To make you even madder: the umpire never overruled the point
Okay, I listend to the play-by-play on Radio USOpen. The two commentators said the point was not even a "borderline case" it was clearly in, called in by the linesman, and an error was made on the scoreboard as Ad-Jennifer. The umpire never overruled the linesman (as some posters have stated). She instead repeated what was put on the scoreboard, and never consulted with the linesman (the point was on the far side, so she couldn't see from her chair).
That's what makes it so controversial. The commentators both said this will be the talking point if Serena loses concentration and the match.
Richard and her box, however, told her to forget the point and to concentrate on the next game. She did break Jennifer immediately.
Well, I'm not really mad. I like both, and Serena hasn't been playing like a champion this year. Plus, in this match she was huffing-and-puffing and had no answers to Jennifer's sliced groundstrokes.
BARBIEis coming for your towel, too.