Originally Posted by jenglisbe
Yes it was a bad mistake and Sprem got a point she shouldn't have. That's all fact. Still, is that ultimately any different than the bad call that was made in the 1st set that would have given Sprem 2 set points? Is it any different than Serena not getting another 1st serve in the SF of Roland Garros last year?
Umpires and lines people make mistakes all the time because, guess what, they're human!! Most matches have an incorrect call, an incorrect decision, etc. Why is this really any different?
It's not really any different, IMHO. It just diverts attention away from the fact that the heavy favorite was outplayed. The "umpire" was the focus. Had that not happened, we'd be hearing about how badly Venus played. In fact, we're starting to hear that too.