PDA

View Full Version : Pop-up ads


Sam L
Nov 13th, 2006, 08:00 AM
Hi guys,

I've been using Mozilla Firefox for over a year now. Until recently, I never really got pop-up ads. But now I do. It's not just when I visit WTAWORLD but other web pages too like Google! I'm also confused because whilst I use Mozilla, the pop-up ad screens are in IE?!

So is this an IE problem (which I still have on my computer but I never use) or is it a Mozilla problem?

I want them gone!

Thanks.

griffin
Nov 13th, 2006, 05:43 PM
I could be wrong, but it sounds like spyware to me.

Try downloading a good spyware program - I've had a lot of luck with Spybot Search and Destroy http://www.spybot.info/ - and install it.

Then, regardless of the prgram you use, restart your computer in SAFE MODE, and run the scan. It's very important to have your machine in safe mode - many kinds of spyware start up with your computer, making it very hard for the removal programs to suss them out. Safe mode prevents them from doing this (it means your computer starts up with only the bare essentials).

Sam L
Nov 20th, 2006, 01:17 PM
I could be wrong, but it sounds like spyware to me.

Try downloading a good spyware program - I've had a lot of luck with Spybot Search and Destroy http://www.spybot.info/ - and install it.

Then, regardless of the prgram you use, restart your computer in SAFE MODE, and run the scan. It's very important to have your machine in safe mode - many kinds of spyware start up with your computer, making it very hard for the removal programs to suss them out. Safe mode prevents them from doing this (it means your computer starts up with only the bare essentials).
Thanks griff, you're the best. :hearts: I tried it and it's a lot better. In fact, I never get them anymore. But I did get one just the other day out of nowhere. Odd but it's a lot better. :)

Mileen
Nov 20th, 2006, 03:00 PM
How can you start your computer in safe mode?

griffin
Nov 20th, 2006, 03:22 PM
It varies by model and operating system, but it's usually a combination of restarting and hitting one of the function keys as the machine restarts.

Your computer's "help" files should tell you how.

Infiniti2001
Nov 20th, 2006, 03:24 PM
How can you start your computer in safe mode?

Reboot the computer, start pressing the F8 key after all the rigmaroll (diagnostics lol) and choose Safe Mode

fufuqifuqishahah
Nov 20th, 2006, 03:31 PM
i like that lowbudget commercial with the eastern european girl where she asks you "is your computer just acting WEIIIIIRD" and "WOooOOoRms" and later she says "pop-up blocker" but she says it all cool and shieeet