PDA

View Full Version : Does prize money count like ranking points?


twight6
Sep 15th, 2007, 07:11 PM
What I mean is, if you get a bye in round 1, but lose in round 2, you only get round 1 ranking points.

Does the same work for prize money, or do you get round 2 prize money?

Tennace
Sep 15th, 2007, 07:13 PM
Whoah, good question, I never thought about that. Im not sure :shrug:

:speakles: We have a useful thread in GM :eek: :worship:

twight6
Sep 15th, 2007, 07:16 PM
Whoah, good question, I never thought about that. Im not sure :shrug:

:speakles: We have a useful thread in GM :eek: :worship:

:lol:

I wonder if anyone knows :shrug:

AnnaK_4ever
Sep 15th, 2007, 07:21 PM
Official WTA Tour rules. All explanations are there.

Players get prize money depending on round reached unless tournament is not finished due to bad weather.

twight6
Sep 15th, 2007, 07:29 PM
Official WTA Tour rules. All explanations are there.

Players get prize money depending on round reached unless tournament is not finished due to bad weather.

I just found the answer:

If a player of team recieves one (1) or more consecutive byes and loses her/their 1st match played, 1st round losers' points will be awarded and the player or team shall receive Prize Money for the round reached.

This one kind of surprised me:
If a player or team withdraws in the semifinals or finals, their Prize Money is calculated per the round they withdrew less 50% of the difference between that round and the previous round. Such 50% shall be retained by the Tournament. :eek:

I didn't realize that... so if I withrdew from the semis and would normally get 75,000 for losing... I would get 75,000 minus the difference between qf/sf money... so if quarterfinal money was 50,000, I'd get 75,000-(75,000-50,00)/2... so 62,500 :eek:

CarlaValenti
Sep 15th, 2007, 07:45 PM
If you lose in second round, you'll receive the second round price.

jonny84
Sep 15th, 2007, 10:55 PM
It benefits the top players for sure in this situation. But nowadays there aren't many byes anyway and its hardly ever that players who have had a bye go onto lose on the second round.

Kworb
Sep 15th, 2007, 10:59 PM
I just found the answer:

If a player of team recieves one (1) or more consecutive byes and loses her/their 1st match played, 1st round losers' points will be awarded and the player or team shall receive Prize Money for the round reached.

This one kind of surprised me:
If a player or team withdraws in the semifinals or finals, their Prize Money is calculated per the round they withdrew less 50% of the difference between that round and the previous round. Such 50% shall be retained by the Tournament. :eek:

I didn't realize that... so if I withrdew from the semis and would normally get 75,000 for losing... I would get 75,000 minus the difference between qf/sf money... so if quarterfinal money was 50,000, I'd get 75,000-(75,000-50,00)/2... so 62,500 :eek:
Wow so Justine lost a lot of money when she withdrew at the Aussie Open

Serenidad.
Sep 15th, 2007, 11:27 PM
Wow so Justine lost a lot of money when she withdrew at the Aussie Open

She didn't want to give Mauresmo a 6-1 6-0 to go down as the most lopsided final in decent history even if she was injured 6-1 6-0 still looks bad. I would have taken the retirement, 1/2 the money, and all the bad press.

twight6
Sep 15th, 2007, 11:41 PM
Wow so Justine lost a lot of money when she withdrew at the Aussie Open

no, because she didn't withdraw... she retired.