Can Hawkeye be used in this scenario - TennisForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 31st, 2011, 02:23 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mauresmofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ireland
Posts: 12,220
                     
Can Hawkeye be used in this scenario

Player A hits a first serve thinks it might be out but there's no call, player B hits a decent return and then Player A, still distracted by the lack of call, hits an unforced error. Can Player A then ask to see if their first serve was out?

RIP Elena Baltacha, thank you for dedicating your life to a sport we all love. You'll be missed but never forgotten.
mauresmofan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 31st, 2011, 02:26 AM
Member of Rena's Army
 
Justin SW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15,962
                     
Re: Can Hawkeye be used in this scenario

no he continued to play

MEMBER OF RENA'S ARMY

Justin SW is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 31st, 2011, 02:34 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mauresmofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ireland
Posts: 12,220
                     
Re: Can Hawkeye be used in this scenario

Ah ok but had he not he can challenge that call on himself had he stopped. I was just wondering about that particular scenario because you see it sometimes that a player can be expecting a shot to be called out, stop moving for a split second and no call comes and they have to start up again being a little surprised and thrown.

RIP Elena Baltacha, thank you for dedicating your life to a sport we all love. You'll be missed but never forgotten.
mauresmofan is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 31st, 2011, 02:50 AM
Senior Member
 
gumoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 55,343
                     
Re: Can Hawkeye be used in this scenario

Roddick did it once and he was right

his 1st serve was out
gumoll is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 31st, 2011, 02:58 AM
Senior Member
 
VeeJJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,344
                     
Re: Can Hawkeye be used in this scenario

player A would have had to call the challenge before he hit the 3rd shot.

Hi, I'm Dillon 👋🏻 I'm cool 😎 Tennis player and fanatic. 😍🎾 IG:colorfullyplain 😼

Venus Williams is Flawless
Jelena Jankovic is a Legend.
Serena Williams is the Greatest.
...Kim can come too.
VeeJJ is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 31st, 2011, 07:08 AM
On His Mouth Like Liquor
 
Yoncé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,677
                     
Re: Can Hawkeye be used in this scenario

What makes everyone so sure player A is a man
Yoncé is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 31st, 2011, 07:47 AM
.
 
Petkorazzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 65,370
                     
Re: Can Hawkeye be used in this scenario

Player one can challenge Schnyder did that vs Govortsova and her serve was indeed out.
Petkorazzi is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 31st, 2011, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
alex.2812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,181
                     
Re: Can Hawkeye be used in this scenario

If player A is right, point has to be replayed. But first or second serve?
alex.2812 is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 31st, 2011, 09:45 AM
Most Loved Member
 
Kworb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 11,185
                     
Re: Can Hawkeye be used in this scenario

Quote:
Originally Posted by alex.2812 View Post
If player A is right, point has to be replayed. But first or second serve?
If player A is right, then the ball was out, so they get a second serve. The point is not replayed.

2016 saviors of the WTA

ANGELIQUE KERBER 63 75 DOMINIKA CIBULKOVA 60 60
LOUISA CHIRICO 60 60 IRINA-CAMELIA BEGU 63 62 KARIN KNAPP 63 67 60
Kworb is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 31st, 2011, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Mateo Mathieu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Piccadilly Circus
Posts: 61,812
                     
Re: Can Hawkeye be used in this scenario

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaJa Swan View Post
player A would have had to call the challenge before he hit the 3rd shot.
This.


Inspiration is for amateurs

Mateo Mathieu is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 31st, 2011, 11:11 AM
Stay slamless
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 17,485
                     
Re: Can Hawkeye be used in this scenario

Awkward if they did a df

Carol. Empress. Vika. P3tra. Garbine. Dasha. Casey. Marion.
Flopniacki is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 31st, 2011, 11:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Serenus Christ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: GoldCoast
Posts: 5,499
                     
Re: Can Hawkeye be used in this scenario

i have ALWAYS wondered this.

like if player A hit a first serve and player B hit a crazy return winner..

"But Isha, many people believe, could have been the third Williams sister"
Serenus Christ is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 31st, 2011, 11:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Cajka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 17,193
                     
Re: Can Hawkeye be used in this scenario

I think that JJ did it once, not sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ana'sProcess View Post
I'm ok with Ana dating Bastian, women, Jelena Jankovic, Trump, Montgomery Burns from Simpsons...
ПАРТИЗАН ШАМПИОН!!!
Cajka is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 31st, 2011, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
gumoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 55,343
                     
Re: Can Hawkeye be used in this scenario

gumoll is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome