- View Single Post - Official Tournament Winners by Event
View Single Post
post #361 of (permalink) Old Oct 31st, 2012, 08:53 PM
country flag newmark401
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12,111
Re: Official Tournament Winners by Event

Middlesex Championships, Chiswick Park, London

Inaugurated in 1884, the Chiswick Park meeting was for decades one of the most popular tournaments in the British lawn tennis calendar. The first Chiswick Park tournament began in late July and ended in late August. It was described as follows in "The Field Lawn Tennis Calendar" (1885): “The new Chiswick Park Cricket and Lawn Tennis Club grounds, although only opened a very short time ago, had been found to be in such fine order for playing that it was at once resolved to hold a tournament. The notice was, of course, very short, but, notwithstanding this, the committee must be congratulated on the entries that they received.

“The prize list for each competition was of very liberal proportions for a first tournament – first, second and third prizes being offered for Gentlemen’s Singles, Ladies Singles and the Local Championship, and first and second prizes for Gentlemen’s Doubles and Ladies’ and Gentlemen’s Doubles. In addition to these competitions, there were also prizes for the club championships, both ladies and gentlemen. [...] Nine entered for the Ladies’ Singles, Miss Blanche Bingley and Miss Bourchier being the best.

“The grounds round the lawn tennis courts – of which any number can be made – are most tastefully laid out, and a very well-arranged pavilion gives the competitors every comfort that could be wished for.

“Miss Blanche Bingley very easily won her matches, with the exception of the one against Miss Bourchier, who played extremely well against her.

“This tournament was brought to a close on Saturday last in most beautiful weather. The attendance was much larger than on any of the previous days, and the spectators were well rewarded for coming, as some fine play was seen in more than one of the matches. [...] The committee are decidedly to be congratulated on the success of their first effort, and the tournament will, without doubt, take a leading position amongst the metropolitan meetings.”

The second edition of the tournament, held in 1885, was as popular as the first, if not more so. The following extracts, taken from "The Field Lawn Tennis Calendar" (1886), provide more insight into this nascent tournament: "The enterprise of the directors of the Chiswick Park Company has placed at the disposal of the inhabitants of the Western and South-Western suburbs of London one of the most charming lawn tennis grounds to be met with in the kingdom.

"Originally the park ground, studded here and there with well-grown trees, the place now assumes as pleasant though a different appearance. The undulating turf has been carefully levelled and relaid, pavilions have been erected, flowerbeds formed, shrubs planted, etc., with the result that, both for cricket and lawn tennis, the Chiswick Park grounds offer advantages not to be met with in any other district within twenty miles of London.

"The arrangements were excellent throughout the meeting, both players and spectators expressing great pleasure thereat. The courts were in excellent trim. On Saturday the proceedings were enlivened by the strains of the local volunteer band, and, at the conclusion of the the play, the prizes were presented by Lady Curtis, who accompanied each presentation with some suitable compliments."

In 1887, challenge cups were presented for the men's and women's singles events at the Chiswick Park tournament. This meant that a Challenge Round was in force from 1888 until the early 1900's. It was also from this point onwards that the tournament became known as the Middlesex Championships.

The continued success of the tournament was somewhat endangered around the beginning of the 1890's, possibly because of its position in the calendar, but in 1893, it was moved up the calendar, from July to late May/early June, a position that increased its popularity and ensured its survival for nearly five decades.

The tournament was not held during World War One and was postponed again in 1939 following the outbreak of World War Two. Unfortunately, it was not held again after the end of the latter war. It appears that the management committee had attempted to reduce ticket prices to guarantee the tournament's continued existence, but a compulsory purchase order meant that there was no possibility of this once great tournament ever being held again.

An asterisk (*) indicates that the holder did not defend her title, so there was no Challenge Round in that particular year, the winner of the All-Comers' Final becoming the new champion. [HO] means that the women's singles event in a particular year was handicap only.

1884 Blanche Bingley d. Miss Wing 6-3, 6-3
1885 Edith Gurney d. Blanche Bingley, owes 15, 1-6, 7-5, 6-0 [HO]
1886 Miss Douglas d. May Jacks 6-4, 6-0 [HO]
1887 D. Patterson d. Edith Gurney 6-0, 4-6, 7-5
1888 Blanche Hillyard d. D. Patterson 6-2, 6-4
1889 Mary Steedman d. Bertha Steedman 6-4, 7-5*
1890 Mary Steedman d. May Jacks 6-2, 6-2
1891 Maud Shackle d. Edith Austin 6-0 6-1*
1892 Maud Shackle d. Edith Austin 6-4, 6-0
1893 Maud Shackle d. Edith Austin 6-3, 6-4
1894 Edith Austin d. Miss Brown 6-3, 6-3*
1895 Charlotte Cooper d. Edith Austin 6-3, 7-5
1896 Charlotte Cooper d. Edith Austin 6-4, 6-2
1897 Charlotte Cooper d. Edith Austin 1-6, 6-4, 6-4
1898 Charlotte Cooper d. Edith Austin 6-3, 3-6, 7-5
1899 Edith Austin d. Charlotte Cooper 7-5, 6-4
1900 Charlotte Cooper d. Edith Austin Greville 6-3, 9-7
1901 Charlotte Cooper Sterry d. Toupie Lowther 6-3, 6-2
1902 Charlotte Cooper Sterry d. Edith Bromfield 6-1, 6-0
1903 Dorothea Douglass d. Edith Bromfield 6-4, 9-7
1904 Dorothea Douglass d. Charlotte Cooper Sterry 4-6, 6-1, 6-3
1905 Edith Austin Greville d. Mabel Squire 6-4, 7-5
1906 Dorothea Douglass d. Charlotte Cooper Sterry 6-1, 6-0
1907 Dorothea Lambert Chambers d. M. Brown 6-3, 6-1
1908 Dorothea Lambert Chambers d. Alice Greene 7-5, 6-4
1909 Beryl Tulloch d. Agnes Daniell Tuckey 6-3, 4-6, 7-5
1910 Dorothea Lambert Chambers d. M. Messom 6-2, 6-2
1911 Dorothea Lambert Chambers d. Mabel Squire Parton 6-3, 6-2
1912 Dorothy Holman d. Mabel Squire Parton 6-2, 4-6, 7-5
1913 Dorothea Lambert Chambers d. Dora Boothby 6-2, 6-3
1914 Dorothea Lambert Chambers d. Aurea Farrington Edgington, walkover
1915-18 Tournament not held due to World War One
1919 Elizabeth Ryan (USA) d. Geraldine Ramsay Beamish 6-2, 4-6, 6-4
1920 Elizabeth Ryan (USA) d. Dorothea Lambert Chambers 7-5, 6-2
1921 Elizabeth Ryan (USA) d. Geraldine Ramsay Beamish 6-3, 6-4
1922 Irene Bowder Peacock (IND) d. Gerealdine Ramsay Beamish 6-1, 1-6, 6-2
1923 Kathleen McKane d. Molla Mallory (USA) 6-3, 6-2
1924 Kathleen McKane d. Elizabeth Ryan (USA) 6-4, 6-4
1925 Elizabeth Ryan (USA) d. Geraldine Ramsay Beamish 6-4, 6-0
1926 Molla Mallory (USA) d. Gwyneth Sterry 6-3, 1-6,6 -1
1927 Elizabeth Ryan (USA) d. Joan Fry 6-0, 4-6, 6-2
1928 Ermyntrude Harvey d. Madge Valantine List 6-1, 6-3
1929 Peggy Saunders Michell d. Margaret McKane Stocks 6-3, 6-1
1930 Betty Nuthall d. Jenny Sandison (IND) 9-7, 6-3
1931 Elsie Goldsack Pittman d. Peggy Saunders Michell 9-7, 6-2
1932 Nancy Lyle d. Irene Bowder Peacock (IND) 6-4, 6-4
1933 Mrs L.G. Owen d. Elsie Goldsack Pittman 6-4, 6-2
1934 Elsie Goldsack Pittman d. Joan Ridley 6-4, 6-4
1935 Susan Noel d. Elsie Goldsack Pittman 6-1, 8-6
1936 Mary Hardwick d. Nancy Lyle 4-6, 7-5, 7-5
1937 Anita Lizana (CHI) d. Alcie Marble (USA) 9-7, 9-7
1938 Jadwiga Jedrzejowska (POL) d. Dorothy Bundy (USA) 7-5, 6-2
1939 Jean Saunders d. A. Cardinall 6-4, 6-3
1940-45 Tournament not held due to World War Two
1946 Tournament discontinued

Last edited by newmark401; Oct 31st, 2012 at 09:34 PM.
newmark401 is offline  
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome