PDA

View Full Version : Retirements.


Hayato
Jul 23rd, 2005, 10:06 PM
I think that retirements shouldn't count as PAWs, because it affects the match in the wrong way. For example, Palermo first round Pironkova d. Farina Elia 7-6 2-0 ret. and people who PAWed Pironkova got 20 points for that :lol: (by the way Avram Bakalina, i know that Pironkova is a good player, but Farina Elia is better). There are many other cases in which retirements have affected tournaments, and i just think that the winner may in fact have lost to the loser, had they not been injured and shouldn't count as PAWs and a replacement PAW should be made ;)

SpikeyAidanm
Jul 24th, 2005, 03:37 AM
what annoys me is:

Pennetta def Bartoli 2-1 ret
Bovina def Groenefeld 4-3 ret
Shaughnessy def Krajicek 3-4 ret

Those definately should not be counted IMO.

millenia
Jul 24th, 2005, 03:40 AM
I think that sometime the retirements work for 50% chance you get that PAW correct. But I just don`t think they should count.

Mateo Mathieu
Jul 24th, 2005, 03:49 AM
I disagree ;) Retirements is part of lost, therefore, it's counted! ;)

Hayato
Jul 24th, 2005, 04:17 AM
what annoys me is:

Pennetta def Bartoli 2-1 ret
Bovina def Groenefeld 4-3 ret
Shaughnessy def Krajicek 3-4 ret

Those definately should not be counted IMO.

can't you change the rules? :lol:

Hayato
Jul 24th, 2005, 04:18 AM
I disagree ;) Retirements is part of lost, therefore, it's counted! ;)

no, a loss is when the other person wins match point.

rrfnpump
Jul 24th, 2005, 09:03 AM
We have to pick the person that comes to the next round. And by retirement a player comes to the next round.
But if you use that logic a walkover should aslo be counted.....

So in my opinion retirements should not count (but if retirements do not count the manager of the tournament has more work as everybody can replace the pick and it may be confusing.

SilK
Jul 24th, 2005, 10:17 AM
Didn't Clijsters retire in a match after having match point, somewhere on clay this year? :o

LefandePatty
Jul 24th, 2005, 12:31 PM
Didn't Clijsters retire in a match after having match point, somewhere on clay this year? :o

Patty! :)
Kim :sad:

jrm
Jul 24th, 2005, 05:55 PM
When i do bets (real ones, for money) ... if a player retires the bet is automatically off!

William Hunt
Jul 29th, 2005, 08:48 PM
A walkover should never count but a retirement should because the match did start !