Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: home sweet home
Re: Injustice call in Peer/Bartoli on Set Point.
Bartoli stopped play in the middle of set point on a shot from Peer at the baseline. Umpire came down, called it good, Bartoli lost the point.
First of all, it was not an injust call. Yes, shot spot showed the ball out, but where the shot hit the baseline was covered with clay and difficult to see. They zoomed in on the mark, and I honestly could not tell whether it was in or out. Therefore, the original call must stand if it cannot be clearly overruled.
Now, this could be a good case for the argument for the use of shot spot here, because it showed the ball was really out.
Regardless, Bartoli should not have stopped the point, and the centimeter that it missed by was not enough to overrule the call.
I used to list my favorite tennis players here...
...then they all retired.I used to keep track of my rankings in fantasy games here...
...then I realized how much I suck.I used to update this signature, once in a while...
...then I realized no one actually reads it.