- View Single Post - Official Tournament Winners by Event
View Single Post
post #365 of (permalink) Old Nov 4th, 2012, 12:41 PM
country flag newmark401
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12,108
Re: Official Tournament Winners by Event

Spanish International Championships, San Sebastian

The Spanish International Championships tournament was first held in 1903. It usually took place around the beginning of September, on clay. The venue for the tournament was the Recreation Club, located in the city of San Sebastian in north-west Spain, close to the French border. Because of the proximity of San Sebastian to the border with France, the Spanish International Championships were always popular with French players.

For several years a Challenge Round was in force in the men's and women's singles events. It appears that the Spanish International Championships continued until at least World War Two.

Incomplete roll

1905 Maria Rosario de Irujo d. M. Theroulde, walkover
1907 Margarita Jimenez d. Alecia Jimenez 6-1, 6-2
1908 Margarita Jimenez vs Maria Rosario de Irujo [it rained when M. Jimenez was leading by a set and 3-2]
1909 Margarita Jimenez d. Miss Maidment (GBR) 6-2, 6-3
1910 M. Towler (GBR)
1911 M. Towler (GBR) d. Mrs Lent 2-6, 6-4, 6-3
1912 Maria-Luisa Marnet d. Miss Elwell (GBR) [score?]
1913 Magda Aranyi (FRA) d. Miss Elwell (GBR) 4-6, 6-4, 6-4
1915-18 Tournament probably not held due to World War One
1919 Daisy Speranza (FRA)
1920 Daisy Speranza (FRA) d. Mlle Castejon 6-4, 7-5
1921 Mlle Castejon
1922 Germaine le Conte (FRA) d. Mlle Castejon 6-1, 3-3, retired
1923 Suzanne Lenglen (FRA) d. Germaine Le Conte (FRA) 6-1, 6-0
1924 Daisy Speranza-Wyns (FRA) d. Mlle Raoul-Duval 6-3, 6-1

1928 Daisy Speranza-Wyns (FRA) d. Mlle Carré (FRA) [score?]

1934 Simone Passemard Mathieu (FRA) d. Simone Lafargue (FRA) 6-1, 6-4

Last edited by newmark401; Nov 4th, 2012 at 01:39 PM.
newmark401 is offline  
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome