Possible interesting scenario in the White Group
Let's say Bartoli wins the only match she plays against Azarenka in straight sets, and that Li beats Azarenka in straights and Stosur loses to Li in straights as well (somehow). Then the group standings will as as such:
Li 3-0 matches, 6-0 in sets
Bartoli 1-0 in matches, 2-0 in sets
Azarenka 1-2 in matches, 2-4 in sets
Stosur 1-2 in matches, 2-4 in sets
If I recall correctly, in the case of a tie in matches won, we first go down to absolute number of sets won, and if there's still a tie, number of sets lost. So according to the standing above, Bartoli should advance? Or is there some by-rule which states that actual number of matches played actually counts, or that Bartoli "inherits" Maria's result in the YEC?
He looked deep into his eyes and said, "You're perfect."
"No, I'm not. But with you, I don't even care."