PDA

View Full Version : A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw: Rules, FAQs, etc all in here!


watchdogfish
Aug 25th, 2008, 09:22 PM
.::.A Beginner's Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw.::.


1. What is Fill-in-the-Draw (FITD)?
FITD is simple and only takes a few minutes each week. You just post a full predicted draw for the current WTA tournament. That's all of the winners of all of the matches for every round. You then score points for each correctly chosen winner of each match.

2. So how do I post my draw?
You can begin predicting once the main draw has been made. Post your predictions in the form of "A def B" or "A d. B" (not "A loses to B" please). You may also write down the winners' name only.

Please make sure you write down the player's full name or surname, no nicknames please!

Please note that the tournament manager can use their discretion as to what is an acceptable format or not.

3. Is there a commitment thread I need to post in first?
No commitments are required for FITD, just post your picks in the tournament thread! However, all draws must be made before the first ball of the first main draw match is struck. Any draws posted after this time will not be counted!

There are no special rules for new posters either. Everyone is welcome to play whether you have 2 posts or 20,000 posts; if you've been a member for 1 week or 5 years!

4. The main draw has started and the qualifiers are still unknown. Can I change my draw once they're placed?
No you can't. Occasionally the qualifying rounds are finished before the main draw has started, but if the qualifiers are still unknown you can indicated them as "Q" or "Qualifier".

If two qualifiers are drawn to face each other you must specify which one you want to win in the form of, for example, "Q1 def Q2". If you do not do this, that particular pick will not be counted.

5. A player has withdrawn. Can I change my draw?
You can change your draw only if the withdrawing player was seeded. If this is the case, make sure you make a new post and quote your previous draw. If play has already begun and the seeded player then withdraws unfortunately this is just bad luck.

6. Why must I quote my old pick? Wouldn't it be easier to edit my post?
It would save you one post but the tournament manager would not be sure of the exact reason for you editing your picks. So to keep this game as fair as possible there is this no editing rule and any edited post will not be counted UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. Don't worry if the formatting gets lost in transit, we can pick out your predications no problem!

7. Ok, so I've posted my draw what happens now?
You can sit back and relax! Once each round of the tournament is completed the tournament manager will give you points for each player you correctly predict into the next round. These points are based on the WTA ranking points the pro players gain in a tournament. For example scoring for a Grand Slam uses these points:

2000....Picking the correct winner
1400....Picking each correct finalist
900.....Picking each correct semi finalist
500.....Picking each correct quarter finalist
280.....Picking each correct player into Round of 16
160.....Picking each correct player into Round of 32
100.....Picking each correct player into Round of 64

So say for example you predicted the following at the US Open quarter final stage:

Dementieva..def....Sharapova
Jankovic....def....Kuznetsova
Serena......def....Venus
Ivanovic....def....Wozniacki

And the actual real winners were:

Sharapova
Jankovic
Serena
Wozniacki

You will score 1800 points for guessing two of the semi finalists correctly (900 x 2 = 1800).

The poster with the most accumulated points at the end of the tournament will be champion.

8. I have predicted the right winners but my Quarter Final doesn't match the real Quarter Final. Does that mean I won't score any points?
As long as you guess the correct winner you will score points regardless of who they actually play in their matches.

9. What if there's more than one tournament each week? Can I play in all of them?
Yes you can, but the highest number of ranking points you earn from only one of the tournaments will count towards your ranking.

10. How do the rankings work exactly?
FITD has two sets of rankings - the Race and the Overall 52-week system.

Both use a special set of ranking points depending on the grade of a tournament and can be found here

The Overall 52-week system only takes into account your 18 best tournaments. These are made up of the 8 mandatories (Australian Open, Roland Garros, Wimbledon, US Open, Indian Wells, Miami, Madrid and Beijing) and your 10 best other results. Here's an example below:


http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r313/feathers1985/untitled.jpg



Here is the breakdown for my current ranking. The mandatory tournaments are in bold at the top, followed by my 10 best other results. My 17th best result is the 70 points I gained from New Haven. This means in order to improve my ranking, I need to gain more than 70 points each week.


The Race starts afresh each January and those who finish 1st-16th at the end of the year will take part in the SEC in Doha and those who finish 17th-32nd in the standings will play the TOC in Sofia. There are no cut-offs for these ranks, all weeks count!

You gain a ranking after you've competed in your first tournament.

The rankings can be found here: Race and Overall

11. Do I need to be a certain rank to play in some tournaments?
No, you can enter any tournament grade whether you are ranked #1 or #999!

Only the YEC is restricted to the top sixteen finishers in the Race rankings.

12. Can I be a tournament manager?
Of course, just sign up here. However, we would prefer it if you've already played FITD for a few weeks first or if you've already had experience running a tennisforum.com game before!

13. Any other questions/queries/complaints/comments?
If you think one of us has made a mistake or have any other questions, feel free to PM one of the tournament managers and we'll be happy to try and help! Also, if you have any suggestions that you think will improve the game then don't hesitate to say.

Bennguin1491
Aug 28th, 2008, 08:34 PM
awesome! :D

Koon
Oct 5th, 2008, 02:04 PM
What happen if we win in double ? Please

Bennguin1491
Oct 7th, 2008, 11:18 PM
What happen if we win in double ? Please

As far as FITD-doubles go, all of the rules and everything is the same.

Justin SW
Feb 1st, 2009, 05:04 PM
If I play two tounaments in a week. Are both results added to the RACE!

watchdogfish
Feb 2nd, 2009, 10:34 AM
You can play in both but only your highest finish in one of the tournaments will count in the rankings :)

sdtoot
May 23rd, 2010, 01:52 PM
Is it allowed for players to post draws for other players?

watchdogfish
May 23rd, 2010, 04:00 PM
Is it allowed for players to post draws for other players?

Not normally, but I got a PM well in advance. If the draws are identical, however, then they won't be counted.

sdtoot
May 23rd, 2010, 09:37 PM
So if we send a pm to the manager in advance, then you can ask another player to post a draw for you? (If say for example you are away on holiday for a few weeks). Thanks in advance.

WhoAmI?
Jul 10th, 2010, 05:35 PM
Does every tournament have to have one winner? I mean in the case if there are 2 or more people with the same score are they all winners, or is there some tie-break method?

watchdogfish
Jul 10th, 2010, 06:06 PM
So if we send a pm to the manager in advance, then you can ask another player to post a draw for you? (If say for example you are away on holiday for a few weeks). Thanks in advance.

Actually thinking about it that makes it complicated. I think to keep the game as fair as possible everyone should post their draws themselves and if they're not around in a particular then that's tough. I think we should add it to the rules on the first post so there's no confusion.

Does every tournament have to have one winner? I mean in the case if there are 2 or more people with the same score are they all winners, or is there some tie-break method?

No there's no tie-break rule, joint winners are allowed. Maybe we could make up a tie-break rule but I don't think it matters too much in FITD.

WhoAmI?
Jul 10th, 2010, 06:25 PM
No there's no tie-break rule, joint winners are allowed. Maybe we could make up a tie-break rule but I don't think it matters too much in FITD.

Okay, thanks! I just couldn't find a rule about it, so it was better to ask. (I also think joint winners are fine;))

Turnip
Jun 10th, 2011, 03:35 PM
In a Q1 vs. Q2 matchup, can player rank their qualifiers? I assume no, because I haven't seen this before.

http://www.tennisforum.com/showpost.php?p=19699200&postcount=106

Edit: this is hypothetical

WhoAmI?
Jun 10th, 2011, 03:50 PM
I'm no official here, but I've seen people do it this way before. I've done so before. And I think this kind of IF-clause has been accepted.

But on the other hand, if all the players (80+) do it, then it could be kind of difficult for the manager:unsure:

WhoAmI?
Oct 12th, 2011, 08:58 PM
someone else had the winner marked down as higher ranked q.

That's allowed??

Is that okay for qualifier vs qualifier match?

(At first I thought it was okay. But then if q vs q played in 2nd round too [slim chance, but there is one], and someone picked a higher ranked q, it wouldn't be fair).

Equipped
Oct 12th, 2011, 11:34 PM
Is that okay for qualifier vs qualifier match?

(At first I thought it was okay. But then if q vs q played in 2nd round too [slim chance, but there is one], and someone picked a higher ranked q, it wouldn't be fair).

I don't think it's fair to have the scorekeeper do the legwork of researching rankings. The onus should be on the players themselves.

watchdogfish
Oct 13th, 2011, 11:16 AM
With Q vs Q I take at their position in the the draw, not their rank. I also give each qualifier their own number (Q1, Q2, Q3 etc) so if there is a Q v Q in round 2 I know which one's which.

MAGIKARPETTA
Apr 25th, 2012, 11:35 AM
So what about the case of Stuttgart?

Pennetta withdrew, so now there is Q vs Q match. LL didn't take the Pennetta's spot. How can I count scores?

:confused:

DiRenan
May 4th, 2012, 05:42 PM
I LIKE this rule:
"There are no special rules for new posters either. Everyone is welcome to play whether you have 2 posts or maybe 20,000 posts; if you've been a member for 1 week or 5 years!"

WhoAmI?
May 21st, 2012, 05:10 PM
I have some complications with Brussels. I guess it really depends on how to interpret the rule.

Here is the original draw
Radwanska v BYE
Arn v Petrova
Pervak v Van Uytvanck
Scheepers v Vinci

Kerber v Bondarenko
Daniilidou v Pironkova
Hendler v Pavlyuchenkova
Q1 v Kanepi

Jankovic v Halep
Niculescu v Q2
Wickmayer v Chakvetadze
McHale v Cibulkova

Peng v Arvidsson
Zheng v Q3
Q4 v Lepchenko
Bartoli v BYE

and here is the revised draw

Radwanska v BYE
Arn v LL
Pervak v Van Uytvanck
Scheepers v Pavlyuchenkova

Petrova v Bondarenko
Daniilidou v Pironkova
Hendler v q1
q2 v Kanepi

Jankovic v Halep
Niculescu v Q3
Wickmayer v Chakvetadze
McHale v Cibulkova

Peng v Arvidsson
Zheng v Q4
Q5 v Lepchenko
Bartoli v BYE

The rules say

10) Scoring is based on the WTA ranking points for each round of a pro tournament: for each player you predict correctly into the next round, you receive the points for reaching that round.



8. I have predicted the right winners but my Quarter Final doesn't match the real Quarter Final. Does that mean I won't score any points?
As long as you guess the correct winner you will score points regardless of who they actually play in their matches.


My question is: do people who posted their winners by the 1st draw that came out, get points for Petrova and Pavlyuchenkova reaching round 2 (and further)?

watchdogfish
May 25th, 2012, 11:12 AM
Yeah they do. If there are any problems we'll have to think of something else! :lol:

mariusz_pol
Jul 24th, 2013, 04:29 PM
I've read all this thread but there were nothing about it. What's with walkovers, should I count them as normal win?

DJDVD
Jul 24th, 2013, 04:55 PM
I've read all this thread but there were nothing about it. What's with walkovers, should I count them as normal win?

A walkover is just a normal win ;)

wozniackiaus
Mar 14th, 2014, 07:22 AM
when will the updated rankings be up?

DJDVD
Mar 15th, 2014, 06:30 PM
when will the updated rankings be up?

Kate is very busy at the moment. When she has time, it will be done ;)

wozniackiaus
Mar 16th, 2014, 12:13 PM
Kate is very busy at the moment. When she has time, it will be done ;)

Thankyou :)

wozniackiaus
May 7th, 2014, 08:04 AM
Can some manager please post the results of Marrakech? I think queen Vika is too busy to do them
:)

DJDVD
May 7th, 2014, 08:08 AM
I can only do it on Sunday.. ;)

If nobody else will do it, I'll do it on Sunday

wozniackiaus
May 7th, 2014, 09:41 AM
Thank you :)