? About Chair Umpiring - TennisForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Jun 6th, 2003, 12:23 AM Thread Starter
I'm so current, I'm tomorrow.
 
AjdeNate!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: The City by the Lake.
Posts: 49,163
                     
? About Chair Umpiring

I don't want to get into another long ol' discussion, as there are about 40 million posts on it.... But my question is:

Doesn't the Chair Umpire have the final say over what goes oncourt? And is there a rule that players are to go 'against' his decision AFTER it has been made? I mean the Chair said 'deuxieme service'. Then the hand issue was raised. I mean he had already made his decision. So CAN he reverse his own call even when he did NOT see anything HIMSELF to reverse that decision? And is the 'other' player RESPONSIBLE to tell the chair anything at all AFTER his decision has already been made?


Please, I'm just looking for a ruling not a lecture and a fight.
AjdeNate! is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Jun 6th, 2003, 12:26 AM
Senior Member
 
F-R-E-A-K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: With Foxy!
Posts: 20,766
                     
No, once the point has been called you cannot correct it! If it is a major problem the Tounament referee can come out and deal with it but that really leads to where towards the end cos they have faith in the Chair Umpire.
F-R-E-A-K is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Jun 6th, 2003, 12:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 18,115
                     
hmmm, who knows?
treufreund is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old Jun 6th, 2003, 12:30 AM
psychotic banana
 
1jackson2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,022
                     
I don't think he can. Some tennis matches have faults and you can't do anything about it.

Tennis is Life.

V.E.S.W.
Wimbledon 00, 01, 05, 07, 08
US Open 00, 01
1jackson2001 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old Jun 6th, 2003, 12:34 AM
Senior Member
 
F-R-E-A-K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: With Foxy!
Posts: 20,766
                     
YOU CANT CHANGE YOUR DECISION ONCE THE POINT HAS BEEN CALLED! THERE IS NOTHING YOU CAN DO ABOUT IT!!! Believe me it has happened to me b4 and when we called the tournament referee they clearly said "Its to late to change what has happened, once the point has been called its finished!!"
F-R-E-A-K is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old Jun 6th, 2003, 12:35 AM Thread Starter
I'm so current, I'm tomorrow.
 
AjdeNate!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: The City by the Lake.
Posts: 49,163
                     
Thank you, just checking.
AjdeNate! is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome