I had to post this article because the title is so funny
Updated: 09:14 AM EDT
Tennis-Wimbledon-Venus umpire out of championships
By Ossian Shine, Reuters
LONDON, June 25 (Reuters) - The umpire who made a mistake in the decisive tiebreak that ended with Venus Williams's shock exit from Wimbledon on Thursday will officiate no further at this year's tournament.
"I have now discussed the incident with the chair umpire concerned and we have agreed it will be in the best interests of both parties if he takes no further part in the event," Wimbledon referee Alan Mills said on Friday.
British umpire Ted Watts made an error in the second set tiebreak when he awarded Karolina Sprem a point when she faulted on a first serve.
The Croatian went on to win 7-6 7-6 and inflict on Venus her earliest Wimbledon defeat in seven years.
Despite the furore surrounding the official's gaffe, twice Wimbledon champion Williams refused to blame the confusion for her second-round defeat.
"I'd like to think that one point doesn't make a difference," she said. "But obviously it was a wrong call, yes."
Sprem said: "I was confused .. I was like 100 per cent in the match."
Mills acknowledged the mistake soon after the end of the match.
"Regrettably the chair umpire made a mistake which ended up with the score being called wrongly," he said.
"Although both players seemed perplexed, neither queried the decision and play continued, resulting in Miss Sprem winning the tiebreak and the match.
"As neither player queried the score with the chair umpire at the time, the result stands as the mistake should have been rectified immediately."
The problem arose when Sprem faulted on her first serve at 2-1 down in the second set tiebreak. Rather than announce a second serve, Watts mistakenly gave the Croatian a point and called the score at 2-2, leaving both players looking perplexed.
After that Williams moved to a 6-3 lead and had three set points to get back into the match. Sprem saved all three and converted her first match point.
Williams said she had not contested the point because she often lost track of the score during matches.
Watts, an experienced umpire, had not been scheduled to officiate on Friday.
06/25/04 09:12 ET
Copyright 2004 Reuters Limited.