PDA

View Full Version : ESPN, Match Point Serena/Jen etc.


VS Fan
Jun 2nd, 2004, 11:18 PM
I, like most ordinary folks had to work on Tuesday, and depended on TV guide and ESPN to show tennis according to the schedules they posted prior to Tuesday. Except for the first part, Serena, match COULD have been shown LIVE on Tuesday. I though they would show this match and just maybe peek in on Venus' match.

Of course, while at work I followed the scores in the IBM realtime scoreboard and knew the result before I came home. To my dismay they showed an earlier match taped, then showed most of Venus match live, then showed Mauresmo's match. While the schedule called for Tennis on ESN at 12:00 Noon, they changed the program to other sports. In the 8 to 12 Segment the scroll thad they would show the Serena / Jen match at 3 PM. My second VCR ran out of tape with only a few points played. I was PI**ED.

ESPN really makes me mad when they change thier posted schedule on the fly.

Well I found they were going to show highlights at 10 PM, so I set the VCR.

I got the first set, a few highlights of the second and then the third set, so all was not lost.

Now, to the second point of this post. The MATCH point was really crazy.

As much as I love Serena, the ball clearly landed on the line, which is why Serena netted it. (The ball skidded making her swing too high) The linesman must have been looking at Serena's ASS rather than the ball.

The chair umpire ruled that the shot was good, but because the linesman called it out, they had to replay the point. Had he thought it out it would have been DEUCE. This CLEARLY shows that Serena also KNEW the ball was good, because she did not protest the replay call.

Jen had to win TWO match points in succession to win this match... incredible.

Addendum: It is nice to see Jen and Serena frendly at the net.

Ballbuster
Jun 2nd, 2004, 11:21 PM
Addendum: It is nice to see Jen and Serena frendly at the net.


and that probably why she keeps getting her ass kicked by Jen. Hopefully, this type of pleasantry will stop.

Jericho
Jun 2nd, 2004, 11:41 PM
I'm telling you guys, Capriati and Serena had a pre-arranged agreement...Serena let Capriati win if she convinced Matthew Perry to give a role to Serena in the upcoming Friends Reunion special ;)

RainyDays
Jun 3rd, 2004, 12:02 AM
Hm well, atleast they both seemed to be understanding when they had to reply the point. LMAO did you see stefano get all pissed?

Damn I wish Richard would attend these things more often.

back to the topic.....yes, Serena and Cap i think have like mutual respect for each other now. it's nice to see them being so friendly, because i remember when Cap would absolutely LOSE her temper when she was losing to Rena and then just do the shake at the net and get the hell off the court.

so yes, this new-found respect for each other makes me smile.

mboyle
Jun 3rd, 2004, 12:26 AM
Serena the hypocryte. But no one's making a big deal of THAT issue:tape: .(JHH didn't tell ump that she put her hand up; Serena didn't tell ump that ball was clearly good)

Jarrett
Jun 3rd, 2004, 12:42 AM
The ball was good. Serena heard "out" from the judge and I think it affected her shot. That is why they replayed the point. At least that is my view on the situation.

LeonHart
Jun 3rd, 2004, 02:31 AM
No, when the ball skidded on the line, Serena pointed her fingers out as if to show that it was out. When Jen came up to the net to see if the ball was out, the umpire told her it was in, and they were to replay the point. I really wonder, if Jen was to choke because of that, how much controversy it would cause. Would they implement the "shot-spot" for the umpire? Who knows.

XaDavK_Kapri
Jun 3rd, 2004, 02:33 AM
I'm telling you guys, Capriati and Serena had a pre-arranged agreement...Serena let Capriati win if she convinced Matthew Perry to give a role to Serena in the upcoming Friends Reunion special ;)
:haha: :spit: :yeah:

XaDavK_Kapri
Jun 3rd, 2004, 02:39 AM
We would hear about that for the next 10 years. :o

I mean... Imagine how bad it would have been, Capriati celebrating all over the place, and then to realize she still hasn't won the match and lose it 20 minutes after.

Who knows what would have happened if she would have lose that "second" match point?
I know, I thought about that a lot... But I mean, I didn't want to dwell on that, because the match is over and nothing happened... bUt IF, only the IF scares me to death :scared:

bandabou
Jun 3rd, 2004, 09:25 AM
I hope the friendliness continues when Serena starts winning again too.

bandabou
Jun 3rd, 2004, 09:26 AM
And Serena didnīt point out anything...the line-judge made the call and in Serenaīs position donīt think she could see the ball was in or out. You wanna compare this to the hand?! Come on!

turt
Jun 3rd, 2004, 10:20 AM
Well, Serena is kidding herself if she really thinks she would have brought the ball back, had the linesman not said "OUT!"

I know that whenever a linesman calls a ball out, you have to replay the point if the player was in position to hit the ball, but come on... The ball slipped on the line, there was nothing to do about it! Of course, she did nothing wrong according to the rules. But to me, gamesmanship-wise, it's comparable to "the hand"! :tape:

bandabou
Jun 3rd, 2004, 10:32 AM
Well, Serena is kidding herself if she really thinks she would have brought the ball back, had the linesman not said "OUT!"

I know that whenever a linesman calls a ball out, you have to replay the point if the player was in position to hit the ball, but come on... The ball slipped on the line, there was nothing to do about it! Of course, she did nothing wrong according to the rules. But to me, gamesmanship-wise, it's comparable to "the hand"! :tape:

It doesnīt matter if the player could make a play or not....if the lines-man calls it out and the umpire corrects the call, the point is gonna be re-played.

Now,if you wanna compare that to the hand....hahaha, go ahead. Me personally donīt see the link: denying that you raised your hand or reacting to a call by the linesman.

turt
Jun 3rd, 2004, 11:56 AM
It doesnīt matter if the player could make a play or not....if the lines-man calls it out and the umpire corrects the call, the point is gonna be re-played.

Now,if you wanna compare that to the hand....hahaha, go ahead. Me personally donīt see the link: denying that you raised your hand or reacting to a call by the linesman.
If I were in Serena's position, I would have given the point away because that point was clearly lost, linesman shouting or not.
If I were in Justine's position, I would have said to the referee that the point should be replayed.

In both cases, neither player was forced to do so, and neither did. There's a lot at stake, and sometimes you do things you would never do in a friendly match... And I understand that, it's only natural! But it works both ways...

treufreund
Jun 3rd, 2004, 12:37 PM
Is anyone really surprised by serena's actions? remember the chalk last year flying in her face at wimbledon while calling the ball out? then asking for another first serve after trying to serve before justine was ready(and following it up with an oscar winning performance in her "cry me a river" press conference designed to make justine the villain) the icy death glares designed to intimidate Amelie whom she knew was a choker (yes that was a planned psychological attack), not to mention calling her own sister a bitch during a match and the numerous times in doubles where she has hunted heads (yes it's allowed but not a necessary tactic if ione has talent besides bullying). of course, she was an "amateur" during that match against 3 time grand slam holder Jennifer Capriati and yet nearly won the match. WOW!!! even amateurs can nearly beat jenn. :rolleyes: SERENA, GROW UP!

serena, she is such a sham!

Leo_DFP
Jun 3rd, 2004, 01:20 PM
ESPN played the match again yesterday when they could have been showing Guga/Nalby live. :rolleyes:

Leo_DFP
Jun 3rd, 2004, 01:22 PM
It doesnīt matter if the player could make a play or not....if the lines-man calls it out and the umpire corrects the call, the point is gonna be re-played.
Not always. If it's a winning shot that is called out, which it was, then the point is not re-played when the call is corrected. So Jennifer should have won it right then. Serena was lucky to get a second chance, but Jennifer was able to stay calm.

CapFan#1
Jun 3rd, 2004, 01:32 PM
I was really proud of Jen and how she handled the controversy! She stayed calm, still stuck up for herself, and really kept it together, even when her papa was freaking out! Heinz has really helped Jen in the mental toughness department!! GO JENN!!!