PDA

View Full Version : If Hingis enters the U.S. Open as a wildcard, will she be seeded?


saki
Jul 17th, 2002, 11:27 AM
I was just wondering whether anyone knew.

Nimi
Jul 17th, 2002, 11:30 AM
she will be seeded, yes

lrg bllt
Jul 17th, 2002, 11:37 AM
i didn't think she would be :|

conchita
Jul 17th, 2002, 11:51 AM
DEFINATELY-it would be so good if she got mauresmo's draw for once, then she definately could make it to the semi's or finals quite easily.

:)

wave
Jul 17th, 2002, 12:24 PM
Of course she will be seeded. She is still in the top ten, isn't she? The seeding will follow the rankings. She needs the wildcard because she has not committed at the right time.

Vincent
Jul 17th, 2002, 12:39 PM
it's so strange if Hingis will not be seeded.
but the main question is, will she enter the U.S Open, still unknown.

selesfan
Jul 17th, 2002, 12:54 PM
DEFINATELY-it would be so good if she got mauresmo's draw for once, then she definately could make it to the semi's or finals quite easily

Amelie beat her the last 2 times they played, I'm sure she can do it again.;)

Sonja
Jul 17th, 2002, 12:56 PM
:D what selesfan said! :D

Bezz
Jul 17th, 2002, 02:22 PM
Hingis will beat Mauresmo, they havernt played in over a year and that was on clay. This break will do Hingis good, she doesnt go into every tournement as the one to beat so doesnt have the pressure she did. :-)

Sonja
Jul 17th, 2002, 02:36 PM
As we don't know yet whether Martina is even playing this tournament, I don't see the point of Hingis beating Mauresmo being brought up, except to start a flame war.

The fact is: Both players have scored wins over the other and each is capable of beating the other.

Let's just hope for Martina's speedy recovery so she can get back to tennis.

Bezz
Jul 17th, 2002, 03:07 PM
If yu dont see any point in bringing up a Mauresmo vs Hingis match why did yu agree with what Selsfan said, it was the exact opposite of what i said:rolleyes:

Sonja
Jul 17th, 2002, 03:18 PM
I wasn't referring to you Bezza, I was referring to conchita's post, which irritated me and made me want to come to Amelie's defense. Then I saw your post and reconsidered my thoughts, as you were coming to Martina's defense due to mine and selesfan's post.

Summary: I'm thinking that perhaps this thread ought to be about Martina, as the topic starter probably intended, hence my second post.

Bezz
Jul 17th, 2002, 03:23 PM
oh i get yu now :-)

Volcana
Jul 17th, 2002, 04:45 PM
She'll be seeded. But will they seed her #8? She'd be #9 or #10 by then, and being guaranteed a tough 4th round match may factor into her decision.

Ryan
Jul 17th, 2002, 05:06 PM
I'd think they'd seed her #8. If thye dont, she has a good chance of facing Henin, Seles, Mauresmo, Kim, Jelena etc. So there is a good hcance she won't have a tough 4 round, or even QF.

FP
Jul 17th, 2002, 06:50 PM
I thought if u get wild card u cannot be seeded no matter what ranking u have...

darren cahill
Jul 17th, 2002, 08:41 PM
No thats not the case at all, like someone else said, the wildcard just gets you into the event after the deadline passed, the seeding goes by ranking. One example I know for sure, back in 1991, after Steffi lost at the Lipton event in the semis i believe, she asked the houston event to hold a wild card since she wasnt intially entered. She lost at the lipton and then took the wild card and was seeded # 2 ( i believe, but not sure, either 1 or 2) and beat Monica in the final 64 63.

Couver
Jul 17th, 2002, 08:44 PM
This a bit confusing. I'm assuming she will be seeded since she's still in the top ten. I think she's just taking the wild card because she's not sure of her health yet.

darren cahill
Jul 17th, 2002, 08:50 PM
yeah I dont really get it either. I mean why not just enter the event and if you arent ready, you withdraw, no harm done. Instead of making someone hold a wildcard for you and then if you dont take it, someone else could have had it. I understand the wildcard in terms of entering an event you hadnt planned on playing (like when pete asked queens club to hold a wildcard at one point) but in Martinas case, i dont know why she just wouldnt submit an entry just in case. Either way, you are seeded regardless if its a wildcard or not. if you would have been seeded without one, you get seeded with one.

saki
Jul 17th, 2002, 09:10 PM
Originally posted by FP
I thought if u get wild card u cannot be seeded no matter what ranking u have...

That's what I thought, but it appears not to be the case. Good cos otherwise I think Martina would be very unlikely to take a WC.

ChrisGermany
Jul 17th, 2002, 09:35 PM
Didnt you get it ? ;)

To be "in" she would have had to tell that "in time" but she didnt - no matter why - she decided on that issue too late.

Now she needs a WC.

If shes to be ranked 9th or 10th what she is to be seeded definetly with points from LA and San Diego dropping of and the others gaining points, she is to face seeds 5-8 and in no way is the USTA seeding Hingis better than her ranking, I believe

That makes her to face Henin and Seles early and no matter how her fans judge that I think realistically its a hard time to face such a player without preparation in just her 4th match of a comeback and the others doing just great over the rest of the season and with preparation

So that might be it for her to discuss wether or not to play even if she can health-wise