PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone else retired twice in the same tournament?


~Eclipsed~
Oct 17th, 2007, 08:48 PM
Stevenson, the queen of retirements, has managed to retire twice in the same tournament(once in the last round of qualifying and then as a Lucky loser in the MD).

Anyone else know of another player who matched this amazing feat?:D

Just when she's going through a patch of where she's not retiring, she starts this retiring bullshit again.:o

Direwolf
Oct 17th, 2007, 08:56 PM
Why did they pick her as a LL if she retired from the match?

Bruno71
Oct 17th, 2007, 08:58 PM
That's frankly astounding. If anyone was gonna do it, it'd be Alex or Nadia.

frenchie
Oct 17th, 2007, 09:01 PM
No but Justine retired in a GS final and Fed Cup final the same year:tape: :tape:

Tennisation
Oct 17th, 2007, 09:02 PM
gosh that's amazing, I don't think anyone will ever be able to match Lexi's accomplishment

Poova
Oct 17th, 2007, 09:10 PM
:spit: Pathetic. Wtf is with Alex anyway? When she actually bothers she can reach the SF of a $50k tournament, but most of the time she just doesn't even care. :lol:

RJWCapriati
Oct 17th, 2007, 09:12 PM
That is impressive!

Cam'ron Giles
Oct 17th, 2007, 09:37 PM
Thats my girl...committed to her job...she had to start her shift at the McDonalds...:o

CrossCourt~Rally
Oct 17th, 2007, 09:47 PM
Thats my girl...committed to her job...she had to start her shift at the McDonalds...:o

:lol:

Tennisation
Oct 17th, 2007, 09:52 PM
Thats my girl...committed to her job...she had to start her shift at the McDonalds...:oLexi heard Serena was planning to stop by for her usual therapy (tripple cheese burger, larger fries, and a diet coke) after a horrible loss

Aaron.
Oct 17th, 2007, 09:56 PM
Lexy needs to stop retiring in the 2nd set and retire in the 1st or she will be late for her shifts and still will be working the drive thru :mad:

gaggleguy
Oct 17th, 2007, 10:24 PM
how in the fuck can you get a LL spot if you retire in qualifying?

the WTA need to make a rule against that, pronto

Stevenson :fatlazypig:

Ellery
Oct 17th, 2007, 10:26 PM
:tape:

Drake1980
Oct 17th, 2007, 10:34 PM
how in the fuck can you get a LL spot if you retire in qualifying?

the WTA need to make a rule against that, pronto

Stevenson :fatlazypig:

:eek:

Hachiko
Oct 17th, 2007, 10:59 PM
So what exactly is this mystery injury that continues to plague her?

It shouldn't be legal.

homogenius
Oct 17th, 2007, 11:11 PM
Well, at least the girl is consistent.

auntie janie
Oct 17th, 2007, 11:43 PM
There is probably no rule about it because no one ever had the chutzpah to try it before. :o The tournament director probably had doubts about allowing it, but I guess with Samantha screaming in his/her ears, probably threatening to make trouble, they decided to let Alex go ahead and play again .... Would have been worse if she had won that MD match. :p

But I bet we'll see a new rule next year to prevent this. :angel:

Jakeev
Oct 18th, 2007, 02:09 AM
No but Justine retired in a GS final and Fed Cup final the same year:tape: :tape:

But that wasn't the question now was it?

Jguerrica
Oct 18th, 2007, 03:08 AM
I was there today to witness it......Alex was sooooooo annoyed with her Mom after the match ( I never realized her mom was so old ) Raquel Kops-Jones was very cute though, it was almost like she expected it! Too funny today- Also, it looked like Mashona re-injured herself. She called for a trainer during her doubles match today---sooooo sad!!

ZeroSOFInfinity
Oct 18th, 2007, 03:23 AM
No but Justine retired in a GS final and Fed Cup final the same year:tape: :tape:

Well, she's a 7-time GS champion, and you're an asshole. :tape:

AcesHigh
Oct 18th, 2007, 03:59 AM
Why does anyone still follow her career? :lol: I guess we could use some laughs.

Marcus1979
Oct 18th, 2007, 04:11 AM
Why does anyone still follow her career? :lol: I guess we could use some laughs.

learn some respect :rolleyes: :mad:

~Eclipsed~
Oct 18th, 2007, 06:29 AM
So what exactly is this mystery injury that continues to plague her?

It shouldn't be legal.

ongoing shoulder injury.

So Disrespectful
Oct 18th, 2007, 06:53 AM
So what exactly is this mystery injury that continues to plague her?


Losing. It affects her in nearly every match :sad:

Andy T
Oct 18th, 2007, 08:46 AM
I think the WTA should go for "L" instead of "LL" next to Alex's name: we all know Alex is a loser but "lucky"?

markhingis
Oct 18th, 2007, 08:50 AM
how in the fuck can you get a LL spot if you retire in qualifying?

the WTA need to make a rule against that, pronto

Stevenson :fatlazypig:

maybe she retired from Q cause of stomachache:) when the pain was gone she could play in MD as a LL.
That's my funny explanation :)

jonny84
Oct 18th, 2007, 04:26 PM
Shouldnt be allowed. If you retire at a tournament in qualies that should be it.