Last Years Championship Lindsay should have won! - TennisForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2006, 08:25 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 139
 
Last Years Championship Lindsay should have won!

As I am eager for this years End of Season Championship I was looking back at the draws for the years 2004 and 2005. I noticed that in 2004 in the Red Group was Myskina and Serena Williams both with 2 wins and 1 loss. However in the round robin stage when the two played Serena beat Myskina, but Myskina won 5 sets and only lost 2 whereas Serena won 5 and lost 3. Therefore Myskina was the winner of that group making Serena the runner up. Therefore the system of deciding on who wins a group is based on the most wins and least loses and then if thats a tie, the most set wins and least set losses.

But in the 2005 draw I noticed in the green group Maria Sharapova finished ahead of Lindsay Davenport even though they both had 2 wins 1 loss and sharapova played 8 sets winning four and losing 4 whereas lindsay davenport played 7 sets winning 5 and losing 2. Therefore even if sharapova beat davenport in the round robin I still believed that the winner of a group was determined on how many wins they had and if it was a tie then the player who had played the least sets and won more sets than they lost was the winner, following the previous years scoring. I therefore believe that if the system was correct Lindsay Davenport would have won the group then she would have gone on to play Mauresmo, which I am in no doubt she would have won considering that last year they played 3 times last year Lindsay winning 6-7, 7-6, 6-4 at Wimbledon, 6-4, 6-4 in New Haven and 6-2, 6-4 in Filderstadt. Even if Maria had then beat Pierce the other semi finalist or Pierce beat Maria I am sure Lindsay could have raised her game and then maybe beaten them too in order to take the title. Does anyone have input on the matter and as to why the draw was laid out in that way. Thanks
usher3103 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2006, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
 
tennisIlove09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 44,073
                     
coulda, woulda, shoulda, DIDNT
tennisIlove09 is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2006, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: PimPim's Place
Posts: 4,866
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by tennisIlove09
coulda, woulda, shoulda, DIDNT
CliffNotes presents: The Career of Lindsay Davenport.
Andrew.. is offline  
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2006, 08:35 PM
Senior Member
 
-jenks-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 7,889
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by usher3103
As I am eager for this years End of Season Championship I was looking back at the draws for the years 2004 and 2005. I noticed that in 2004 in the Red Group was Myskina and Serena Williams both with 2 wins and 1 loss. However in the round robin stage when the two played Serena beat Myskina, but Myskina won 5 sets and only lost 2 whereas Serena won 5 and lost 3. Therefore Myskina was the winner of that group making Serena the runner up. Therefore the system of deciding on who wins a group is based on the most wins and least loses and then if thats a tie, the most set wins and least set losses.

But in the 2005 draw I noticed in the green group Maria Sharapova finished ahead of Lindsay Davenport even though they both had 2 wins 1 loss and sharapova played 8 sets winning four and losing 4 whereas lindsay davenport played 7 sets winning 5 and losing 2. Therefore even if sharapova beat davenport in the round robin I still believed that the winner of a group was determined on how many wins they had and if it was a tie then the player who had played the least sets and won more sets than they lost was the winner, following the previous years scoring. I therefore believe that if the system was correct Lindsay Davenport would have won the group then she would have gone on to play Mauresmo, which I am in no doubt she would have won considering that last year they played 3 times last year Lindsay winning 6-7, 7-6, 6-4 at Wimbledon, 6-4, 6-4 in New Haven and 6-2, 6-4 in Filderstadt. Even if Maria had then beat Pierce the other semi finalist or Pierce beat Maria I am sure Lindsay could have raised her game and then maybe beaten them too in order to take the title. Does anyone have input on the matter and as to why the draw was laid out in that way. Thanks
If there is a two way tie, it is determined by who won the match.

If there is a 3 way tie, it is determined by sets won/lost
-jenks- is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2006, 08:35 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 139
 
whats all that about
usher3103 is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2006, 08:36 PM
Senior Member
 
tennisIlove09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 44,073
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew..
CliffNotes presents: The Career of Lindsay Davenport.
Aint that the truth.
tennisIlove09 is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2006, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 139
 
as i said in 04 myskina and williams both won 2 lost 1 and serena beat myskina but still finished runner up in group
usher3103 is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2006, 08:36 PM
Senior Member
 
terjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,420
                     
I thought the system for deciding what to do if 2 players were tied was the result of the match they played against each other.

If there is a 3 way tie - you can get into the situation where A beat B, B beat C, C beat A and you get into least sets lost and then least games lost.
terjw is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2006, 08:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Matt01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 16,085
                     


Lindsay was robbed
Matt01 is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2006, 08:38 PM
Senior Member
 
MH0861's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 14,349
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by usher3103
as i said in 04 myskina and williams both won 2 lost 1 and serena beat myskina but still finished runner up in group
Lindsay also finished 2-1 in that group.
MH0861 is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2006, 08:41 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 139
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MH0861
Lindsay also finished 2-1 in that group.
Lindsay only had a set record of 4-3 which meant that she hadnt done as good as myskina or williams in matches thats why she never qualified, but last year she beat sharapova in terms of perfromance in matches but still finished runner up
usher3103 is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2006, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
 
johnoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,553
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by terjw
I thought the system for deciding what to do if 2 players were tied was the result of the match they played against each other.
yes thats how they do it.
johnoo is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2006, 08:45 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 139
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnoo
yes thats how they do it.
So the reason that lindsay didint qualify in 04 was because there was three people all the same and they do the how many sets won and games etc, but in 2005 she finished second because when 2 people are equal they take thre result of the match they played and the winner finishes top.

Cheers for sorting that out I was losing me mind over that
usher3103 is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2006, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
MH0861's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 14,349
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by usher3103
Lindsay only had a set record of 4-3 which meant that she hadnt done as good as myskina or williams in matches thats why she never qualified, but last year she beat sharapova in terms of perfromance in matches but still finished runner up
Yeah, but since all 3 were 2-1, they went to sets won/lost, right? That's how Myskina ended up ahead of Serena in the group, despite losing to her.

When 3 people have the same record (ie, 2004 and Williams, Myskina, Davenport), it's sets won/lost.. when 2 people have the same record (ie, 2005, Sharapova and Davenport), it's whoever won the match between the two.
MH0861 is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2006, 09:17 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 139
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MH0861
Yeah, but since all 3 were 2-1, they went to sets won/lost, right? That's how Myskina ended up ahead of Serena in the group, despite losing to her.

When 3 people have the same record (ie, 2004 and Williams, Myskina, Davenport), it's sets won/lost.. when 2 people have the same record (ie, 2005, Sharapova and Davenport), it's whoever won the match between the two.
I bet people are getting bored of this now but I looked on the official match notes for last year and on page 23 of this web link:

http://www.sonyericssonwtatour.com/3...les2_notes.pdf

It says that if Sharapova beats Petrova in round Robin stage she will finish first and if not davenport will finish first. Sharapova lost to Petrova 6-1, 6-2 so Davenport should have finished first according to the WTA.
usher3103 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Registration Image

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome