Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now? - TennisForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old Dec 9th, 2006, 01:18 AM Thread Starter
A Young Troubadour.
 
Cat's Pajamas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: With Kristy Lee.
Posts: 16,367
                     
Thumbs down Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?

I just noticed this on the H2H records on wtatour.com and here is an example:

http://www.sonyericssonwtatour.com/2...ayer1ID=230220


they're doing it on every W/O match it seems

Was there some rule change, if there that's stupid IMO

Walk on with hope in your heart
And you'll never walk alone

Last edited by Cat's Pajamas; Dec 9th, 2006 at 01:32 AM.
Cat's Pajamas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old Dec 9th, 2006, 01:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Natalicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 24,604
                     
Re: Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?

i think so

http://www.sonyericssonwtatour.com/2...100153&x=3&y=9

Amélie || Serena || Roger
Natalicious is offline  
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old Dec 9th, 2006, 01:34 AM
Senior Member
 
LH2HBH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,071
                     
Re: Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?

It counts as a win. If it didn't it would be unfair to the person who showed up at the match if they did not get to count their win.

Мари́я Ю́рьевна Шара́пова​ , Јелена Јанковић, Venus Williams.
LH2HBH is offline  
post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old Dec 9th, 2006, 01:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 25,253
                     
Re: Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?

that's just completely pathetic of the WTA counting W/O's as wins on H2H's even when a player didn't even strike the 1st ball before their withdrawl.
Ben. is offline  
post #5 of 35 (permalink) Old Dec 9th, 2006, 01:37 AM
Senior Member
 
LH2HBH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,071
                     
Re: Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bg017 View Post
that's just completely pathetic of the WTA counting W/O's as wins on H2H's even when a player didn't even strike the 1st ball before their withdrawl.
Nothing personal, but I simply don't agree.

It's not your fault that your opponent has withdrawn, you should still get your win! You were the one who took care of your body and were prepared for the match.

You shouldn't be penalized because of the other players injury/illnness, right!?

Мари́я Ю́рьевна Шара́пова​ , Јелена Јанковић, Venus Williams.
LH2HBH is offline  
post #6 of 35 (permalink) Old Dec 9th, 2006, 01:40 AM Thread Starter
A Young Troubadour.
 
Cat's Pajamas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: With Kristy Lee.
Posts: 16,367
                     
Re: Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyguydsl View Post
Nothing personal, but I simply don't agree.

It's not your fault that your opponent has withdrawn, you should still get your win! You were the one who took care of your body and were prepared for the match.

You shouldn't be penalized because of the other players injury/illnness, right!?
I see your point but I don't agree with you

Its not necessarily my fault I rolled my ankle or got a stomach ache

Obviously the player still gets the win, as they get the points, money, and move on in the tournament. It's a win but I don't think it should count as a win against the other player. You didn't beat them, they didn't even get to hit the ball. You simply won by default

Walk on with hope in your heart
And you'll never walk alone
Cat's Pajamas is offline  
post #7 of 35 (permalink) Old Dec 9th, 2006, 01:44 AM
Senior Member
 
LH2HBH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,071
                     
Re: Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cat's Pajamas View Post
I see your point but I don't agree with you

Its not necessarily my fault I rolled my ankle or got a stomach ache

Obviously the player still gets the win, as they get the points, money, and move on in the tournament. It's a win but I don't think it should count as a win against the other player. You didn't beat them, they didn't even get to hit the ball. You simply won by default
I hear you I hear you, but you didn't even get a chance to prove that you COULD beat them!

Мари́я Ю́рьевна Шара́пова​ , Јелена Јанковић, Venus Williams.
LH2HBH is offline  
post #8 of 35 (permalink) Old Dec 9th, 2006, 01:53 AM
*
 
The Daviator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 22,814
                     
Re: Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?

Lindsay is officially tied with Kim now

Although Serena now leads 11-4

Ivanovic * Kvitova * Serena
The Daviator is offline  
post #9 of 35 (permalink) Old Dec 9th, 2006, 12:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Slampova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ireland =]
Posts: 3,510
                     
Re: Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?

Urgh, thats totally pointless One of the stupidest things the WTA have done for ages..... Masha is now 1-4 against Mauresmo

Maria Sharapova
Career Slam Winner

W'04, US'06, AO'08, RG'12
Slampova is offline  
post #10 of 35 (permalink) Old Dec 9th, 2006, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Craigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30,066
                     
Re: Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?

That sucks
Craigy is offline  
post #11 of 35 (permalink) Old Dec 9th, 2006, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
saki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: merely in delusional land
Posts: 6,289
                     
Re: Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?

I think W/Os should count in win/loss stats but not in head to heads because it doesn't really tell you anything about how two players match up if the stat is partially composed of W/Os.
saki is offline  
post #12 of 35 (permalink) Old Dec 9th, 2006, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Paneru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 22,129
                     
Re: Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyguydsl View Post
Nothing personal, but I simply don't agree.

It's not your fault that your opponent has withdrawn, you should still get your win! You were the one who took care of your body and were prepared for the match.

You shouldn't be penalized because of the other players injury/illnness, right!?
Ofcourse, you should get your win.

Amelie got the Berlin Trophy in 04' w/o
striking a ball because Venus rolled her
ankle n the previous match the day before.

However, aside from getting the points for
winning and the trophy, it should not go down
in the record books as a win for Amelie over Venus
in their h2h statistics because she never played the match.

In the old ranking system with bonus points, one didn't receive
the bonus points when they got a W/O from their opponent in
whatever round it came. So, IMO this is akin to that or should be.


I swear, Larry Scott and his group of fucktards get
more retarded by the day! Strike that, by the hour!

Last edited by Paneru; Dec 9th, 2006 at 01:13 PM.
Paneru is offline  
post #13 of 35 (permalink) Old Dec 9th, 2006, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Craigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30,066
                     
Re: Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?

Serena leads Venus 8-7 now
http://www.sonyericssonwtatour.com/2...ayer1ID=230234
Craigy is offline  
post #14 of 35 (permalink) Old Dec 9th, 2006, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Craigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30,066
                     
Re: Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?

Serena now leads Mauresmo 10-2
http://www.sonyericssonwtatour.com/2...ayer1ID=130450
Craigy is offline  
post #15 of 35 (permalink) Old Dec 9th, 2006, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Erika_Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Seychelles
Posts: 7,952
                     
Re: Is WTA Counting W/O's as Wins Now?

Who honestly cares? Head to Heads don't mean anything, they are just nifty little stats to show at the start of a match, and to constantly argue over on internet message boards.

"I will right wrongs & triumph over evil ... & that means you!"

0099 ... Eternal follower of the Golden Girl
WTAWorld Survivor
~ Survivor Cambodia - The Ta Prohm Ruins ~
Jan-Apr 06

~ Survivor Aitutaki - The Blue Lagoon ~
Nov 06-Mar 07
Erika_Angel is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome