I have a question about rankings. The rules are these:
"The tournaments that count towards a player's ranking are those that yield the highest ranking points during the rolling 52-week period. They must include points from the Grand Slams, Premier Mandatory tournaments and the WTA Championships. For Top 20 players, their best two results at Premier 5 tournaments (Doha, Rome,Cincinnati, Montréal/Toronto and Tokyo) will also count."
What happens when a player gets into top 20, and he loses points because his "Premier 5" tournaments were poor and he had only few points in all of them?
So, he gets into top 20 and then drops back below the top 20 if another player has more ranking points after the deduction
? What then, does he gets back the lost points because he is now below top 20 and the 'Premier 5' tournaments are not counted? And so it goes again and again...
What is the law here?
Btw, in Simona's case nothing changes if she reaches top 20. She already has the Rome, Montréal, Tokyo events counted. All 3 are 'Premier 5' tournaments.