PDA

View Full Version : Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?


Cat's Pajamas
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:18 AM
I just noticed this on the H2H records on wtatour.com and here is an example:

http://www.sonyericssonwtatour.com/2/players/playerprofiles/playerheadtoheaddetail.asp?PlayerID=310338&Player1ID=230220


they're doing it on every W/O match it seems :scratch:

Was there some rule change, if there that's stupid IMO :(

Natalicious
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:20 AM
i think so

http://www.sonyericssonwtatour.com/2/players/playerprofiles/playerheadtoheaddetail.asp?PlayerID=311710&Player1ID=100153&x=3&y=9

LH2HBH
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:34 AM
It counts as a win. If it didn't it would be unfair to the person who showed up at the match if they did not get to count their win.

Ben.
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:34 AM
that's just completely pathetic of the WTA counting W/O's as wins on H2H's :smash: even when a player didn't even strike the 1st ball before their withdrawl.

LH2HBH
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:37 AM
that's just completely pathetic of the WTA counting W/O's as wins on H2H's :smash: even when a player didn't even strike the 1st ball before their withdrawl.

Nothing personal, but I simply don't agree.

It's not your fault that your opponent has withdrawn, you should still get your win! You were the one who took care of your body and were prepared for the match.

You shouldn't be penalized because of the other players injury/illnness, right!?

Cat's Pajamas
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:40 AM
Nothing personal, but I simply don't agree.

It's not your fault that your opponent has withdrawn, you should still get your win! You were the one who took care of your body and were prepared for the match.

You shouldn't be penalized because of the other players injury/illnness, right!?

I see your point but I don't agree with you :p

Its not necessarily my fault I rolled my ankle or got a stomach ache :tape:

Obviously the player still gets the win, as they get the points, money, and move on in the tournament. It's a win but I don't think it should count as a win against the other player. You didn't beat them, they didn't even get to hit the ball. You simply won by default :shrug:

LH2HBH
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:44 AM
I see your point but I don't agree with you :p

Its not necessarily my fault I rolled my ankle or got a stomach ache :tape:

Obviously the player still gets the win, as they get the points, money, and move on in the tournament. It's a win but I don't think it should count as a win against the other player. You didn't beat them, they didn't even get to hit the ball. You simply won by default :shrug:

I hear you I hear you, but you didn't even get a chance to prove that you COULD beat them!

The Daviator
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:53 AM
Lindsay is officially tied with Kim now :D

Although Serena now leads 11-4 :help:

Slampova
Dec 9th, 2006, 11:59 AM
Urgh, thats totally pointless :( One of the stupidest things the WTA have done for ages..... Masha is now 1-4 against Mauresmo :(

Craigy
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:04 PM
That sucks :ras:

saki
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:05 PM
I think W/Os should count in win/loss stats but not in head to heads because it doesn't really tell you anything about how two players match up if the stat is partially composed of W/Os.

Paneru
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:06 PM
Nothing personal, but I simply don't agree.

It's not your fault that your opponent has withdrawn, you should still get your win! You were the one who took care of your body and were prepared for the match.

You shouldn't be penalized because of the other players injury/illnness, right!?

Ofcourse, you should get your win.

Amelie got the Berlin Trophy in 04' w/o
striking a ball because Venus rolled her
ankle n the previous match the day before.

However, aside from getting the points for
winning and the trophy, it should not go down
in the record books as a win for Amelie over Venus
in their h2h statistics because she never played the match.

In the old ranking system with bonus points, one didn't receive
the bonus points when they got a W/O from their opponent in
whatever round it came. So, IMO this is akin to that or should be.


I swear, Larry Scott and his group of fucktards get
more retarded by the day! Strike that, by the hour!

Craigy
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:07 PM
Serena leads Venus 8-7 now :rolls: :D
http://www.sonyericssonwtatour.com/2/players/playerprofiles/playerheadtoheaddetail.asp?PlayerID=230220&Player1ID=230234

Craigy
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:09 PM
Serena now leads Mauresmo 10-2 :banana:
http://www.sonyericssonwtatour.com/2/players/playerprofiles/playerheadtoheaddetail.asp?PlayerID=230234&Player1ID=130450

Erika_Angel
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:23 PM
Who honestly cares? Head to Heads don't mean anything, they are just nifty little stats to show at the start of a match, and to constantly argue over on internet message boards.

Craigy
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:30 PM
Who honestly cares? Head to Heads don't mean anything, they are just nifty little stats to show at the start of a match, and to constantly argue over on internet message boards.

Well you know what it's like during the off-season :p

Erika_Angel
Dec 9th, 2006, 12:47 PM
Well you know what it's like during the off-season :p

Yes, yes I do :cool:

:lol:

So Disrespectful
Dec 10th, 2006, 12:55 AM
They had to introduce that, otherwise everyone would have a win over Stevenson on their H2H ;)

Mother_Marjorie
Dec 10th, 2006, 12:58 AM
Someone may want to inform SJW and Paco of this development.

hablo
Dec 10th, 2006, 01:00 AM
Serena now leads Mauresmo 10-2 :banana:
http://www.sonyericssonwtatour.com/2/players/playerprofiles/playerheadtoheaddetail.asp?PlayerID=230234&Player1ID=130450

:haha:

DutchieGirl
Dec 10th, 2006, 02:53 AM
Nothing personal, but I simply don't agree.

It's not your fault that your opponent has withdrawn, you should still get your win! You were the one who took care of your body and were prepared for the match.

You shouldn't be penalized because of the other players injury/illnness, right!?

They never used to be counted. :shrug: I don't really care either way.

DutchieGirl
Dec 10th, 2006, 02:55 AM
I hear you I hear you, but you didn't even get a chance to prove that you COULD beat them!

yeah so it was a non match - no one played, so no one technically "won" because the match was not played. They player who was there to play still gets the points and the extra money.

DutchieGirl
Dec 10th, 2006, 02:56 AM
Ofcourse, you should get your win.

Amelie got the Berlin Trophy in 04' w/o
striking a ball because Venus rolled her
ankle n the previous match the day before.

However, aside from getting the points for
winning and the trophy, it should not go down
in the record books as a win for Amelie over Venus
in their h2h statistics because she never played the match.

In the old ranking system with bonus points, one didn't receive
the bonus points when they got a W/O from their opponent in
whatever round it came. So, IMO this is akin to that or should be.


I swear, Larry Scott and his group of fucktards get
more retarded by the day! Strike that, by the hour!

:lol: :worship:

Ben.
Dec 10th, 2006, 02:57 AM
ah well. all we know now is that W/O's count as wins in H2H records on the WTA. can't do anything bout it now.

drake3781
Dec 10th, 2006, 03:04 AM
Anybody know how WTA comes up with rule changes? Do they have a committee - and who is on that committee - and what kind of vote is needed? Or do they consult with players/others? Or does one person only make these decisions? :weirdo:

Stamp Paid
Dec 10th, 2006, 03:49 AM
Who cares?
I'm sure Venus doesnt care that her H2H is tied with Domachowska. it means nothing in the long run.

Tenisci
Dec 10th, 2006, 06:30 AM
Yes I reliazed it yesterday, too

DutchieGirl
Dec 10th, 2006, 06:50 AM
Anybody know how WTA comes up with rule changes? Do they have a committee - and who is on that committee - and what kind of vote is needed? Or do they consult with players/others? Or does one person only make these decisions? :weirdo:

Larry Scott? ;)

Ben.
Dec 10th, 2006, 08:19 AM
ah well H2H's to me don't really matter.

Brian Stewart
Dec 10th, 2006, 08:35 AM
Are they just counting them in h2h, or have they added them in to the player W/L stats as well? For example, Chanda finished the year with 399 official singles wins, not counting w/o's. If you add those in (such as the one she got from Venus at the PPO a couple of years ago), she would be over 400.

I don't think they should be counted in either case, but if they're doing one, they should do the other.

Kim's_fan_4ever
Dec 10th, 2006, 08:54 AM
That's stupid but actually no one really cares about it :shrug:

aussie_fan
Dec 10th, 2006, 09:06 AM
That would just stuff up the Head-toHead stats. When you're thinking who's going to win a match, walkovers aren't going to matter at all.

vswfan
Dec 10th, 2006, 09:09 AM
its really strange. Serena will be surprised that her record against Penneta is 0-1 lol She definitely doesnt remember that they had a match in 05 Toronto.

but one thing i want to say is that if WTA count walkover as a win, they should update players win-loss record. or people will be confused

Ben.
Dec 10th, 2006, 09:14 AM
That would just stuff up the Head-toHead stats. When you're thinking who's going to win a match, walkovers aren't going to matter at all.

True, but the WTA are just too bloody stupid to realise what mistake they just made. but what can you do?

Dan23
Dec 10th, 2006, 09:19 AM
It seems people do care about it :p
I dont think they should be counted....unless the match started not much winning was done, some players may still have still won if they played injured anyway :o
An easy passage to the next round is a good enough result.