PDA

View Full Version : Mariana Alves is umpiring Jankovic vs Vaidisova Sydney SF


Inspiration
Jan 11th, 2007, 03:34 AM
In case you don't know who Mariana Alves is she was the umpire at US Open 2004 Capriati vs Serena and we all know what happened there :rolleyes:

Don't expect too many good calls in this match :rolleyes:

Leo_DFP
Jan 11th, 2007, 03:41 AM
Does this deserve a thread? I'm pretty sure she's been working consistently since that match. I think she was only suspended for the rest of USO '04 after the Serena/Jen debacle.

(Boy, would Shot Spot have been great there!... or any replay system at all, lol)

LoveFifteen
Jan 11th, 2007, 03:44 AM
It's nice to see you've moved on.

lynch79
Jan 11th, 2007, 03:44 AM
Does this deserve a thread? I'm pretty sure she's been working consistently since that match. I think she was only suspended for the rest of USO '04 after the Serena/Jen debacle.

(Boy, would Shot Spot have been great there!... or any replay system at all, lol)

Just imagine the replay/hawk eye system during that match..it would have shown the ball MILES out, how would Alves have reacted? or Serena?:eek: :lol:

TheBoiledEgg
Jan 11th, 2007, 03:46 AM
its not like its her 1st match since :o

partbrit
Jan 11th, 2007, 04:02 AM
Don't expect too many good calls in this match

Actually, Alvez was close to blameless in that incident. They broke the rules and made her work too many matches back to back. There is a reason the back-to-back restrictions are in place. Unfortunately, Alvez got all the flak, and the ones who caused the problem got off with no adverse publicity.

RJWCapriati
Jan 11th, 2007, 04:34 AM
:bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:


She is my favorite......she has a great voice :)

stevos
Jan 11th, 2007, 04:35 AM
Just imagine the replay/hawk eye system during that match..it would have shown the ball MILES out, how would Alves have reacted? or Serena?:eek: :lol:

That match is the reason why Hawkeye got around to being used.

Hayato
Jan 11th, 2007, 04:37 AM
Who cares? She made a mistake, wow. Move on...

tenn_ace
Jan 11th, 2007, 04:38 AM
The only country she is not welcome to to chair matches is the USA.

miss_molik
Jan 11th, 2007, 04:53 AM
What happened at that match?

iMe
Jan 11th, 2007, 04:56 AM
What happened at that match?

Serena hit a shot down the line against Capriati at a crucial stage in the match that was like 3 feet in :weirdo: and she overruled the call from the other side of the court away from her resulting Capriati with the point :eek:

piercerocks
Jan 11th, 2007, 05:31 AM
1 point wasnt going to give serena the match.

in wimbledon final 2005, venus hit a serve that was wide AND long but they still called it in

this happens all the time so i dont understand why serena should get so much publicity

Leo_DFP
Jan 11th, 2007, 05:48 AM
1 point wasnt going to give serena the match.

in wimbledon final 2005, venus hit a serve that was wide AND long but they still called it in

this happens all the time so i dont understand why serena should get so much publicity

Serena not just lost the point but the game - the first game of the 3rd set. It could have changed the result of the match, you have no idea nor does anybody. And while bad calls happen all the time, that was one of the worst I have ever seen PLUS it was an overrule by the umpire on the other side of the court.

SpankMe
Jan 11th, 2007, 06:03 AM
Actually, Alvez was close to blameless in that incident. They broke the rules and made her work too many matches back to back. There is a reason the back-to-back restrictions are in place. Unfortunately, Alvez got all the flak, and the ones who caused the problem got off with no adverse publicity.
:worship: :yeah:

GrandSlam05
Jan 11th, 2007, 06:06 AM
Serena not just lost the point but the game - the first game of the 3rd set. It could have changed the result of the match, you have no idea nor does anybody. And while bad calls happen all the time, that was one of the worst I have ever seen PLUS it was an overrule by the umpire on the other side of the court.
Yes, Serena lost the game and, yes, it was a horrible call. But I believe Serena broke right back in the next game didn't she? Bottom line that was a winnable match for Serena. The calls didn't help, but at the end she just couldn't get the job done.
And if the hawkeye system had been in place at the time Alves would NOT have overruled that call in the first place.
And to the person who said the ball was like "3 feet in". I'd say more like 3 inches, but whatever it was clearly in. :lol: