Argentina to Open Hyundai Hopman Cup in Schedule Change -
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old Dec 30th, 2004, 06:51 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
jirobkk's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bangkok, THAILAND
Posts: 6,924
Argentina to Open Hyundai Hopman Cup in Schedule Change

News from official website:

Argentina to Open Hyundai Hopman Cup in Schedule Change
28 December 2004

In a schedule change to Group A of the Hyundai Hopman Cup Argentine World Number 7 Guillermo Coria, with teammate Gisela Dulko, will now play their opening tie against Italy’s Davide Sanguinetti & Francesca Schiavone on Sunday 2 January 2005 at 10am. This will be televised live on ABC TV from 10am (Western Standard Time) and 1pm (Eastern Standard time).
No 1 seeds Russia with newly crowned ITF World Champion Anastasia Myskina and world number 4 Marat Safin will now play Germany’s Tommy Haas and Anna-Lena Groenefeld in their opening tie. Session 4 should now become one of the highlight sessions. Anastasia Myskina has had a stellar year highlighted by her win at the French Open, reaching number 2 in the world rankings, led Russia to Fed Cup victory and capped off with being crowned ITF World Champion last week. She plays up and coming young German player Anna-Lena Groenefeld who Peter McNamara says “is Germany’s most promising young female talent for quite some time”.

Haas and Safin’s head to head sit at 2-2 and haven’t met since the 2002 Australian Open semi-final which was a long 5 setter in which Safin came back from 2 sets down to take victory and a place in the Australian Open final. Both these men have had good years, Safin rising back to number 4 in the world and Haas back up to 22 after not playing the early part of the year.

Australia’s chances were enhanced with the earlier announcement that world number one Lindsay Davenport has been replaced by Meghann Shaughnessy. This along with the early arrival of Mark Philippoussis and scintillating form of Alicia Molik augers well for the Australians who have only had one victory in the tournament’s 16 year history.

There will be no change to any Group B ties in which Australia is involved.

Guillermo Coria and Gisela Dulko are playing in their first Hopman Cup. Neither Coria nor Sanguinetti or Dulko and Schiavone have played each other yet in international tennis.

Patrons who have purchased A Reserve or B Reserve tickets to Session 2 or Session 4 can, if they so desire, exchange them for the equivalent reserve in the other session prior to the commencement of Session 2. The same seat cannot be guaranteed.

Hyundai Hopman Cup XVII, to be held from 1-8 January 2005, is the Official Mixed Teams Competition of the ITF. Zimbabwe will play the Netherlands on 1 January commencing at the special time of 3pm. Children under the age of 15 accompanied by an adult will be admitted free. The winner goes into Group B to play against Australia, USA and the Slovak Republic.

Jiro's Facebook
My favorite players are Chris Evert and Jimmy Connors.
Congrats to Tammy for her fourth title in Japan Women's Open 2010.
jirobkk is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome