Someone please confirm a question of mine... - TennisForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 2009, 10:33 PM Thread Starter
Miss Resilient
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 35,994
                     
Someone please confirm a question of mine...

Who wins the point if the ball goes over the net, but somehow after it bounces, crosses back onto side the the player who hit the shot?
Demska is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 2009, 10:36 PM
Senior Member
 
SvetaKuzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 308
                     
Re: Someone please confirm a question of mine...

the person who hit the ball.

venus hit a shot either in HK or at YEC where her racquet was over the net (a high drop-shot from her opponent), but she had to hit the ball to win the point (as long as you don't touch the net)

Please Join SKs Fantasy Tennis!
The game where you must break your opponent's serve to win the match
New members ALWAYS welcome!
Did you know you have gorgeous eyes!? You should use them to view this page:

http://www.tennisforum.com/1308-sks-fantasy-tour/

Last edited by SvetaKuzzy; Jan 11th, 2009 at 10:44 PM.
SvetaKuzzy is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 2009, 10:37 PM Thread Starter
Miss Resilient
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 35,994
                     
Re: Someone please confirm a question of mine...

if you hit a really high bouncing ball verry close to the net, like a really high dropshot, but the wind blows it back onto your side without the opponent reaching it
Demska is offline  
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 2009, 10:38 PM
Chip 'n Charge
 
ArturoAce.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 14,088
                     
Re: Someone please confirm a question of mine...

the person who hit the ball would get the point.....

it happens if a play uses a lot of spin causing the ball to bounce backward..
ArturoAce. is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 2009, 10:39 PM
Senior Member
 
AndreConrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Close to US Open :)
Posts: 4,595
                     
Re: Someone please confirm a question of mine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demska View Post
Who wins the point if the ball goes over the net, but somehow after it bounces, crosses back onto side the the player who hit the shot?
I am not an authority on it, but I think since the ball returned it is equal to a situation as if the oponent hit it... it is possible with heavy spin. I believe I saw it

The best of luck to all tennis players; The game is on!
-Andre
P.S.Well,... special luck to Agnieszka Radwanska, Marta Domachowska, Daniela Hantuchova, Urszula Radwanska
Bally, Rest In Peace!
AndreConrad is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 2009, 10:39 PM
Senior Member
 
SvetaKuzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 308
                     
Re: Someone please confirm a question of mine...

actually, this is one of Mansour Bahrami's trick shots he plays in exhibitions on the "pensioners" tour

Please Join SKs Fantasy Tennis!
The game where you must break your opponent's serve to win the match
New members ALWAYS welcome!
Did you know you have gorgeous eyes!? You should use them to view this page:

http://www.tennisforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1308
SvetaKuzzy is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 2009, 10:41 PM
Team WTAworld
Senior Member
 
Farina Elia Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: wales
Posts: 24,129
                     
Re: Someone please confirm a question of mine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demska View Post
if you hit a really high bouncing ball verry close to the net, like a really high dropshot, but the wind blows it back onto your side without the opponent reaching it
the person who hit the ball - Greg Rusedski did it at Wimbledon once
Farina Elia Fan is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 2009, 11:02 PM
Junior Member
 
arbalest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 72
                     
Re: Someone please confirm a question of mine...

Nalbandian does this. Especially now that all the men use polyester strings, when they do a backspin volley it can come back over the net.

Also, the other player is allowed to put their racket over the net and tap it down, so long as their body or racket doesn't touch the net. This happend with Canas and Hewitt at Wimbledon, but I haven't seen it yet in a WTA match.

Big Masha *** Little Masha *** Big Alicia *** Little Chakky
arbalest is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 2009, 11:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: florida
Posts: 24,503
                     
Re: Someone please confirm a question of mine...

Serena Williams wins it!

-one of those "bad" Williams fans that everyone keeps talking about


OFFICIAL BLACKSMITH OF THE ROYAL COURT

I don't mind straight people as long as they act gay in public!
Pureracket is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 2009, 11:24 PM
Senior Member
 
A'DAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 5,037
                     
Re: Someone please confirm a question of mine...

I hit such ball once!!! It was a drop shot with a lot of spin, it bounced on my opponent side and than got back to mine!!!

I checked the rules to know who won the point and it turned out that: AS LONG AS THE BALL WAS NOT TOUCHED BY THE OTHER PLAYER, EVEN IF THE 2ND BOUNCE WAS ON MY SIDE OF COURT, IT IS SEEN AS 2ND BOUNCE AND THOUGH THE POINT WAS MINE!

Agnieszka Radwanska top 3 player

Last edited by A'DAM; Jan 11th, 2009 at 11:29 PM.
A'DAM is offline  
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 2009, 11:27 PM
Senior Member
 
champion88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 22,995
                     
Re: Someone please confirm a question of mine...

Yeh I have done it twice before but not for a few years now and by complete fluke

Definitely the person who hit the backsin shot's point
champion88 is offline  
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 2009, 11:38 PM
Rest In Peace, Elena
 
Brett.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 19,613
                     
Re: Someone please confirm a question of mine...

wow, someone's a cheater! poor opponent!

Rest In Peace, Elena Baltacha
Brett. is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 2009, 11:45 PM
Everybody's a star!!!
 
Shvedbarilescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 23,509
                     
Re: Someone please confirm a question of mine...

Yeah, the point definately goes to the person who hit it. And deservedly so. Hitting a dropshot with that much spin that it goes back to the other side of the net ain't easy. I can recall seeing it only very rarely. I do like a previous poster recall Nalbandian doing it. I have also seen Fabrice Santoro do it three or four times.

Shvedbarilescu is online now  
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 2009, 11:50 PM
Senior Member
 
sammy01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England
Posts: 25,415
                     
Re: Someone please confirm a question of mine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by arbalest View Post
Nalbandian does this. Especially now that all the men use polyester strings, when they do a backspin volley it can come back over the net.

Also, the other player is allowed to put their racket over the net and tap it down, so long as their body or racket doesn't touch the net. This happend with Canas and Hewitt at Wimbledon, but I haven't seen it yet in a WTA match.
exactly, in a normal rally a players racket or any part of them should not cross the net as its deemed 'invading' the opponents space, but if a ball bounces on one side of the court and spins back over to the other the player whom the ball bounced on is allowed to lean over the net but not touch the net. just to complicate things futher, the person who is allowed to lean over the net because the ball has bounced on their side and spun back onto their opponents side, is allowed to hit the ball into their opponents net and let it dribble to the floor and win the point, as this is no different to a ball hitting the net and dribbling over in a normal rally. the ball will roll down the net and hit his opponents side of the court, which is the game of tennis. frew mcmillan has done this in a doubles match against mcenroe and it didn't half piss him off.

Anna Chakvetadze Rules

Kim Clijsters - Supporting the comeback!

I have no other faves, I just hate

Last edited by sammy01; Jan 11th, 2009 at 11:52 PM. Reason: edit
sammy01 is offline  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 11th, 2009, 11:58 PM
.
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29,661
                     
Re: Someone please confirm a question of mine...

It would be so funny if that happened and then the opponent had to lean over the net and hit the ball back on to their side of the court and then the other person leant over and hit it on to their side of the court and then they kept on doing it.
Agape is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Registration Image

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome