To make you even madder: the umpire never overruled the point - TennisForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Sep 8th, 2004, 03:04 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 21,426
                     
To make you even madder: the umpire never overruled the point

Okay, I listend to the play-by-play on Radio USOpen. The two commentators said the point was not even a "borderline case" it was clearly in, called in by the linesman, and an error was made on the scoreboard as Ad-Jennifer. The umpire never overruled the linesman (as some posters have stated). She instead repeated what was put on the scoreboard, and never consulted with the linesman (the point was on the far side, so she couldn't see from her chair).

That's what makes it so controversial. The commentators both said this will be the talking point if Serena loses concentration and the match.

Richard and her box, however, told her to forget the point and to concentrate on the next game. She did break Jennifer immediately.

Well, I'm not really mad. I like both, and Serena hasn't been playing like a champion this year. Plus, in this match she was huffing-and-puffing and had no answers to Jennifer's sliced groundstrokes.

BARBIE
is coming for your towel, too.


MakarovaKeysTwinPliskovasBarthelBeguSmitkovaAllertovaPutintsevaGavrilovaTownsendAbandaPuchkova
Tennis Fool is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old Sep 8th, 2004, 03:05 AM
Team WTAworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,950
                     
No overrule, no call from the linesmen....

Simply "Advantage Capriati"

Official Therapist of Don't Knock the Dok
bmxbandit is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old Sep 8th, 2004, 03:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Dava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Pau-Pau-Pau-Pau-La-La-La!
Posts: 17,733
                     
Why didnt Alveres ask the linesperson...simple as... Im shocked..this is worse thenthe wimbledon ting, cos everyone was confused..here THAT BALL WAS IN...

WTA TOUR
ELENA DEMENTIEVA
KIM CLIJSTERS
ALSO STARRING
THE GIRLS ON TOUR!

ASAGOE~BOVINA~JANKOVIC~MOLIK
MYSKINA~SCHNYDER~ZVONAREVA

THE YOUNG GUNS

BACSINSZKY~CHAKVATADZE~IVANOVIC
JACKSON~KIRILENKO~LINETSKAYA
MAKAROVA~MIRZA


THE COMEBACK KIDS

BEYGELZIMER~DOKIC~HARKLEROAD
SPREM~VAKULENKO

Dava is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old Sep 8th, 2004, 03:06 AM
Don't mess with Texas!
 
Jarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 5,716
                     
UH, she controls the scoreboard on her PDA.

"Gee, Quinn... I hope that little foray of yours into Geekland just now is the result of heat exhaustion, and not an unpleasant side effect of all that tutoring. I mean, you're not turning into a brain, are you?" -- Sandi

Jarrett is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old Sep 8th, 2004, 03:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Knizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21,737
                     
Yep the ump said nothing, just GAVE the point to Jen. Off straight up GP
Knizzle is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old Sep 8th, 2004, 03:07 AM
Guest
 
*JR*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the Peace Train
Posts: 34,249
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dava
Why didnt Alveres ask the linesperson...simple as... Im shocked..this is worse thenthe wimbledon ting, cos everyone was confused..here THAT BALL WAS IN...
Write TD Jim Curley: curley@usta.com

*JR* is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old Sep 8th, 2004, 03:19 AM
Senior Member
 
raquel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Legendary!
Posts: 7,096
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmxbandit
No overrule, no call from the linesmen....

Simply "Advantage Capriati"
The umpire calls Advantage Capriati. What if Jennifer then did the right thing when she realised and said it was Serena's point? Can the umpire officially go back and change her announcement of the point or is the umpire's first decision final and it wouldn't have made a difference anyway? Does anyone know the rule on that?


raquel is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Image Verification
Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Registration Image

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome