Questioning the WTA's rule - TennisForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old Nov 10th, 2006, 02:35 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
FionaZiYi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 57
                     
Question Questioning the WTA's rule

The self-contradiction and inconsequence of WTA's rule

First:

There're some excerpts from WTA's official notes of Championships Madrid:

ROUND-ROBIN TIE-BREAKER RULES
The final standings of each group shall be determined by the first of the following methods that apply:
a. Greatest number of wins
b. Greatest number of matches played
c. Head-to-head results from the Round Robin if only two (2) players are tied, or if three (3) players are tied, then:

i) If three (3) players have one win, a player having played fewer than all three (3) matches is automatically eliminated and the player advancing to the single elimination competition is the winner of the match-up of the two (2) players tied with 1-2 records; or ii) Highest percentage of sets won; or iii) Highest percentage of games won

But before the last day of round-robin, the WTA official notes wrote: If Mauresmo wins in straight sets, she will place No.1 in the Yellow Group. If she wins in three, she will place No.2 in her group. If she loses, she will place No.4.

I believe according to the rules above (Head-to-head results from the Round Robin if only two players are tied), Mauresmo should be No.1 in the group if she beat Henin-Hardenne, no matter in straight sets or in three sets.

Second:

If when only two players are tied, their standings should be decided by head-to-head results, so when three players are tied, their standings also should be decided by "head-to-head results" -- "Highest percentage of sets won" and "Highest percentage of games won" -- AMONG THEM -- not including their match results against the fourth player. I think the current rule is not completely reasonable.

If the rule accommodated, Petrova would move into SF if Henin-Hardenne defeats Mauresmo, not Hingis.

Last edited by FionaZiYi; Nov 10th, 2006 at 02:42 PM.
FionaZiYi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old Nov 10th, 2006, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Masha&Kim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 105
                     
Re: Questioning the WTA's rule

i just read that too....how could it be like that??
if it's the head to head match amelie will be no. 1 no matter 2 or 3 sets...
and if it's the percentage of sets won henin will be the first no matter she loses in 2 or 3 sets right??
cause if amelie wins in 2 sets ...she'll be 4/3 while henin 4/2
and if she wins in 3 she'll be 4/4 while henin 5/2 !!
i'm confused

Last edited by Masha&Kim; Nov 10th, 2006 at 05:00 PM.
Masha&Kim is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Registration Image

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome