View Full Version : Federer, Clijsters named 2005 ITF World Champions

Dec 19th, 2005, 01:05 PM
Federer, Clijsters named 2005 ITF World Champions The ITF announced today that Roger Federer (SUI) and Kim Clijsters (BEL) are ITF World Champions for 2005.

Federer becomes only the sixth man to be named ITF World Champion for two consecutive years, following Bjorn Borg,John McEnroe, Ivan Lendl, Pete Sampras and Lleyton Hewitt. The 24-year-old defended his Wimbledon and US Open titles, winning a total of 11 titles for the second consecutive year. He maintained the world No. 1 ranking throughout the year, posting an 81-4 overall win-loss record. .

Clijsters is the second Belgian in three years to be named Women’s World Champion following Justine Henin-Hardenne in 2003, and narrowly edged out year-end world No. 1 Lindsay Davenport for the honour. The 22-year-old captured her first major title at the 2005 US Open, winning a tour-high nine titles during the year.

The ITF’s selection of its World Champions is based on an objective system that considers not only performances at the Grand Slam events, on the respective tours and at the season-ending events, but also gives weight to performances in the two ITF international team competitions, Davis Cup and Fed Cup.

The ITF also announced that Bob and Mike Bryan (USA) USA), and Lisa Raymond (USA) and Samantha Stosur (AUS) are ITF Doubles World Champions for 2005.

Donald Young g (USA)) has become the youngest ever ITF Junior Boys’ World Champion.

Viktoria Azarenka (BLR) finishes the year as ITF Junior Girls’ World Champion.

The ITF Wheelchair World Champions are Michael Jeremiasz (FRA) and Esther Vergeer NED).

Dec 19th, 2005, 01:37 PM
go kimmie:D

Dec 19th, 2005, 02:24 PM
who won in 2004?"