PDA

View Full Version : Are there any pc experts here?..I need your help..


Beny
Aug 24th, 2006, 10:19 AM
Hi people..I`d like to ask you a favour. Could you help me?
I`ve bought a new monitor. It`s a kind of unusual one.iiyama- ProLiteE1900WS.
It`s a wide screen. And it keeps showing me this message-> Resolution notice
For the best picture quality, change your resolution to 1440x900.
Otherwise, everything is stretched. At the moment,my resolution is 1280x1024 but still everything is stretched.
When I right click on Desktop->properties->Settings..I can`t choose the resolution 1440x900 because it`s not there. There are only 800x600,1024x768,1280x900 and 1280x1024 you can choose.

Could you tell me how can I achieve this resolution?
thanx very much in advance

wipeout
Aug 24th, 2006, 11:52 AM
Monitors have drivers. These are little bits of software that allow them to work correctly.

Did you get a disk with the monitor? The driver will be on that. You should install that.

Beny
Aug 24th, 2006, 12:34 PM
No.no disc here, but there was a link in the manual(actually,the official site- www.iiyama.com and there you can download the drivers and there`s a text document about how to install them,step by step.) I have already done it.It was easy.So the drivers are installed. Look at the link,please, www.iiyama.com. The LCD monitor that will appear at the top of the site(after intro) is mine. There is written: The first widescreen monitor from iiyama. It`s something new and maybe my pc.............
I don`t know. When I bought it I didn`t know it`s a ''special''monitor. I thought it would be the normal one...
It`s ProLite E1900WS 19''
thanx for your help ;)

controlfreak
Aug 24th, 2006, 12:42 PM
could be that your graphics card doesn't support 1440x900... or it may need the very latest drivers to enable support.

otherwise take the monitor back to the shop and exchange it for a standard 19" screen. widescreen monitors are kind of a niche product - if you bought one by accident then you probably want a standard monitor instead.

Beny
Aug 24th, 2006, 01:58 PM
could be that your graphics card doesn't support 1440x900... or it may need the very latest drivers to enable support.

otherwise take the monitor back to the shop and exchange it for a standard 19" screen. widescreen monitors are kind of a niche product - if you bought one by accident then you probably want a standard monitor instead.
yes..the graphic card probably....

Do you think they will take it back and give me another? The man in that pc shop was rather arrogant...but If I have right to do it...

I`ll ask them first how could I achieve that resolution...and if they can not advise me, I will ask for the standard monitor..

thanx

wipeout
Aug 24th, 2006, 10:12 PM
I think you should look for graphics card options -- not the Windows options as you've already been there obviously -- and see if there's a widescreen option there.