Weird Serve Question - TennisForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 25th, 2011, 01:22 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Spring Pools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14,058
                     
Weird Serve Question

I know that in a shot, if you are hit by the ball you lose the point. What if you are standing in the baseline and your opponent hits you with his/her serve before the ball bounces?
Spring Pools is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 25th, 2011, 01:23 AM
Dubai Love
 
Uranium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 52,528
                     
Re: Weird Serve Question

The receiver loses the point. Same thing in doubles if the server hits the player at net with the serve. The ball can not touch you before the first bounce, the ball needs to bounce for an official out call.


Uranium is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 25th, 2011, 01:24 AM
Trainwreck
 
Lord Choc Ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gothenburg
Posts: 54,562
                     
Re: Weird Serve Question

It would be a fault.

There's no way a ball could hit the receiver before bouncing if the serve had landed in.
Lord Choc Ice is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 25th, 2011, 01:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Lin Lin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: A Happy Land
Posts: 27,819
                     
Re: Weird Serve Question

what a question

健健
前前
渊渊
豆豆
雪雪
Lin Lin is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 25th, 2011, 01:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Papillon.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,708
                     
Re: Weird Serve Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlameOn View Post
It would be a fault.

There's no way a ball could hit the receiver before bouncing if the serve had landed in.
Doesn't matter. If it hits the receiver before bouncing, the receiver loses the point.
Papillon. is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 25th, 2011, 01:27 AM
Trainwreck
 
Lord Choc Ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gothenburg
Posts: 54,562
                     
Re: Weird Serve Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Papillon. View Post
Doesn't matter. If it hits the receiver before bouncing, the receiver loses the point.
Oh OK.
Lord Choc Ice is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 25th, 2011, 01:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Tennisation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10,870
                     
Re: Weird Serve Question

So if a server is struggling like 99% of WTA, shouldn't they just be aiming for the receiver
Tennisation is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 25th, 2011, 01:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Papillon.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,708
                     
Re: Weird Serve Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lin Lin View Post
what a question
Do any of your posts serve any purpose? It seems to me you just post to get your post count up. What you said serves absolutely no purpose within this thread. One-smiley responses to result threads (which I am guilty of at times) I can understand, but really? What's the point? Stop spamming.
Papillon. is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 25th, 2011, 01:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17,677
                     
Re: Weird Serve Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlameOn View Post
It would be a fault.

There's no way a ball could hit the receiver before bouncing if the serve had landed in.
You don't even know what you're talking about.
Smitten is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 25th, 2011, 01:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 361
                     
Re: Weird Serve Question

This is from the ITF tennis rule book.
http://www.itftennis.com/shared/medi...1_original.PDF

Quote:
Case 7: A ball that has just been served hits the receiver or in doubles the receiver’s partner before it touches the ground. Which player wins the point? Decision: The server wins the point, unless it is a service let.
Seems silly to me if you are standing out of court and get hit by a serve on the full.
But those are the rules.
Otherwise anyone being hit before the ball has bounced in general play, someone will have to deem whether or not the player was in court when the ball hit them.
sarddenso is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 25th, 2011, 01:39 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Spring Pools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14,058
                     
Re: Weird Serve Question

Thanks for the answers. I wonder whether Dementieva could have done better if she'd started to aim for her opponents... Although she's much too classy for that.
Spring Pools is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 25th, 2011, 01:41 AM
Worshipping the bangs
 
miffedmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Larsson's Player Forum
Posts: 56,178
                     
Re: Weird Serve Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium View Post
The receiver loses the point. Same thing in doubles if the server hits the player at net with the serve. The ball can not touch you before the first bounce, the ball needs to bounce for an official out call.
This. ITF Rules of Tennis, #24, Player Loses Point, Case 7:

The ball that has just been served hits the receiver or in the doubles the receiver's partner before it touches the ground. Which player wins the point?

Decision: The server wins the point, unless it is a service let.

Believe it or not, I actually had to make this call in a junior match once.

Max
Pass the duct tape and super glue. Lena's done broke my heart one last time.
Onward my LOB! Lena (ret.) Vika Vee TOB Caro Alexa Sabs Wicky Lesia Vania BMS Ekat Andi H. Jo-La Lena V KP2 Lil Bit Kiki Mini Mak Baby Veronika
V Squad, The LOB Elite: Vika, Venus and the Mad Viking of Norrland
Jo-La Duchess of Norrland and Bastad
Elena Viatcheslavovna Dementieva--Eternal Goddess of the Divine Bangs
miffedmax is online now  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 25th, 2011, 01:42 AM
Trainwreck
 
Lord Choc Ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gothenburg
Posts: 54,562
                     
Re: Weird Serve Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitten View Post
You don't even know what you're talking about.
Please don't trip.
Lord Choc Ice is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 25th, 2011, 01:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 36,044
                     
Re: Weird Serve Question

This has happened in the last two or three years. I'm trying to remember who the ball hit, but it was either at New Haven or USO in 2009 or maybe Indian Wells. Anyway, it has happened in doubles. I recall in WTT someone getting in a tiff with Paes and intentionally hitting Paes/his partner and winning the point. (Of course, that is WTT, but I thought it was funny since Paes was being a bully and yet he lost the point due to his opponent's childish response.)
edificio is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome