I was thinking: Was Gabriela Sabatini the first player to... - TennisForum.com
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old Mar 7th, 2008, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 74
I was thinking: Was Gabriela Sabatini the first player to...

I was watching a re-run of the USO 90 Final. And as part of her match tactics, Gabriela Sabatini, was standing inside the baseline to receive Steffi’s second serves. Up until then, I, had never saw any player do this during a match, well not until this final, am I wrong?
Bada Bing is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old Mar 7th, 2008, 07:59 PM
Moderator - BFTP
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 22,735
Re: I was thinking: Was Gabriela Sabatini the first player to...

It was done by many players back in the serve and volley days-I've seen it done on tapes as far back as the 1960s. My guess is it's been a tactic as long as the game has been played.

Gaby's 1990 US Open win was sweet!
Rollo is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome