- View Single Post - Official Tournament Winners by Event
View Single Post
post #51 of (permalink) Old Mar 21st, 2012, 05:16 PM
country flag newmark401
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12,108
Re: Official Tournament Winners by Event

Re: The Kent Championships. Here are some player's first names and family names, with the first year of their appearance given first; also one or two missing scores:

1888 Miss Gurney -> Edith Gurney

1890 Maude Shackle -> I believe her first name was spelt "Maud"

1893 Miss P. Legh -> Ruth Pennington-Legh

1894 A. Wilson -> Amy Wilson

1905 Connie Wilson d. Alice Greene 6-2, 6-4 (Due to bad weather at Beckenham, this match was played at Wimbledon on June 27.)

1909 Dora Boothby d. Agnes Morton 6-4, 6-4 (Due to bad weather, this final was not played at Beckenham.)

1912 Mrs Winifreid McNair -> This should be Winifred McNair (there is no need for the "Mrs" once a married player's first name is known.)

1920 Elizabeth Ryan/Mrs. McNair 7-9 3-2 divided -> Winifred McNair again. I'd say: "Due to bad weather, the final could not be completed. Elizabeth Ryan and Winifred McNair divided the first prize."

Last edited by newmark401; Mar 21st, 2012 at 05:31 PM.
newmark401 is offline  
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome