I have a question about chair umpire over rules - TennisForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2012, 08:58 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kosmikgroove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,176
                     
I have a question about chair umpire over rules

In the Sharapova vs Wozniacki match, Maria hit a 2nd serve that was called out and then over ruled.

The chair then over ruled the out-call so Sharapova was given a 1st serve. Why did they give her a first serve, instead of replaying the 2nd serve? I understand this is the probably in the rule book, but is there a reason behind this?

Last edited by kosmikgroove; Mar 29th, 2012 at 09:10 PM.
kosmikgroove is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2012, 08:59 PM
Senior Member
 
RenaSlam.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25,033
                     
Re: I have a question about chair umpire over rules

There was never a challenge because Wozniacki was out of challenges. #herfault
RenaSlam. is offline  
post #3 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2012, 09:04 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kosmikgroove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,176
                     
Re: I have a question about chair umpire over rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by RenaSlam. View Post
There was never a challenge because Wozniacki was out of challenges. #herfault
True, but that's not what I was discussing. The chair (not Caroline) over ruled the initial out-call. So they played a first serve again, despite the fact that it was a second serve that was in question. I do not quite understand why a player is give the ability to have 2 serves when they already hit a first serve out that had no over rule.
kosmikgroove is offline  
post #4 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2012, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
gc-spurs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Silver Ferns
Posts: 11,143
                     
Re: I have a question about chair umpire over rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by kosmikgroove View Post
In the Sharapova vs Wozniacki match, Maria hit a 2nd serve that was called out and then over ruled.

The chair then over ruled the challenge so Sharapova was given a 1st serve. Why did they give her a first serve, instead of replaying the 2nd serve? I understand this is the probably in the rule book, but is there a reason behind this?
I'm assuming its a rhythm thing. Definitely an odd rule and I think there's a stronger case for it to be another 2nd.

Serena Williams: I'm going for team Sharapova 'coz she's hot
CAREER GRAND SLAM.

Bring on all the pretenders. Someday, WE WILL BE REMEMBERED
Quote:
Originally Posted by oliversmith View Post
oudin is a great player she already beat maria i expect to do the same now
btw whos bolivia smith?
gc-spurs is offline  
post #5 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2012, 09:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,044
                     
Re: I have a question about chair umpire over rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by kosmikgroove View Post
[...] The chair then over ruled the challenge so Sharapova was given a 1st serve. [...]
No!

Kader Nouni (FRA) overruled a Line Umpire and he was spot on as Maria's 2nd serve was on the line. Ms. Sunshine had no challenge left.
Tennis Observer is offline  
post #6 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2012, 09:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10,655
                     
Re: I have a question about chair umpire over rules

I was wondering this too, seems like a strange rule to me.
Mary Cherry. is offline  
post #7 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2012, 09:08 PM
Senior Member
 
spiritedenergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7,701
                     
Re: I have a question about chair umpire over rules

very wrong rule, wtf is that? i mean, i have never seen it used

spiritedenergy is offline  
post #8 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2012, 09:08 PM
#toominogueforyou
 
John.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 22,606
                     
Re: I have a question about chair umpire over rules

I think it's mainly because it disrupts the rhythm of the server (delay while waiting for hawkeye etc. DSo rather than have them serve a 2nd serve after a delay, they clean the slate
John. is offline  
post #9 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2012, 09:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 163
                     
Re: I have a question about chair umpire over rules

Pretty sure it's because you officially "replay the point", which means starting with a new 1st serve.
Critique is offline  
post #10 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2012, 09:12 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kosmikgroove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,176
                     
Re: I have a question about chair umpire over rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by John. View Post
I think it's mainly because it disrupts the rhythm of the server (delay while waiting for hawkeye etc. DSo rather than have them serve a 2nd serve after a delay, they clean the slate
Thanks, I guess there's a strong case for them to restart the point altogether. As a player, I know that I would be pissed if they got a chance for an ace, if they first hit their first serve out. It seems like an over rule in this instance gives the advantage to the server.
kosmikgroove is offline  
post #11 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2012, 09:13 PM
country flag pov
Senior Member
 
pov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 26,962
                     
Re: I have a question about chair umpire over rules

Are you sure she was given a first serve? Did you hear the umpire say "first service"?

Mulder: "So you're agreeing with me?"
Scully "No! You're bat-crap crazy."


Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.
pov is offline  
post #12 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2012, 09:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,218
                     
Re: I have a question about chair umpire over rules

Yes I did. And I heard umpires saying 1st service thousand of times if there was an error call on 2nd serve corrected either by umpire OR by a player using hawkeye.
gulzhan is offline  
post #13 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2012, 09:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Tenis Srbija's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Belgrade/Zemun
Posts: 14,011
                     
Re: I have a question about chair umpire over rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by Critique View Post
Pretty sure it's because you officially "replay the point", which means starting with a new 1st serve.
Right on the spot!
Tenis Srbija is offline  
post #14 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2012, 09:18 PM
Senior Member
 
spiritedenergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7,701
                     
Re: I have a question about chair umpire over rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by gulzhan View Post
Yes I did. And I heard umpires saying 1st service thousand of times if there was an error call on 2nd serve corrected either by umpire OR by a player using hawkeye.
really? so even if sharapova had challenged, she would have had a 1st serve... strange rule indeed

spiritedenergy is offline  
post #15 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 29th, 2012, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
TheBoiledEgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in Cloud Cuckoo Land
Posts: 180,432
                     
Re: I have a question about chair umpire over rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by Critique View Post
Pretty sure it's because you officially "replay the point", which means starting with a new 1st serve.
This is correct

Good luck to my favs

AZARENKA

*Kuznetsova*Sharapova*Kleybanova*Vesnina*Shvedova*Kulichkova*Kasatkina*
Pavlyuchenkova*Makarova*Diatchenko*Pivovarova*Gasparyan*Leykina*Zhuk*Potapova*Pervushina**Govortsova
MINELLA TsurenkoAlize Lim*El Tabakh*Robson*Cirstea
*Juhaszova*Zanevska*Broady*Bouchard*
Cetkovska*Svitolina*
*Bellis*Soylu*Sibille*Uberalova*Eden Silva*
http://www.twitter.com/TheBoiledEgg
TheBoiledEgg is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome