Stupid Rule - TennisForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old May 12th, 2006, 04:40 PM Thread Starter
country flag xan
Senior Member
 
xan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 5,810
                     
Stupid Rule

Is this one of the worst rules in tennis?

In the Safina - Petrova match

Dinara was ahead at 6-3, 3-2 Advantage Safina on Nadia's serve.

Nadia was given a double fault to give Dinara the break for 4-2. Then the umpire overruled the call on Nadia's second serve and gave Nadia TWO serves again. Nadia went for a big first serve, served an Ace and then held for 3-3.

That made a huge difference to the match.

Why give someone TWO more serves when they clearly faulted their first serve, and were only (perhaps) miscalled on the 2nd. It is very unfair to the receiving player.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Official Hitman of the Maria Mafia
xan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old May 12th, 2006, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
GrandSlam05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,496
                     
Did that really happen? It's terrible!

Lindsay Davenport: Always my #1 Girl
GrandSlam05 is offline  
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old May 12th, 2006, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7,425
                     
I'm more than sure that if this had happened on Maria's serve in whatever match, you would not be here bitching about it. Get over it and accept the fact that Nadia might just pass Maria in the rankings. That's the only reason you decided to create this thread.

"Child,you really think you're gonna win Roland Garros
with Vera in the draw?"
Ferosh is offline  
post #4 of 30 (permalink) Old May 12th, 2006, 04:46 PM Thread Starter
country flag xan
Senior Member
 
xan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 5,810
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dementrova
I'm more than sure that if this had happened on Maria's serve in whatever match, you would not be here bitching about it. Get over it and accept the fact that Nadia might just pass Maria in the rankings. That's the only reason you decided to create this thread.
You're the obsessive one making this about Maria.

My popint is quite simple. the rule is illogical and unfair - whoever it happens to.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Official Hitman of the Maria Mafia
xan is offline  
post #5 of 30 (permalink) Old May 12th, 2006, 04:59 PM
The long and winding road.
 
SloKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 50,743
                     
This rule actually doesn't make sense at all, but it's not Nadia's fault.

No.
SloKid is offline  
post #6 of 30 (permalink) Old May 12th, 2006, 04:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Dave B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,541
                     
bad call = replay the point, regardless of where that call is. Makes sense to me.

Tennis Tipping Doubles with FaceyFacem
Champion: Cincinnati (2011), Luxembourg (2010), Bayamon (2010), Pozoblanco (2010), Strasbourg (2009)
Finals: Edgbaston (2013), Stanford (2011), Roland Garros (2011), Budapest (2011), Kuala Lumpur (2011), Rome Tiro A Volo (2010), Khanty-Mansiysk (2010), Dothan (2009), Boston (2009), Komoro (2009
Dave B is offline  
post #7 of 30 (permalink) Old May 12th, 2006, 05:04 PM
Worshipping the bangs
 
miffedmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Larsson's Player Forum
Posts: 51,998
                     
Well, it may be the correct call, but it doesn't entirely make sense.

Max
Pass the duct tape and super glue. Lena's done broke my heart one last time.
Onward my LOB! Lena (ret.) Vika Vee TOB Caro Alexa Sabs Wicky Lesia Vania BMS Ekat Andi H. Jo-La Lena V KP2 Lil Bit Kiki Mini Mak Baby Veronika
"I read on the internet that there is something chipmunky about me :-)"--Andrea H.[/SIZE]
Jo-La Queen of Norrland and Bastad
Elena Viatcheslavovna Dementieva--Eternal Goddess of the Divine Bangs
miffedmax is offline  
post #8 of 30 (permalink) Old May 12th, 2006, 05:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Martian KC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Upside down
Posts: 21,061
                     
Duh. You always replay the point on bad calls.:retard: Not like this is the first time it's ever happened.

Good Luck In 2005:
[Martina Hingis] [Justine Henin-Hardenne]
[Cara Black] [Nadia Petrova] [Eugenia Linetskaya] [Patty Schnyder]
[Svetlana Kuznetsova] [Ai Sugiyama] [Su-Wei Hsieh] [Gisela Dulko]

[Maja Matezvic] [Karolina Sprem] [Eleni Daniilidou] [Maria Kirilenko] [Jelena Jankovic]
[Tathiana Garbin] [Timea Bacsinszky] [Kaia Kanepi] [Na Li] [Vera Douchevina]

The Pompous Member Of The Justine Philistines' Society™
Martian 4 Life
Martian KC is offline  
post #9 of 30 (permalink) Old May 12th, 2006, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
AsGoodAsNew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 745
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by miffedmax
Well, it may be the correct call, but it doesn't entirely make sense.
i'm with you on that! Wasn't it Charles Dickens who said that the law could be an ass?
AsGoodAsNew is offline  
post #10 of 30 (permalink) Old May 12th, 2006, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
AsGoodAsNew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 745
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martian KC
Duh. You always replay the point on bad calls.:retard: Not like this is the first time it's ever happened.
I think that there is a difference here. Just because it is a rule doesn't mean it is just. and just because it has happened before doesn't make it fair.
AsGoodAsNew is offline  
post #11 of 30 (permalink) Old May 12th, 2006, 05:14 PM
Captain of the SS Dementieva
 
Dementinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bridge SS Dementieva
Posts: 15,125
                     
seems a tad strange to me ,plankova was very lucky there indeed ,but its all part of the game I guess....

Captain of the all new SS Dementieva


Once a Lena fan always a Lena fan
Dementinator is offline  
post #12 of 30 (permalink) Old May 12th, 2006, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Dave B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,541
                     
Well think about it this way. Say Dinara was on the run and hit a high defensive lob. Nadia hit an overhead that was called out but was then overuled, but Dinara guessed correcty and only did not hit the ball because of the call. Ruling = replay the point.

Saying that Nadia should only get a second serve is like saying that in the example above the point should not start over, but rather Dinara should lob the ball in a similar spot to Petrova and Petrova should hit an overhead in the direction of Dinara. Hmmmm, that would be very silly indeed.

Tennis Tipping Doubles with FaceyFacem
Champion: Cincinnati (2011), Luxembourg (2010), Bayamon (2010), Pozoblanco (2010), Strasbourg (2009)
Finals: Edgbaston (2013), Stanford (2011), Roland Garros (2011), Budapest (2011), Kuala Lumpur (2011), Rome Tiro A Volo (2010), Khanty-Mansiysk (2010), Dothan (2009), Boston (2009), Komoro (2009
Dave B is offline  
post #13 of 30 (permalink) Old May 12th, 2006, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
bellascarlett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 9,129
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dementrova
I'm more than sure that if this had happened on Maria's serve in whatever match, you would not be here bitching about it. Get over it and accept the fact that Nadia might just pass Maria in the rankings. That's the only reason you decided to create this thread.
okaaaaaaayyyyyy....

Maria Sharapova
bellascarlett is offline  
post #14 of 30 (permalink) Old May 12th, 2006, 05:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 96
                     
I second this. There's no problem with the rule.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dab2035
Well think about it this way. Say Dinara was on the run and hit a high defensive lob. Nadia hit an overhead that was called out but was then overuled, but Dinara guessed correcty and only did not hit the ball because of the call. Ruling = replay the point.

Saying that Nadia should only get a second serve is like saying that in the example above the point should not start over, but rather Dinara should lob the ball in a similar spot to Petrova and Petrova should hit an overhead in the direction of Dinara. Hmmmm, that would be very silly indeed.
excitement1995 is offline  
post #15 of 30 (permalink) Old May 12th, 2006, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Knizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21,737
                     
Why should Nadia be penalized because of a bad call, what if she had served another second serve THEN really DF then she would have gotten broken although she had served a really good second serve then had it called out and overruled.
Knizzle is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Registration Image

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome