PDA

View Full Version : Why is my Internet connectin so slow?


CanadianBoy21
Feb 21st, 2002, 02:41 PM
Since I am not a computer genuis or anything remotely close, I was wondering if anybody hs any eithers why my internet is so fraking slow sometimes.

I have Aol Canada.
And I've had it for a year or so, and suddenly it started getting slow the last few weeks.
It's pissing me off, because then I got to cancel connection and connect again for it to work normally, and then it slows down again after 5 ten minutes.
Is it the space on the computer, or should I just switch companies?
I have no clue what to do.
By the way, anybody having the same problems?

I better post this now or it might take another 10 minutes :rolleyes:

SM
Feb 21st, 2002, 02:45 PM
whats ur computers specs and what type of connection?.....maybe if ur computer is older u shouldnt be using the most recent version of a BROWSER because theyre more system-resource demanding...
most importantly...what connection? is it a 14.4k , 33.6k dial-up? which if it is u should upgrade to 56k or even better to cable , satellite etc..

im on 33.6k and it runs smoothly and fast for me...however i dont use it to download many mp3s , movies , etc..

JonBcn
Feb 21st, 2002, 07:31 PM
I thought I knew a fair about about computers, and was puzzled as to why my internet was so slow for the first six months I had this pc compared to my last one. Someone else set the pc up for me, so it took me ages to discover...

I have a 56k modem, but what I didnt realise was that the pc also had an internal 9k modem, and when i was clicking on "Connect", it was automatically using that one to connect to the net. So for 6 months I put up with really slow loading, and couldnt download any page in less that a minute, now its connected to the external modem, its like lightning!

check; maybe this is your problem? (Or maybe Im just really thick?!)

Barrie_Dude
Feb 21st, 2002, 07:39 PM
Originally posted by JonBcn
I thought I knew a fair about about computers, and was puzzled as to why my internet was so slow for the first six months I had this pc compared to my last one. Someone else set the pc up for me, so it took me ages to discover...

I have a 56k modem, but what I didnt realise was that the pc also had an internal 9k modem, and when i was clicking on "Connect", it was automatically using that one to connect to the net. So for 6 months I put up with really slow loading, and couldnt download any page in less that a minute, now its connected to the external modem, its like lightning!

check; maybe this is your problem? (Or maybe Im just really thick?!)

Now that sounds like something I'd Do!

Infiniti2001
Feb 21st, 2002, 08:29 PM
Have you purged your cache lately???