PDA

View Full Version : HELP - I'm sick and tired of this computer problem...


Paldias
Oct 9th, 2004, 10:16 PM
OKAY, now I'm pissed. As I've told you my stupid brother went to fatchicks.com as a joke on my computer and now I have all these viruses on my computer and I can't seem to get rid of them.

Whenever I run spybot I get rid of the stuff but it seems to come back. Whenever I run Norton Anti-Virus it says it's be contained but it comes back.

It keeps warning me that I have this MHTML.Redir.exploit (something like that) kind of virus. And then whenever that warning comes up thousands of different of windows of porn come up and then cause my to have to start my computer.

Also what else happens before this explosion of crap comes on this little Microsoft Internet Explorer box comes up that says Close this window? And then I click OK, or the X and then it all starts.

PLEASE either tell me how to fix this on here or add me on MSN Messenger at alex_treiber@msn.com

GoDominique
Oct 9th, 2004, 10:22 PM
:treiberses:

Martian Willow
Oct 9th, 2004, 10:31 PM
If it is MHTML.Redir.exploit you should have downloaded an MS patch. Search for that phrase with google or on the Norton site or maybe MS itself and you should find it.

Paldias
Oct 10th, 2004, 01:08 AM
Is it possible for you do give me a direct link of what to download? I'm not quite sure what to do...

jean_genie
Oct 10th, 2004, 01:20 AM
Is it possible for you do give me a direct link of what to download? I'm not quite sure what to do...

Go to http://www.help2go.com and post what happened and what's going on with your computer. Sounds like you need the hijack software, but the tech at help2go will either direct you or post your issue at another forum where they take really good care of you. Hope you solve your problems soon.
:wavey:

Martian Willow
Oct 10th, 2004, 01:23 AM
http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/mhtmlredir.exploit.html

There's a link to the MS patch on this page. I don't know which specific one you want because I don't know what OS or Outlook version you have.

Paldias
Oct 23rd, 2004, 10:08 PM
It's still not gone :rolleyes: :sad:

RVD
Oct 23rd, 2004, 10:47 PM
Microsoft has released a patch (MS04-013) specifically to resolve this problem.

You should also, update your Norton Virus definitions, and rerun the virus scan.

Also, it may be necessary to go into and modify your 'System Configuration Utility' and check to insure that your 'Startup' and 'System' configuration definitions have not been altered. to do this...

1. Click 'Start' and select the 'Run' option.
2. type msconfig, and the 'System Configuration Utility' window will be displayed.
3. From here you should see the 'Startup' and 'System' and query them. Be sure to clear the boxes that do not belong to these lists.
If you are unsure what belongs and what doesn't, follow this link...
http://www.answersthatwork.com/library.htm and it should help.

I don't know how computer savy you are, but you may need to locate the closest nerd and pay him/her to help you.

One other thing to consider would be to perform a 'System Restore' back to a point where your system was working. This last one is a long shot, but it's worked for me on many occasions. :)

Good luck :wavey:

griffin
Oct 24th, 2004, 05:14 PM
It's still not gone :rolleyes: :sad:

YOu can also try running Spybot and your antivirus in "Safe Mode" (check your manuals or "help" on your machine for specific instructions). YOu may have to restart in "Safe" and run the scans several times. Basically, the ickware normally starts up with your computer, making it very hard if not impossible for Spybot and Norton to get rid of them - restarting in Safe Mode keeps the viruses and spyware from loading themselves.

azza
Oct 31st, 2004, 03:01 PM
Your brother did it :tape: :haha:

Bullshit you where looking at porn :)

gentenaire
Oct 31st, 2004, 03:05 PM
buy a mac :angel:

Paldias
Oct 31st, 2004, 03:34 PM
Your brother did it :tape: :haha:

Bullshit you where looking at porn :)

Yes I love when fat chicks pop on my computer. It's something about their rolls that turns me on :rolleyes:

Justin
Oct 31st, 2004, 04:18 PM
Can I downlead Spybot for free anywhere, or do I have to pay for it?

Martian Willow
Oct 31st, 2004, 04:25 PM
buy a mac :angel:

And then try upgrading the crappy graphics card. :angel:

Frank
Oct 31st, 2004, 05:39 PM
Can I downlead Spybot for free anywhere, or do I have to pay for it?
http://www.download.com/Spybot-Search-Destroy/3000-8022_4-10289035.html?tag=lst-0-2