Lucky Loser Question - TennisForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Feb 14th, 2006, 01:44 AM Thread Starter
Momomental
 
Sonja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Momosapia
Posts: 8,579
                     
Lucky Loser Question

When is a lucky loser allowed to play and when is it a walk over?

Amélie Mauresmo, 2009 GDF Suez, 2007 Proximus Diamond Games, 2006 World No. 1 ,Wimbledon Champion, Proximus Diamond Games, Gaz, Australian Open, 2005 YEC, Advanta Chamionships, Italian Open, Proximus Diamond Games, 2004 World No. 1, Advanta Championships, Generali Linz, Rogers Cup, Italian Open, German Open, 2003 J&S Cup, Advanta Championships, 2002 Rogers AT&T Cup, Dubai Open, 2001 Gaz, Nice, Amelia Island, and Eurocard Ladies German Open, 2000 Adidas International, and 1999 Bratislava Champion

There's a fine line between love and hate; that line is called family!

No one does things exactly the way I want them to. No one ever has. It’s a problem they have!

AZARENKA!
Sonja is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Feb 14th, 2006, 01:46 AM
Kart & I against the WtaWorld!
 
Rocketta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 35,921
                     
if a player pulls out and they have not played yet then a Lucky Loser may take their spot. So if the player has a bye in round one but then pulls out...the LL goes straight to Rnd. 2........... I think.
Rocketta is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Feb 14th, 2006, 01:47 AM
Kart & I against the WtaWorld!
 
Rocketta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 35,921
                     
but if the player has played a match and needs to default in their 2nd match it's a walk-over .......... I think.
Rocketta is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old Feb 14th, 2006, 02:21 AM
Senior Member
 
DutchieGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: my own Dutchie world
Posts: 152,959
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocketta
if a player pulls out and they have not played yet then a Lucky Loser may take their spot. So if the player has a bye in round one but then pulls out...the LL goes straight to Rnd. 2........... I think.
usually they will rework the draw... depends on when the seeded player pulls out. If it's after the other players have started to play, then yeah, the LL should go straight to r2, but if it's after the draws made, but matches haven't been played, then the next higest ranked player will take the seed who pulled out's place in the draw: ie like with Daniela taking Venus' place in the Antwerp draw.

http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/i...10/sheadam.jpg

She & Him @ Melkweg "The Max", Amsterdam 6th May 2010
DutchieGirl is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old Feb 14th, 2006, 03:12 AM
Senior Member
 
alwayshingis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 13,035
                     
Yeah, they've pretty much covered it. On occasion in Qualifying draws if there is no alternate present to fill the spot, or it is too close to the start of Q play, they will just receive a w/o.
alwayshingis is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old Feb 14th, 2006, 03:14 AM
Senior Member
 
CrossCourt~Rally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: '*Happy~Holidays*'
Posts: 129,335
                     
Lightbulb

And here i thought this was going to be a spin off show from the Biggest Loser show here in the states
CrossCourt~Rally is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome