sure about how the banding works but its down to performance.

incognito
Sep 26th, 2008, 05:17 PM
no because its not unexpected, there is a rule that says if hawkeye is not working for any reason the original call stands. there is also a rule that umpires should overrule instantly. if the umpire precieved that ivanovic was 'robbed' of a point then she should have overruled instantly, if a umpire sees a clear mistake he/she should overrule instantly, so if the umpire did see a clear mistake (which judging by the fact that she overrled eventualy she must have done) then shes not doing her job by overruling clear mistakes. jie was robbed, like i said bad calls happen all the time, mistakes umpiring the rules by the umpire shouldn't.
If neither Ana nor the umpire knew hawkeye wasn't working then by definition that's an unexpected situation, some umpires have a passive approach about overruling calls and prefer players themselves using hawkeye whenever possible. When it became clear that hawkeye wasn't working the umpire had to make a decision whether to let a by all probability bad call stand or overrule it, technically this can be considered an instant overrule. The right decision was made and Zheng wasn't wrongly awarded a point that wasn't hers and Ana wasn't robbed off a point...