PDA

View Full Version : Random question about Martina and RG '99


JCFan
May 6th, 2002, 03:05 AM
I know Martina fans don't want to talk about Roland Garros 1999, but I have a question. Why did she serve underhand twice in that final? Did she ever say in an interview why she did it? And has anyone done that before or since? I have been wondering and thought someone might know. I wasn't much into watching tennis in '99 so I just recently watched a tape of that final. When she did that I couldn't believe it. Was it to try and throw Steffi off, or just basically giving up at that point? Just wondering the reasoning behind it if there was any...thanks.

Mark43
May 6th, 2002, 03:20 AM
Great question. I have wondered about this too, but have never read any quotes from Martina about it. Hope someone knows. It was amazing to watch. I think it freaked Steffi out the first time.

Jordan.
May 6th, 2002, 04:55 AM
She said that she did it to throw her off.And it did,the first time,the second time,Steffi knocked a winner away on it.Steffi said it was good strategy though...:confused:

CanadianBoy21
May 6th, 2002, 05:26 AM
Yeah, Steffi said that AFTER she won the match.

Michael Chang did it at Roland Garros when he won.

I agree, it was a great strategy the FIRST time, but SECOND time, it was stupid, Steffi was ready.


It was I think, the most desperret(sp?) shot EVER hit by Martina, she wanted it so badly, you could see, and that was just amazing to watch, French Open final, against one, if not the best player in the world!

Desperate people, go to desperate measures.

jomar
May 6th, 2002, 05:31 AM
and desperate posters try to post desperately.;)

CanadianBoy21
May 6th, 2002, 05:35 AM
better believe it ;)

deftman
May 6th, 2002, 05:35 AM
Apparently she despearately wanted to win the title,and wanted to save the match points.She knew that Steffi was too good then ,and would beat her on other shots.So she decided to surprise Steffi ,with an underarm. Remember that an underarm is legally allowed.
But I agree ,going for it for the 2nd time was dumb.Perhaps she expected Steffi to think that an underarm serve wouldnt come the 2nd time ,as she had just served one,and probably expected Steffi to expect some other kind of serve ,and wanted to surprise Steffi with an under arm again.
It didnt work anyways :p

jomar
May 6th, 2002, 05:36 AM
I believe you SH.;)

irma
May 6th, 2002, 06:21 AM
provocation!, that's the reason why she flipped out at an unimportant point from her view since she was leading, it's the reason why she served underhands, it's the reason why she went to the toilet, it's the reason why she said today this player is history, it's the reason why she blamed her own behavior on steffi afterwards, and why she did she need provocation? for the simple reason that she has very very much respect for steffi, she thought her own game wasn't good enough so she needed games and it worked in tokio so why not try it again!
and this time she had to pay the price very hard :rolleyes: ;) :p

Kart
May 6th, 2002, 11:00 AM
She did it because she had pretty much run out of ideas.

It was a good idea though - even Steffi smiled after she did it the first time on match point.

Of course, when she did it the second time Steffi was ready ...

Miranda
May 6th, 2002, 11:11 AM
i have a question to ask, isn't it prohibited to serve underarm in a professional match??

Giuliano
May 6th, 2002, 11:14 AM
Nope its not prohibited. The only rule is that you have to hit the ball before it bounces. (And of course you can't step into the court before you hit the ball)

jomar
May 6th, 2002, 11:30 AM
Julien is right miranda. Even Michael Chang did that in winning the Roland Garros trophy.;):kiss:

Giuliano
May 6th, 2002, 11:32 AM
I'm always right *cough* ;).
Chang did that against Lendl in the quarter-finals and Lendl made an UE on the return lol.

jomar
May 6th, 2002, 11:36 AM
obviously Julien is from France.*LOL*:cool: :rolleyes: :cool: :D

Giuliano
May 6th, 2002, 11:39 AM
It's easy to recognize me. I'm the only Martian there :D

jomar
May 6th, 2002, 11:42 AM
that's my BRAVE Julien.hehehe:kiss: :hearts: :kiss:

JCFan
May 6th, 2002, 03:21 PM
Thanks for the replies. I tried to find both of their interviews from '99 but couldn't. It seems like Martina just didn't know what to do at that point and she couldn't think straight. I read something about when Chang did it he was severely cramping and could barely stand. So that explains his serve. But to me it seems like for Martina she was almost just giving up. Of course it also just compounded the crowd's dislike for her which was the worst part. I wonder if she or anyone else would do that now. I doubt it.

Martian Mel
May 6th, 2002, 05:37 PM
From what I know is that Martina was too tired in the end of the match and she couldn't make the whole ''servicemovement'' so she served underarmed because that was more easy and less tirering!


LUv ya Marti!:kiss:

treufreund
May 6th, 2002, 05:47 PM
It's a drop shot- serve. Why would that be a problem at all? Of course it's a sneaky serve but servers in general ALWAYS TRY TO FOOL THE RECEIVER. Drop shots are usually winners because they catch the other player by surprise. That's just pure genius and part of tennis. Anybody who thinks that is bad or against the rules is not logical IMO. Should we get rid of the dropshot or should players not be allowed to "hold shots" until a player goes in the other direction and then hit the volley or passing shot behind them. I guess wrong-footing should not be allowed and you should have to tell the other player whether you will serve slice,topspin, flat and where you will place it and don't ever hit a short changeup serve or junkball or play a moonball. Hell just don't play another but crosscourt deep power shots. :rolleyes:

Justin
May 6th, 2002, 06:59 PM
I thought she hit 2 underhanded serves. The first one, she won the point; the second was a fault. When did Steffi ever knock off a winner on a Hingis' underhanded serve?

Debbie Foy
May 6th, 2002, 07:07 PM
i agees--first underarm gets point for martia, second one is out....stefsti not knows what to expect on second serve from martia....viewers not either...does regular serve....4 shots or so rally..martia hits shot out...stefsti does jumps with smiles to grab trofie....

graf630
May 6th, 2002, 08:36 PM
Martina won the first underhand serve by surprising Steffi.:eek:

Steffi won the second underhand serve because it was no longer a surprise.Martina had run out of answers.:)

Debbie Foy
May 6th, 2002, 08:41 PM
i dont remember match like this--final serve by martia where steffsti wins match--martia do regular serve--maybe i getting to old, getting senile wif memories!!--i could swere second underhand not valid serve, faults for martia....martia resort back to regular serve.... :confused: